Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great work of literature - ignore that "genre" thing!
If you are one of the poor souls who have not read this mighty epic because you think all that talk of dwarves, elves and trolls is a bit sad, do yourself a favour - ignore the genre tag, ignore the thousands of third rate imitations that fill the bookshelves of the nation's book shops, and read this and be overwhelmed.
What does great literature need? A plot helps...
Published on 19 Jan 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Readable but terribly used condition
I knew the book was used but i didnt expect it to be so old and beaten, (mostly because the condition was said to be Very Good). I can imagine reading it the first time, but it feels like it may break apart the second or third. I recommend any person who wants to read LOTR many times to buy it new, even if it is for a higher price.
Published 10 months ago by khadeza


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 10 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
I bought this as I wanted to read the books but didn't want to buy them individually I can highly recommend. The copy I got was practically new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marmite, 12 Feb 2013
By 
D. Rice "Belstane" (Kirknewton, Midlothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
You either love it or hate it. I'm with the former bunch, I have to read it at least once a decade and truly wish I could read it for the first time again because I remember with affection how it took me a couple of chapters to get the hang of it but once the first black rider turned up I was hooked.
I have the big, hardcover, beautifully illustrated, two-hundredweight version; this is the portable compact, lightweight (in terms of ounces) version for those of us who read in bed without the aid of a lectern.

Forget every impression you might have had from the movie trilogy and read the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lord of the rings, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
I first read this book years ago, and initially found it hard to get into, in fact it took about three attempts. I have enjoyed reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you think you know the story because you've seen the film, think again..., 14 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
If you think that there is no point in reading the book because you have seen the film, think again. This is a very long story to read, but honestly, once you get started, you hope it will just keep on going. The plot unfolds in cinematic glory in your imagination and much that is not covered in the film is revealed in the text.

You will journey with the characters and feel the atmosphere of the epic scenery in far more depth than can possibly be experienced in the film. And if you found the film battles spectacular, the written accounts will not disappoint. Tension almost palpably mounts throughout the story until the inevitable conclusion.

One word of caution - read The Hobbit first, if you haven't already, as this fills in some back story and sets the scene nicely. This is also a great imaginative work in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars C. S. Lewis: Midwife to THE LORD OF THE RINGS, August 1, 2000, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
Dear Amazon.com Readers:

Due to the largely negative feedback on this review, I looked over the text, and while I still agree with the central argument, the way it was communicated was not the best. I revised and posted it on Amazon's UK site. As I say in the first paragraph, I want to bring this element out to show readers a little acknowledge fact about the most important novel of the twentieth century. Of all the reviews I've written for Amazon this stands as the one with the most important thing to say. Ideally, reviews, etc, should be used as enhancing literature and "comparing notes" as Lewis says in his EXPERIMENT IN CRITICISM. This is what I mean to do here, to enlighten and compare notes. The enthusiasm of the original review is tempered with a more mature voice. Tolkien's work is strictly his own, but I feel Lewis should get acknowledged for his contribution to fantasy literature by his encouraging Tolkien. However, I am getting ahead of myself. I hope this review helps you better understand the powerful literary group that was the Inklings.

Mike London, 8-22-01.

The Review:

It is often customary to sing the praise of Tolkien and his accomplishments, but in this review I purpose to bring out an aspect often neglected in the circle of Tolkien fans, and that is the influence his Christian brother C. S. Lewis had upon him. Because there is so much else covering Tolkien's achievements, I, in this review, will stress Lewis and how, in keeping a keen interest and continual encouragement in this work, is, in an indirect way, as much responsible as Tolkien is, though this book is none of Lewis's creation. I only choose to stress this because it seems it is not very often pointed out.

C. S. Lewis has accomplished many things as a writer and a Christian, which an incredible amount to contribute to the world of literature. Some will argue what is his most important literary contribution, wether it be THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA, TILL WE HAVE FACES, literary criticism, or his apologetic works. But these arguments always leave out what I feel is the single most important contribution he ever made to the world of literature.

THE LORD OF THE RINGS.

Without Lewis, we would not have the genre of fantasy as we know it, because Tolkien would not have finished his masterpiece. In Tolkien's own words, he says, "But for the encouragement of C.S.L. I do not think I should ever have completed or offered for publication THE LORD OF THE RINGS," in THE LETTERS OF J. R. R. TOLKIEN, #282. Lewis said that he had no influence on Tolkien in the conventional way - that is, Lewis had no influence on WHAT he wrote. His main contribution was just to listen. He said of his own role to his famous friend was that of a midwife to Tolkien's works, not a father. As far as any substance or influence goes, I think the only appearance of C. S. Lewis in the works of Tolkien is the character Treebeard, which, according to Carpenter's biography TOLKIEN, whose voice is modeled after the speech patterns of Lewis, with his great "ho hum" voice that had a tendency to be rather booming. In Lewis's own fiction, the character of Elwin Ransom from his space trilogy is modeled after Tolkien, for Ransom, like Tolkien, is a philologist, and according to Tolkien some of his ideas and concepts regarding the discipline of philology were "Lewisfied" (Tolkien's terminology, not mine) in the character of Ransom (again, Carpenter, and I think this information is also in THE LETTERS OF J. R. R. TOLKIEN.)

Without C. S. Lewis, Tolkien would have never completed THE LORD OF THE RINGS, and it wouldn't be published, and the fantasy market would be totally different today - if indeed it existed at all. As far as literature goes, C. S. Lewis has nothing that can compare to this (although his body of work is better than Tolkien's). It makes the accomplishment of Lewis even more drastic than before, and although it is none of his invention, in an indirect way Lewis is as much responsible, even barring THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA, for the fantasy market as Tolkien (although Lewis's greatest accomplishment in life is leading people to Jesus through his writings).

So much has been said of the accomplishments Tolkien did little needs to be said here. Essentially, with the publication of this book (it is NOT a trilogy, as Tolkien was always quick to point out) Tolkien single handedly invented the fantasy genre as we know it today. Almost every fantasy novel today has a debt to Tolkien and THE LORD OF THE RINGS, even if the writer has never read it (which is highly unlikely). This is fantasy's masterpiece, the one that started it all. Like the Amazon.com review said, this is the Bible of fantasy. It is also, perhaps, the single greatest Christian novel ever written (Tolkien was a staunch Roman Catholic, ans his views and worship came from Middle-earth). Several poles have been taken, naming this the book of the century. Without C. S. Lewis, none of this would have been possible, because Tolkien would not have finished it. (The same can be said of his son Christopher, who read it as it was being written).

So you see, it's because of C. S. Lewis that and Tolkien's son Christopher that Tolkien finished what has been hailed as the most important novel of the twentieth century. We owe C. S. Lewis a tremendous debt in the field of literature, and this only greatly increases that debt for the enrichment he as brought the realm of written word. This book is the single most important thing contribution he ever did in the field of literature simply because he stood fast and encouraged his friend Tolkien to see it to completion. Bravo Lewis! And of course a hearty applause for Tolkien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tolkien's timeless tale of Frodo Baggins, the meak hobbit, 27 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
The realm of science fiction and fantasy is a realm that is hard to write. The essence of a good science fiction and fantasy novel is the ability of the author to submerge you in a complete world. The detail in the pages of Lord of the Rings shows you the quality of this book. The descriptive passages are frequent and involving and yet do not take away from the action of the book.
This is an ageless book that I first read some time ago. I have bought it once more so that I might refresh my mind of the adventures of Frodo Baggins and his fellow hobbits.
This book is a must for all fantasy readers as it has a quality that has not been lost with the passing of time. I personally believe that no modern authors quite reach Tolkien's standards of detail and action, of magic and suspence.
In short this is a brilliant story which you can immerse yourself completely in for many hours and believe yourself to be in the realms of middle earth.
enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Laughable bad reviews, 2 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
I have read LOTR many times over the years long before it became 'trendy' to do so and it is simply the best fiction book ever written. I have found it very entertaining to read the negative reviews of this book and have laughed at their reviews it is clear that those who have given the book negative reviews have read it as a sort of challenge or because everyone was reading it, hardly a reason for reading any book. Had those giving poor reviews picked up this book having never heard of it I am sure they would have loved it as much a I have and read it as often. Every time I read this book I see something in it I missed, it never fails to give me great pleasure. The only series of books that come close to LOTR is Steven Donaldsons Thomas Covenant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One book to rule them all, 24 May 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
Though Tolkien was not the first or most critically-acclaimed fantasy writer, he remains the most beloved and influential, even though "Lord of the Rings" is decades old.

Now with the epic movie trilogy based on this book, new waves of readers are discovering the unique power of the "Lord of the Rings." It has quietly created the fantasy genre as we know it, set the tone for most fantasy ever since, topped many "best book" polls, and helped spawn such entertainment phenomena as "Star Wars."

Following up on events in "The Hobbit," "The Fellowship of the Ring" stars the quiet, good-natured hobbit Frodo Baggins, who has inherited a golden Ring that allows its user to become invisible. But his friend, Gandalf the wizard, informs Frodo that the Ring is really the Ring of Power, a tiny invulnerable token that the demonic Dark Lord Sauron has poured his essence and power into. And if Sauron can regain the Ring, he will be able to conquer Middle-Earth. Aghast, Frodo joins a fellowship of Elves, Dwarves, Hobbits, Men and a wizard, to go to the one place where the Ring can be destroyed: Mount Doom.

"The Two Towers" begins directly after "Fellowship," after Frodo Baggins flees with his friend Sam into Mordor, with no one to protect them. His cousins Merry and Pippin are kidnapped by orcs from the renegade wizard Saruman. Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli begin a frenetic search for the hobbits, and receive unexpected help from unlikely allies. Meanwhile, the Ring weighs more heavily on Frodo, as he is forced to get help from one of the people he most despised: the Ring's slave Gollum.

"Return of the King" brings the trilogy to an action-packed, slam-bang and ultimately poignant finale. Sam barely rescues Frodo from Sauron's orcs, and the two resume their journey to Mount Doom, barely escaping Sauron's forces. As Aragorn leads the desperate battle against Sauron's armies at the city of Minas Tirith, Frodo falls increasingly under the seductive spell of the Ring.

"Lord of the Rings" is indeed a powerful book, speaking to virtually everyone who has read it. J.R.R. Tolkien drew from legends and myths, ranging from the ancient Norse mythology to more recent legends, mingled with his love of the British country folk and his Roman Catholic beliefs.

Though there are no direct linkages or lessons in the trilogy, Tolkien probably drew on his experiences in World War I for the ravaged battlefields and breakneck action sequences. His beliefs are equally misty but present: they fueled the ethics of the good guys, the fall of formerly-good wizard Saruman, and the themes of temptation, redemption, evil and good that run through every character.

Frodo Baggins is an everyman hero, who dreams of adventure but begins to treasure the simple, boring life that he had once he is deprived of it. His deteriotation is saddening, all the more so because he is aware of it. The equally vibrant cast also includes Gandalf the crabby grandfatherly wizard, Sam Gamgee the loyal gardener, and a variety of kings, elves, dwarves, and more lovable little hobbits.

Tolkien's writing is evocative and descriptive, though not to extremes; Mordor, for example, is best described through the way that Sam and Frodo react to it. The dialogue can range from goofy and hilarious to solemn and archaic, or to some combination of the two. And the pacing is gradual but necessary -- readers with short attention spans won't be able to handle this story. If they can handle sprawling, epic tales, then probably they can.

Even after all the years, J.R.R. Tolkien's "Lord of the Rings" still rules the fantasy genre and has become an integral part of modern literature. It's an epic for all ages, and few books have even come close to equalling it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
absolute bargain! as not only does it give you the books but the appendix's as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very damaged, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) (Paperback)
I got this for my son because he had read the hobbit and he wanted to read this at school ,it came in winter 1 month after I ordered it , sadly it was very damaged I do not recommend thi item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover)
The Lord of the Rings trilogy - one volume paperback (movie cover) by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 3 Sep 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews