Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Christie Caper
I hadn't read an Agatha Christie for about 30 years until I picked this up on spec at a station bookstall and I was delighted at how much I enjoyed it.

The Secret of Chimneys is an early (1925) Christie and is much more of a light-hearted romp than her more famous books. The plot is too complex to precis here (besides, I don't want to spoil your fun) although...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by Free Radical

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Christie in ripping form
This is one of Christie's early thrillers written in the 20s. She wasn't sure yet what kind of writer she was going to be, or even if she'd be a professional writer at all, and threw off some light-hearted yarns that suited the tastes of the times. She knew she was cobbling together the usual cliches and didn't care, in fact she often throws her characters into the most...
Published on 9 July 2006 by Ms. L. R. Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Christie Caper, 8 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Secret of Chimneys (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) (Paperback)
I hadn't read an Agatha Christie for about 30 years until I picked this up on spec at a station bookstall and I was delighted at how much I enjoyed it.

The Secret of Chimneys is an early (1925) Christie and is much more of a light-hearted romp than her more famous books. The plot is too complex to precis here (besides, I don't want to spoil your fun) although it involves, inter alia, Balkan revolutionaries, daring adventurers, stolen letters, missing diamonds, and, of course, a brace of mysterious murders.

The characters are very Wodehousian - amiable young men about town, flirtatious flappers, vague and woolly-minded peers - although, as usual, not everybody is what they seem and I doubt if even the most astute spotter of red herrings will work out who is really who, let alone whodunnit, before the loose ends are all adroitly tied up in the last couple of chapters.

There is not as much detection as in, say, a Poirot (indeed, her characters make a number of mock disparaging references to detective fiction throughout) and some of the 1920s attitudes may set a few teeth on edge today - foreigners are blithely referred to as dagoes, the Jewish characters have big noses, etc - but that shouldn't detract from an immensely enjoyable caper that brims with period charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Christie, 13 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this story! Admittedly it is more light-hearted than the more familiar classic Christie mysteries, but it's so well done. It has a complicated plot, in a good way, with lots of good characters. The pompous patriotic Lomax, thorn in the flesh of the bumbling lacksadaisical Lord Caterham, who in turn is the father of the live wire that is Lady Eileen "Bundle" Brent, to name but three, all jump off the page. This unabridged audio version is wonderful, read by the excellent Hugh Fraser with just the right light touch. Only the best narrators can "do" all the voices both distinctly and convincingly, especially the opposite sex. I doubt that you will guess whodunnit, and even if you do, there are still more secrets to be revealed at chimneys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Secret of Chimneys, 30 Dec 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First published in 1925, this is the first Christie novel to feature Superintendent Battle (he appeared in a further four novels: The Seven Dials Mystery (Masterpiece Edition), Cards on the Table (Poirot), Murder Is Easy (Agatha Christie Collection) and Towards Zero (Agatha Christie Collection). The novel is in many ways a typical country house farce, involving many aliases, royalty, blackmail, secret assignations, jewel thieves, murder and general confusion. The story begins when Anthony Cade is given a manuscript to deliver to London by his old friend Jimmy McGrath, along with some letters to be returned to a blackmail victim. Along the way Cade is attacked, robbed and becomes involved with some high level meetings at the country house Chimneys involving the royal family of Herzoslovakia. Virtually nobody is who they are supposed to be and the plot is almost too involved to explain. However, the whole thing is great fun and people take the most astounding events with great calm and English reserve, making this a very enjoyable read indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret of Chimneys, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An Agatha Christie classic brilliantly read by Hugh Fraser. This version is the best I have heard. Unmissable for Christie enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sheer escapism, 15 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret of Chimneys (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) (Paperback)
Fans of Christie's mature mysteries might be disappointed, as this is more of a comedy spy thriller than a classic who-dunnit. However, as a period piece it is fascinating, and while the writer has clearly been influenced by PG Wodehouse, we can see the seeds of Christie's later skilful characterisation developing in such memorable creations as Virginia Revel. If you can suspend disbelief and think yourself back into the non-p.c.world of the British Empire of the 1920s, you are in for an escapist treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent work of Agatha Christie!, 31 Jan 2001
The Secret of Chimneys is an excellent book for any reader, not just for Agatha Christie's fans! It draws the reader into its story from the very beginning. There are also many interesting characters and, as is Agatha Christie's usual practice, the murderer is someone who you have never suspected, or, if you have, you dropped all suspicions you had quite soon. On the whole, a very interestingly written book which is sure to have you reading it all in one go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars as above, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My sister is a great listener of Agatha Christie audio books and this just adds to her collection. She likes them read by Hugh Frazer only!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased. Agatha Christie fans will be happy and appreciate a slightly different story than the usual Poirots and Miss Marples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Nov 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another deserved 5 stars. Always interesting and fully recommended to all Kindle readers.plot second to none. Number one Crime writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complex for a Christie, 25 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst I enjoyed this book, I did find it more of a complex read than the more well known books I've read of hers. This involves anything from politics to murder to espionage and theft. Difficult to summarise what this book is about as there is a lot going on with a few twists and turns that are rather unexpected to the reader.

Easy book to read. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret of Chimneys (Agatha Christie Signature Edition)
The Secret of Chimneys (Agatha Christie Signature Edition) by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 2 Jun 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews