Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hore than a collection of stories
Here is the Voice in the Shadow, as Alan Garner calls it, in all its glory. Most cultures in the Western world have lost the oral process whereby wisdom and teachings are handed down from teacher to pupil through the use of seemingly obtuse and nonsensical tales, which would have to be understood at all levels before the student could be taken to the next stage of...
Published on 13 Aug 2000 by Matt White

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss Collection of Short Stories
This book contains a bunch of short stories. Some of the stories I enjoyed - many I did not. However that criticism should be tempered by noting I am not a huge fan of the short story form - I find them very hit and miss, and for me that summed this book up too.

On the plus side though, and the reason why you might buy this book despite any criticism - Garner...
Published on 21 Sep 2009 by Sir Furboy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hore than a collection of stories, 13 Aug 2000
This review is from: A Bag Of Moonshine (Paperback)
Here is the Voice in the Shadow, as Alan Garner calls it, in all its glory. Most cultures in the Western world have lost the oral process whereby wisdom and teachings are handed down from teacher to pupil through the use of seemingly obtuse and nonsensical tales, which would have to be understood at all levels before the student could be taken to the next stage of teaching. As a method of education it was intensive, sly and invaluable. Being a teacher was, obviously, a great responsibility, and Alan Garner was lucky enough to grow at the knees of a number of people who fulfilled this role within his own community. He was unlucky enough to be the first of the 1944 Education Act generation, whose scholarship took him away from this source. So his books have all, in their own way, attempted to keep these stories alive for the nation, and maybe kick off the process of learning for a new generation. This book is the baldest attempt at retelling the tales he himself learnt as a child. Every nuance, every pause, every exclamation could have been uttered by one of these bucolic figures sitting at the Garner table. It's like stepping into another world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining., 13 Dec 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a gem of a book. All 22 tales are from within the British Isles which is commendable.

This little book would make a great stocking filler for a child or even an adult who likes to read of our myths and legends. From Boggarts to Gowks, Fools and Hobgoblins this book couldn't get any better and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

It's a smashing little read and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 July 2010
This review is from: A Bag Of Moonshine (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my 9yr old daughter she loves it and read it from cover to cover in one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Moonshine indeed, 20 Aug 2011
By 
M. Busby (Cambs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bag Of Moonshine (Hardcover)
The title describes the contents exactly, great stories collected and retold.

Some really good material for parents to get their children into understanding the true storytelling culture of these shores, but not just for children good stories for adults too as it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss Collection of Short Stories, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Bag Of Moonshine (Paperback)
This book contains a bunch of short stories. Some of the stories I enjoyed - many I did not. However that criticism should be tempered by noting I am not a huge fan of the short story form - I find them very hit and miss, and for me that summed this book up too.

On the plus side though, and the reason why you might buy this book despite any criticism - Garner writes very well, and he has a big imagination. What is more, by their nature, short stories can be dipped into and read quickly, which could make this an excellent book for stretching and engaging less confident readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bag Of Moonshine
A Bag Of Moonshine by Alan Garner (Paperback - 4 Feb 2002)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews