Customer Reviews


1,321 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,090)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing piece of craftsmanship
I bought this book recently, and I won't be reviewing the story here, which everyone knows is great...

When you look for the 50th anniversary edition of this by harper collins(not houghton mifflin from the US edition) on the internet you'll only find information about the deluxe edition of this.
Don't expect this book to come bound in leather, and in the...
Published on 3 Nov. 2009 by Pol Haegeman

versus
219 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
We all know that the The Lord of the Rings is a work of genius, so this review covers this particular published version (The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). First off this book is expensive and in format it is only a little larger than the paperback version. Also apart from the three pages from the book of Mazurbul there are no illustrations. First...
Published on 23 April 2005 by J Meehan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

219 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition, 23 April 2005
By 
J Meehan (Bidford on Avon, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
We all know that the The Lord of the Rings is a work of genius, so this review covers this particular published version (The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). First off this book is expensive and in format it is only a little larger than the paperback version. Also apart from the three pages from the book of Mazurbul there are no illustrations. First impressions will probably leave most people wondering where their money went. So what do you get for the money?
Well, clearly the publishers have spent some time thinking about how to add both quality and usability. There are two fold out maps printed in black and red. Not spectacular and in size these cover no more space than if they were printed across two pages. However, because they are fold out they are easier to read and if left "folded out" can be referred to whilst reading text on other pages.
The slip cover works well and is has a sturdy feel. The paper has a quality (non glossy) feel and is much whiter than other versions (especially the paperback) I have seen. Combined with a very crisp font this makes the book easy to read, something I struggle with in some of the cheaper published versions. Somehow when the book is closed after use the pages easily compress back to their original size making the slip case easy to use without the case being oversized.
It would have been easy for the publishers to have fallen into the trap of printing this book in the larger format of some Lord of the Rings books. However, the Lord of the Rings is a long story and these larger formats are very difficult to read due to the weight of the books. This book can actually be used!
Overall the book has an understated feel of quality which will grow on you. However there is no getting away from the premium price. If you are looking for something to give a more immediate impression there are cheaper versions, printed on glossier paper, in larger format and with more illustrations.
This makes this a book for the dedicated Lord of the Rings collector, if you just want a book for everyday use or to read for the first time I would suggest one of the mid-price versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now and cherish it forever!, 4 Feb. 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Southampton, Engalnd) - See all my reviews
Right first off the film is based upon Lord of the Rings, it is not Lord of the Rings. The film was as good as it could be when you consider that any longer than 3hrs and alot of people would leave the cinema and a lot of the book would be dull and plodding on the screen. But that aside the book is great. The first time you read it you'll go slowly through the first book, quicker through the second and (as I'm doing right now for the 100th time) race through the third. You'll like the last book better than the first on your first trip throuhg middle earth because there's more going on and more epic battles but when you read it again and again you'll begin to enjoy the feeling of comfort in the shire and the thrill when that danger is shattered and miss it and long to return to your comfortable fire in your nice hobbit hole. And all the feasts and friendly homes you come across will only remind you. And one other thing remember when it was written, those were the days where gay meant happy and therefore Sam's tenderness towards Frodo comes from love and from a bond forged in danger not something sexual as one reviewer has interpreted it as. Listen to me go on, basicly buy 2 copies of this book you'll need a second when the first falls apart after you've read it a 100 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure brilliance, 4 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
when reading LOTR one enjoys the vastness of vocabulary of one of the worlds finest writers.
his use of description will outstound you and he has in great detail constructed a superb mythical world which should be studied by all.
In several reviews I have formally read they state how Tolkien did not explain the history of middle earth in great enough detail.
I would like to say that this is due to the publisher, they refused to publish LOTR in conjunction with the precursor "The simarillion"
This book contains explanations and the history of goings on in middle earth.
To conclude I extremely enjoyed this trilogy and it should be read by everyone at least once.
As the telegraph stated"The world is divided in to 2 kinds of people, those who have read LOTR and those who are going to"
Pure Brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book - worth the effort required to get into it, 5 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings [7 Book Box set] (Paperback)
It took me 25 years of my life to read Lord of the Rings for the first time. Since then I have read it at least once a year and now own a rather battered paperback single volume (and a much nicer 7 volume hardback set!)
I had owned the book for some years before I got past the first couple of chapters and required prodding by a friend before I made the effort to read the book. Therefore I can understand and sympathise with people who have a problem with this book. I too hated The Hobbit when I first read it and this caused me to dislike The Lord of the Rings. Once I got past this irrational dislike for hobbits (midway through book 1) I found myself unable to put the book down.
Yes - it starts slowly. Yes - it requires effort upon the part of the reader to get the most from the book. If you are prepared to make this effort then you will be drawn in to the best-realised fantasy world that has been committed to paper. This book features some of the most beautiful places ever described in fantasy fiction and some of the darkest. It also features characters you will care deeply about with realistic motivations for their actions. Whilst some may complain about the lack of female characters I have never found this to be a flaw. Consideration must be given to the era in which the books were written and for the time there are in fact strong female role models (Eowyn and Galadriel).
My only word of warning is that reading this book may set you upon the path to obsession - where you will find yourself reading more and more Tolkien, surfing fan sites and watching the film too many times (if that is possible...). If you're prepared to risk this then this book is definitely recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overcomes the expectations!, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Hardcover)
I own many Lord of the Rings editions, and this is definitely the most beautifully crafted. Good paper, comfortable to read, and wonderfully enriched by the images. I had previous Alan Lee versions, but the clearness of these images is astonishing! Another level of quality. Finally, the idea of putting the book in a transparent slipcase is not only elegant and original, but gives also the possibility to admire the illustrations on front and back cover without merging them with words and titles. But when you look through the transparent cover... You see a full front, with all its informations!
The only attention you must pay is on the weight of the book; somehow you've got the impression that, if handled badly, the front cover could be damaged and detached from the pages. But I don't think you'll read this edition on the beach, and when you look more carefully you see that the crafting is good, and nothing will fall out of place. So, buy it (especially at 39 pounds...) and enjoy it! My first thought when I've opened the book was: 'I wish I had read The Lord of the Rings for the first time in this edition!' Words (revised text!), images, maps, quality... Everything would have been just perfect to immerse in the story! And it still is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best edition, 7 July 2014
By 
Bob (Bremerton, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings (Hardcover)
I have read The Lord of the Rings every year since 1974 and have collected many editions. In my opinion this one is the best. The smoothest pages of any edition, (and not at fragile as the India paper editions), razor-sharp fonts, and the highest quality Alan Lee artwork set this edition apart from its predecessors. I would have liked to have seen the Ring inscription (in the chapter "The Shadow of the Past") in red, silver gilding (Tolkien was big on silver), and the transparent plastic slipcase is flimsy, but these are minor quibbles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best edition a fan could get, 11 Sept. 2002
By 
I. Ferretti "life-long book lover" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the unlikely occasion that you have never read the Lord of the Rings and are not too sure whether you would like it or not, get a cheaper paperback edition.
However if you have read it before and are looking for something to keep forever as a gem in your collection, this is it.
Not only have Alan Lee's paintings inspired Peter Jackson for the making of the films (the director himself stated in an interview that he tracked the artist down for it) but every picture reflects exactly the images of Middle- Earth as you imagine them in your head. As for the book, I have no doubt it is the most underrated example of classic British literature ever. How I wish you could study it at school. I have never come across anything more beautifully written and descriptive than this. A lot of people have said that the story will take you into different worlds, but for what concerns me, I never came back.
Once you start reading it PLEASE don't leave it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 16 Jan. 2002
By 
Nils Thomas Vars (Alta, Finnmark Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings [7 Book Box set] (Paperback)
I don't think i shall say too much about the contents of the book, except that you should definately read it if you are at all interested in fantasy.
This Seven book box is excellent, even though all the books are paperback. They seem to me fairly solid, and since each book is thinner, there is less chance of getting that typical "v-shaped" book.
Also, the letters are a bit larger than the other edition i've got. That makes it a bit easyer to read
Both the books and the box are finished in a nice black colour. The box have images of a hand that holds a ring, and the books each have a shoot from the movie on the back cover. Nice.
I would actually recommend reading these before you see any of the movies, at least once, then read them again afterwards. I am at my second reading now, and i notice a lot of nifty details and other things i overlooked in the first reading...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful edition of a timeless classic, 6 Jan. 2003
By 
Mr Gary E Whorwood (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I will not waste words here raving about the Lord of the Rings. Most people already know that it is one of the greatest stories ever told and has been reviewed more eloquently elsewhere.
If you are a fan of Tolkien then this box set is a wonderful collectors item. It is presented in sturdy hardback to survive multiple readings over the years. It also has some of Alan Lee's wonderful illustrations, which clearly demonstrate the influence they had over the visualisation of Peter Jackson's movies. Some of these pictures look like they might have been taken straight out of the movies.
All in all, as a fan whose previous paperback editions have fallen apart, look forward to enjoying these hardbacks for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Warning, 11 Dec. 2004
The vast majority of people who read Tolkien's 'The Lord of the Rings' have nothing but praise for it. But i am here to tell you that it does have one major fault.
Its language is so eloquent, and characters so captivating, that within a few chapters it has a hold on you. It makes you long for any opportunity to read a few more pages. Anywhere will do, at home, at work, at school, whilst waiting for a bus - even at a lecture. In the same way that The Ring has a hold on all its bearers, this book will get a hold on you.
I'm sure by now you must be aware of the plot. A young Hobbit ('what is a hobbit?...a little people, about half our height...There is little or no magic about them...They are inclined to be fat in the stomach; they dress in bright colours (chiefly green and yellow); wear no shoes, because their feet grow natural leathery soles and thick warm brown hair like the stuff on their heads (which is curly); have long clever brown fingers, good-natured faces, and laugh deep fruity laughs...') (Taken from 'The Hobbit'). Named Frodo Baggins, inherits a ring from his older cousin Bilbo. It is a very dangerous treasure and as a result it is decided that it must be destroyed. So Frodo, along with a company of eight other travellers, consisting of three other hobbits, two men, an elf, a dwarf and a wizard, sets out to eliminate the ring, by casting it into the fires of its making, at Mount Doom.
Now i shall tell you of this books greatest flaw; because the story is so captivating, the spirit of this book will not let you go. It's just like a person's first love. No matter how many other people you fall for, none will ever touch you so deeply as the first. It's the same with 'The Lord of the Rings', no other book can come close.
And that's the problem. This book is so good that it, not necessarily ruins, but certainly taints your appreciation of any other book, because you'll always find yourself comparing it to 'The Lord of the Rings'!
So my advice to you is this: Make sure you read as many books as possible before you tackle this one. That way, their contents will not be so jaded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings [7 Book Box set]
The Lord of the Rings [7 Book Box set] by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 3 Sept. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews