Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great work from a neglected but wonderful novelist
Focusing on a few days during WWII, this is the tale of the last days in the life of the exiled Kaiser as his Dutch home is taken over by a group of invading Nazis who haven't yet decided if he's more valuable to them dead or alive. It makes use of some familiar WWII elements, but in unusual and unexpected ways, and is yet more evidence that the often ignored Alan Judd...
Published on 1 July 2003 by J. R. S. Morrison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a novella
a slight story, but not lacking emotional weight. Its odd choice of POV (an SS officer) is unusual and I'm not sure if it works, but it at least does no harm.
Published 18 months ago by alan hadley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great work from a neglected but wonderful novelist, 1 July 2003
By 
J. R. S. Morrison "Bibliomane" (Adelaide, SA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Hardcover)
Focusing on a few days during WWII, this is the tale of the last days in the life of the exiled Kaiser as his Dutch home is taken over by a group of invading Nazis who haven't yet decided if he's more valuable to them dead or alive. It makes use of some familiar WWII elements, but in unusual and unexpected ways, and is yet more evidence that the often ignored Alan Judd deserves much more praise and notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars small masterpiece, 29 Jan 2010
By 
Jane Thynne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Paperback)
A story that lingers long after you have finished the book, this is a small masterpiece which deserves to be better known. Judd's portrayal of a young Nazi officer is tender and utterly believable. It would, in fact, make a lovely film. Hollywood take note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compellingly well written ....but perhaps disappointing?, 27 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Hardcover)
This book can be devoured in a couple of hours -- and once you start it you will probably want to do that, the writing is so fluent and the characters so well drawn. But, depending on your mood, and the time of day or night you finish it, the ending will either seem just right or insufferably pat. But what a ride along the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful but painful read, 22 May 2011
By 
Martin A. Chambers (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Paperback)
I received this book as a gift and after reading the blurb decided that it was not the sort of novel I would enjoy. The reviews on the cover made it sound wonderful and I always distrust such praise. Nevertheless read it I did and can honestly say that this is a most exceptional book and should be made required reading. I thought I knew the horrors of the Nazi regime, however reading this fictional account about their casual disregard of human life made it almost too vivid. Where I could I checked the facts and found them to be by and large correct. It is a beautifully written novel and I'd say it was life changing. You will end up liking most of the characters. Buy this book and enjoy the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kaiser stars in gripping WW2 novel, 21 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. James G. Thompson (London W12) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Paperback)
Alan Judd brings together fact and fiction in this gripping novel. The Kaiser is a brilliantly realised character, wise and ridiculous in turns, and the young SS officer Krebbs is sympathetically portrayed. Judd's literary (though effortless) prose style, excellent characterisation and cleverly unfolding plot make this a memorable and taut thriller, worthy of a wider readership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing read, 15 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Paperback)
A brilliant, well paced and clever novel. The fate of the young Nazi officer kept me enthralled right to the very last page. This is the first Alan Judd novel I have read, and I am surprised he is not more widely known. Highly recommended - I agree with other reviewers - this would make a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NICE IDEA, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Paperback)
This is a cracking idea for a book but I am not quite convinced this is the best book it could have been.

I rate Mr Judd highly as a writer, and I think I'd like to see him have another go at this one.

He captures brilliantly well the routine of military life (as seen also in his other works) but somehow for me he is a little sea with his plotting with this one.

As I say, this is a brilliant idea for a book but I finished it feeling slightly deflated, and I am sorry to have to say that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Kaiser's Last Kiss, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Malc (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Paperback)
A delightfully imaginative tale blending truth with fiction. Alan Judd has a unique talent for creating an intriguing, thought-provoking storyline and developing sympathetic characters from unlikeable people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A1ook, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Paperback)
I love the book and my wife is now reading it.
Not happy with these long reviews you insist upon!!!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some brilliant historical fiction, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kaiser's Last Kiss (Paperback)
This is a strong third person narrative driven plot about the Nazi occupation of Holland and treatment of the exiled Kaiser during the second world war, from the perspective of an SS officer who struggles with the challenge the Kaiser and a Jewish love interest presents to the certainty provided by service the Nazi party and ideology.

I liked this book because the characterisation of all those involved in the plot is simply brilliant, there are no one dimensional or cliched portrayals and while it is a short book it ranks, for me, along some greater works dealing with individuals living through or subject to circumstances and events governed by monsterous creeds, totalitarianism or oppression.

The edition which I have is one of the PS editions which provides additional information about the author (a former soldier and diplomat himself), a top ten recommended reads by the author, other cliff notes at the finish (including similar reads to the book itself) and I would recommend this edition in particular. A really engaging read, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kaiser's Last Kiss
The Kaiser's Last Kiss by Alan Judd (Paperback - 4 Oct 2010)
7.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews