Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book - reveals so much more
I found this book remarkable. It is well produced and adds a new dimension to the world of atlases. I find myself looking at places I have visited and can spend ages studying the detail and seeing what I might have missed. It is one of those books that you really do want to come back to time after time. Every home should invest in a copy.
Published on 9 Mar 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars use google earth
This was an amzing book a decade ago. However it is rather pointless now we have goggle earth. However if you want to have actual hold in your hand images then you cant go wrong.
Published on 27 May 2012 by Tom E


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book - reveals so much more, 9 Mar 2003
This review is from: England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company) (Hardcover)
I found this book remarkable. It is well produced and adds a new dimension to the world of atlases. I find myself looking at places I have visited and can spend ages studying the detail and seeing what I might have missed. It is one of those books that you really do want to come back to time after time. Every home should invest in a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On a clear day you can see it all, 28 Jun 2004
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company) (Hardcover)
I think you should know that this book tips the scales at sixteen pounds, is almost two inches thick and shows every field in England.

I thought the sequence of mapping pages was rather well thought out, just plain anywhere is to a 1:72,000 scale, slightly built up areas are 1:36,000 (and I can just about make out where my house is) large cities are 1:18,000 and city centres get a wonderful 1:4,500 scale so it is easy to see parked cars.

Despite the massive size and weight it is very user friendly, each aerial photomap spread has a descriptive caption and a reference to the relevant section of a cartographic map in the back of the book (1:288,000 scale) and nicely this map has marks indicating each aerial spread, with a page number, too. There is also a twenty-five page index.

This is definitely a book to get sidetracked by, find a place and pretty soon you'll spot something else and turn the page to follow a motorway or a river and then get distracted by a colorful shape and want to find out more. I was surprised at the number of airports and airstrips everywhere, even at 1:72,000 they are easily spotted.

Part of its beauty is the printing, by a German company called Aprinta. With 175 dpi, the color on every page is perfectly registered and the excellent binding completes this amazing book. If you have an interest in England and like maps you will not be disappointed by this unique overhead view of the nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best and cheapest alternative to your own helicopter., 13 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company) (Hardcover)
This book provides for the ordinary mortal what you can only otherwise get from flying. There is sufficient detail for most to be able to find their house or to explore areas they would like to visit. Combined with a good map there is nothing left that you need to know about the physical geography of any area of the country. A wonderful teaching aid for the young and an essential for the casually interested or enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true record of England at this time, a snapshot in history, 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company) (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully produced and photographed tome. Whether or not you have travelled England well, you will be in awe of the magnificence of this country when seen from above. As a city dweller, the countryside appears to be a patchwork quilt of greenness. The map references are clear and simple to use, individual houses are not clearly visible although local landmarks are easy enough to find. My partner has spent hours looking at all the golf courses he has ever played! Be careful when lifting this book as it is very heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC DESIGN & fun!, 14 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company) (Hardcover)
The book is a joy to browse through, the design of it's pages are very simple and imaginative, the photography is stunning!
One of the most well designed and well thought out books ever!
I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars use google earth, 27 May 2012
This review is from: England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company) (Hardcover)
This was an amzing book a decade ago. However it is rather pointless now we have goggle earth. However if you want to have actual hold in your hand images then you cant go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, you will be fascinated, 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company) (Hardcover)
A wonderful book, particularly such very clear pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 11 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company) (Hardcover)
a very good book,would like to see areas closer,have recently found a title called Photomap,that uses aerial photography from getmapping but at closer scales
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company)
England: The Photographic Atlas (Millennium Mapping Company) by www.getmapping.com (Hardcover - 5 Nov 2001)
Used & New from: £29.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews