Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (177)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing.
Obviously with the hype of the movies slowing, it's time to really appreciate these books again. I was given the whole trilogy of books a couple of months before the first movie came out, but I didn't start reading them until after the second movie was out on DVD. I now realise what a fool I was.
The books are simply brilliant. I don't think anyone with a slight hint...
Published on 26 Oct 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A WIP....?
Cited elsewhere as the book of the century, and it is a bloody marvellous thing. But Tolkien himself described it as book that grew in the telling, as did it seems all of his major works. But its lumpy. It begins as a kids story and ends up as a truly epic tale. Unfortunately once he had discovered what he'd made he had no time (or interest) to make-over the beginning of...
Published 23 days ago by tenpasteight


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The absolute best book(s) ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 10 Sep 1999
By A Customer
The world created is unlike any other I have read or could hope to read. You feel the suspense as you read along and become part of the secret of the Ring of Power. The characters are wonderful and all have faults that make them seem more real (even Gandalf!). You can feel the terrior of the Barrow Downs and hear the hoof beats of the Black Riders. The book may seem long when you first look at it, but you fly through it as if it were a barely a chapter long. The words paint pictures and they let you be with the characters as they head towards Rivendell. The poem at the beginning of the book has a special meaning to those who have read the book. The poem and book are nonsense if you think about it, but somehow they make sense as you read and nothing will stop you from believing in Middle Earth and Middle Age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic story, expertly illustrated by Alan Lee, 1 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Not only does this book contain the fantastic beginning of the Lord of the Rings, it also contains fantastic illustrations by one of my favourite Tolkien artists. The one thing I like about the Fellowship of the Ring is seeing the transition from life in Hobbiton to life on the dangerous open road. A great book, a brilliant story...BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Books, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
See my comments on The Return of the King. I love this quality of this edition of Tolkein's iconic trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please buy it...then buy the other two!, 13 Aug 2002
Please buy this book! Yes, we all know that The Lord of the Rings is a long book to read or should I say six books in all, if you count them properly, although split in three books!
However, it is page turning, adventurous, funny, dangerous and scary! Bascially everything that is great in a fiction book! Then I say a fiction book, it feels real, in fact you feel like you are with Frodo going off on an adventure, to Rivendell and off to Mordor to destroy the Ring.
After this book "The Fellowship of Ring", read "The Two Towers" and then the last and final book "The Return of the King"
What else can I say? If you do not read Lord of the Rings now, then you will miss out on a fantastic story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic adventure brought back to life., 18 Feb 2002
By A Customer
After seeing the film, i felt obliged to read the book to see how they compared. I re-read 'The Hobbit' and i have just finished 'The Fellowship Of The Ring'.
Wow, it was amazing how the book brought out so many emotions in me, one minute i was laughing at Pippins antics and the next i was on the edge of my seat, heart pouning in the depths of Moria.
A book that is really gripping and gets you addicted. Not, however, for those with a low Concentration level as there is a lot of continuous speech that is quite easy to get lost in.
A classic, simply amazing. Everybody is either reading the books or intends to. A wonderful book that, thanks to the film, has been reborn...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpieice, best fantasy ever, 6 Mar 2002
By A Customer
When hearing about LOTR I wanted to know what all the fuss was about. I now know, this is the best book i have ever read. Once you pick it up you can't put it down, it soon becomes addictive. Don't worry if you have never read any of Tolkiens work before because there is a prologue at the begining of the book which gives a good insight of the finding of the ring. i enjoyed the book so much because it keeps you in suspense and you don't become board of reading it.
This is the best fantasy book ever written. I beg everyone of all ages to read this book. Once you read it you won't be able to get enough of Tolkien and his Middle Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master storytelling!, 11 Aug 2014
By 
S. Shamma "Suad" (Abu Dhabi, UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a wonderfully woven story by J.R.R. Tolkein. The world he created, the characters, the life he breathed into this story is enough to make me speechless to tell you the truth. What kind of imagination must he have had to sit and create this whole fictional world, but better yet, make it sound so real that you'd expect to be able to book the next ticket to the Shire or Rivendell!

I admit I have read the books after having watched the films countless times. Films that I also love and am a huge fan of, by the way. In a sense, though, I truly believe that having watched the films aided me in understanding and imagining that world much better than I would have had I been left to my own "imagination-al" (not a word, I know) resources. Does that mean my imagination is limited? Perhaps. Or maybe it means I just don't think my imagination is good enough to compete with Tolkein or Peter Jackson for that matter. It could also mean that since I've watched the films already, I'm just biased, for I can never imagine another Frodo than that of Elijah Wood's face!

That being said, the story-telling is absolutely brilliant. You can't help but feel yourself slowly get immersed into the events taking place, almost embarking on this - quite dreadful, to be honest - journey with Frodo and Sam et al. Feeling this responsibility right alongside Frodo, heaving with the weight of the ring, having your stomach clench with hunger, and stretching your legs and feet out as you feel every gnawing emotion that they feel.

The Fellowship of the Ring starts off a bit slow, but that's to be expected if you're going to be able to really assemble together a complete picture of each and every character that this book introduces. This part of the famous trilogy begins with Bilbo Baggins retiring from the Shire and as such giving his most prized possession, the ring, to Frodo Baggins. Sooner than you think, you have Gandalf the Grey explaining in detail the history of the ring and why it needs to be destroyed now that it's in his possession. Again, he goes into very minute detail, answering every question that you may have such as why couldn't he just take it from Frodo and do it himself, and why Frodo needs to be the one to do it, and why he didn't know about this earlier when it was still in Bilbo's possession - just to name a few that I know I had thought of before Gandalf readily and conveniently answered them.

As Frodo prepares for his journey, he finds himself accompanied by Sam Gamgee, Merry Brandybuck and Pippin Took. Throughout the journey he picks up more companions that all aid him in different ways. As they begin their journey, they quickly realize the danger they're in, as they are pursued by Nazgul guards who are trying to retrieve that ring and give it back to the Dark Lord, Sauron.

The first book ends with the fellowship broken and separated, and the sad demise of Gandalf the Grey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of the Romance, 26 May 2001
By A Customer
As LOTR regularly wins polls as the twentieth century's favorite work of fiction, it is now rather difficult to say anything new about it, except that professors of English who appear on highbrow chat shows to review literature rather reprehensibly still prefer 'realists' of the Thomas Hardy and George Eliot ilk. Chronologically (in Middlearth time and in order of publishing), 'The Fellowship of the Ring' is the first book of the great Lord of the Rings trilogy and follows 'The Hobbit'. Of course The Hobbit itself is largely aimed at children, although the themes mature as the story matures, whereas LOTR is four-squarely adult. However, it should be realised that Hobbit is essentially, as Tolkien's friend C.S. Lewis put it, 'merely a fragment torn from the author's huge myth'. The inchoate romance of the whole of Middlearth and its inhabitants came into being over a very long period, and formed a superlatively coherent whole well before he thought of publishing.
As an heroic romance, the book was launched into a post-war Britain that largely expected fiction to be a 'slice of reality', as in the Hardy/Eliot tradition. We had turned our back on books of this type. So far as romances of imagined worlds, real heroes, real villains, and epic themes went the science fiction sub-culture of dime novels and cheap comics was the brightest spot on the literary horizon! All the greater the shock then, when this luxuriously and profligately original masterwork, a veritable new Odyssey, re-established the genre at a stroke.
The story starts quietly, and even a little childishly, in the Shire of the hobbits, who are quite English and very much the sort of creation that an Englishman of the Midlands would create, although they are not an allegory of the English (I speak as a Midlander). Events rapidly gather pace and the serious and high nature of the quest becomes apparent, the great master-ring created by Sauron being in the seemingly accidental possession of one Frodo Baggins, hobbit-at-large. The Ring is too terrible a weapon to be mastered for good and used against Sauron, yet the Lord of the Rings is utterly set on claiming it back. Therefore, hard though the thought is, the weapon that is the Ring must be destroyed. A trusty band, a fellowship, of adventurers must be assembled to carry out the quest. There are many subtleties in this book, and the characters are not all they seem. The heroes of the fellowship have mixed motives, Boromir especially. The climax of the Fellowship of the Ring largely revolves around the chaos caused by the Boromir's inner dilemma and his unwise actions. Even Gollum the sneak is not yet entirely bad and has the occasional good impulse. As if the Black Riders and hordes of orcs were not bad enough the story breaks off with a classical cliff-hanger, as the quest must go on even though the fellowship be riven by argument and conflict. As the plots and sub-plots multiply so does the tension. A must read?, to be sure. More than once, certainly. But not before the next two installments...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Years, 11 Aug 2002
By A Customer
I thought the entire range of books was fantastic. I especially urge fans of Lord Of The Rings to read The Hobbit, and The Silmarillion.
The first book The Silmarillion tells of the early years and explains who everyone is and their origins, including the Dark Lord Sauron, Galadriel and Elrond. I would recommend an older reader start with this as younger ones will find it hard going. This is because there is a lot of referencing and explanation which draws away from the main text. It is very interesting to learn about all the characters and the book tells of many exciting tales in the history of Elves, Men and Gods. It is well worth the hard work.
The Hobbit will appeal to all Tolkien fans as it is light reading, and tells of the story of the first group of travellers lead by Gandalf and Bilbo Baggins. On the quest to find the treasure of the dragon Smaug they come across trolls, goblins and of course Gollum. A good start to the Lord Of The Rings trilogy.
The Fellowship Of The Ring is a large chunk of the whole Trilogy and it is a great deal more detailed than The Hobbit. Overall, I recommend reading all of these books in sequence as they make more sense.
1. The Silmarillion
2. The Hobbit.
3. The Fellowship of the Ring
4. The Two Towers
5. Return of the King
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful productive begining, 2 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Collins Modern Classics - The Fellowship of the Ring: Fellowship of the Ring Vol 1 (Paperback)
This book is excellent! It is about a Hobbit called Frodo Baggins who is related to the Hobbit Bilbo Bagins from the Hobbit. He is wisked off by Gandalf the wizard to go and destroy the magical ring that Bilbo once owned. Though the language is hard to understand, and it will take a while to get through, I believe that it is suitable for people above the age of eleven. I am thirteen and am enjoying the booke emensly. Five Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Modern Classics - The Fellowship of the Ring: Fellowship of the Ring Vol 1
6.99
Usually dispatched within 11 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews