Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot's swan song.
If you don't already know it, this is Poirot's last case.
I came across this book after I had read MANY other Poirot's cases and I was familiar with the surroundings. Lady Agatha takes us back to Styles Court, where we first met the little Belgian man with the egg shaped head. And so, the circle is closed.
This is, in my opinion, the most mature of Christie's...
Published on 3 Feb 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value
This book is good value for money but a bit different to other Agatha Christie novels. It makes the reader feel tinged with sadness at the demise of Hercule Poirot throughout; even though it has all the usual twists and turns.
Published 7 months ago by Joan Herdman


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot's swan song., 3 Feb 2001
By A Customer
If you don't already know it, this is Poirot's last case.
I came across this book after I had read MANY other Poirot's cases and I was familiar with the surroundings. Lady Agatha takes us back to Styles Court, where we first met the little Belgian man with the egg shaped head. And so, the circle is closed.
This is, in my opinion, the most mature of Christie's stories. Poirot faces the ultimate assassin: an individual capable of the perfect crime. He understands his methods, but also finds it impossible to intervene. And so he takes the matter on to his own hands, although knowing that no crime can go unpunished.
Maybe the essence of the book is in the last few lines, hidden by a mark on a man's forehead. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot's swan song., 18 Sep 2001
This review is from: Curtain: Poirot's Last Case (Poirot) (Paperback)
If you don't already know it, this is Poirot's last case.
I came across this book after I had read MANY other Poirot's cases and I was familiar with the surroundings. Lady Agatha takes us back to Styles Court, where we first met the little Belgian man with the egg shaped head. And so, the circle is closed.
This is, in my opinion, the most mature of Christie's stories. Poirot faces the ultimate assassin: an individual capable of the perfect crime. He understands his methods, but also finds it impossible to intervene. And so he takes the matter on to his own hands, although knowing that no crime can go unpunished.
Maybe the essence of the book is in the last few lines, hidden by a mark on a man's forehead. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curtain, 24 Mar 2009
By 
J. Staveley "Madbard" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Even though Poirot is physically disabled his little grey cells are still in working order as he solves his last case. Brilliantly read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful stuff !, 23 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. Mg Reynolds "Carry On fan" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curtain: Poirot's Last Case (Poirot) (Paperback)
It is for Poirot what The Remorseful Day was for poor old Morse ! It is Poirot's last stand - although weak & infirm he manages to thwart the most dangerous criminal he has encountered . One can just hear David Suchet & Hugh Fraser saying Poirot and Hastings lines . I long for the TV adaptation as those two actors are superb as Hercule Poirot & Captain Hastings and it would draw a line in the sand by filming this great novel . Of course it is a sentimental return to Styles where it all started as dear Poirot's life goes full circle by returning to the scene of his early great success in England . It is nice to see Poirot & Hastings back together - hunting again as in the ABC Murders . It is a great storyline as one would expect from Dame Agatha Christie . She finally does what Mrs Oliver never did with Sven her detective of whom she got fed up . The twists & turns and little clues aka red herrings are what one would expect from Dame Agatha and certainly keep the reader on the edge of their seat . If you wish to crown your collection of Poirot litrature or just wish to know how the David Suchet series will end then this is the novel for you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poriot's Last Case, 12 Aug 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Christie herself regarded the character with a mixture of bemused affection and frustration, and frequently expressed the wish that she had never created such an eccentric person--but of all her creations, Hercule Poroit was the most popular with the reading public. Indeed, such was the public's devotion that in the 1940s or 1950s Christie became concerned that others might attempt to "franchise" the character after her death, resurrecting him for other novels for the sake of a fast buck. Determined to thwart this, in the 1950s Christie wrote CURTAIN--and then withheld it from publication until the very end of her own life.
Once more Poroit and his faithful Captain Hastings return to the great country estate of Styles, the location of Christie's first novel and Poroit's first appearance, THE MYSTERIOUS AFFAIR AT STYLES. But time has wrought many changes. Styles has been sold and converted to a second-rate guest house. Captain Hastings is in mourning for his much loved and recently deceased wife. And Poroit... is dying.
But although his body is failing, Poroit's little gray cells remain as sharp as ever, and he is once more on the trail of a killer--indeed, the perfect killer, one completely unlike any he has pursued before. A killer who now resides at Styles and who is coiled to strike again. But can Poroit defeat this killer before mortality rings down the curtian on his fabulous career? Stylistically, CURTAIN belongs to the great Christie novels of the 1940s and 1950s, and in terms of plot it is easily among her most remarkable achievements, easily ranking with such celebrated twists as those found in THE MURDER OF ROGER ACKROYD and A MURDER IS ANNOUNCED. The writing is strong, the characterizations are vivid, and when the solution unfolds one is left with a startled gasp.
I do not recommend CURTAIN for those new to Christie's novels. It is indeed Hercule Poroit's last case, and it really should be read as such. But for those who have followed Poroit through a number of adventures, it is a truly satisfying conclusion to the character's long and brilliant career.
--GFT (Amazon.com Reviewer)--
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot's swan song., 4 Oct 2001
If you don't already know it, this is Poirot's last case.
I came across this book after I had read MANY other Poirot's cases and I was familiar with the surroundings. Lady Agatha takes us back to Styles Court, where we first met the little Belgian man with the egg shaped head. And so, the circle is closed.
This is, in my opinion, the most mature of Christie's stories. Poirot faces the ultimate assassin: an individual capable of the perfect crime. He understands his methods, but also finds it impossible to intervene. And so he takes the matter on to his own hands, although knowing that no crime can go unpunished.
Maybe the essence of the book is in the last few lines, hidden by a mark on a man's forehead. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recent TV version didn't do it justice, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to compare the book with the recent TV adaptation which I found disappointing. Ingenious plot a fitting end to the Poirot series. The Kindle version has an excellent section at the end with summaries of all the Poirot cases. Very useful and, armed with this, I might well (re-)read others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I do not approve of murder".. / an Art Deco bromance, 3 Oct 2012
By 
Sasha D (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Curtain: Poirot's Last Case (Poirot) (Paperback)
As a lifelong AC fan who finds something to enjoy in almost all her works, I like this tale and find it quite moving. I've always loved the dynamic between Poirot and Hastings and their spikily affectionate exchanges, so this being the last Poirot novel is poignant for me. AC's books are always readable, amusing and wise. When she is at her best, her work is timeless. Probably why I hardly ever see her books in charity shops.

There are gaping holes in this plot, bizarre motivation of the killer, the whole premise is unlikely at best, and weak characterisation (I found Hastings' daughter Judith particularly irritating)but it moves along at a fair pace, Poirot is as sharp, perceptive and wry as usual and Hastings as kindly, well-intentioned and misguided.

Classic nostalgia where people greet each other with "hullo", "queer" used to have a totally different meaning, a sinister lothario Major, saucy nurse(the obligatory redhead for Hastings to admire :)) tisanes, drugged hot chocolate, and lamentations about English cooking...back in the original setting where Poirot and Hastings first met decades ago. What's not to like?

As a sucker for AC's classic 10-15 people whodunnit, each with their own secrets, where things are never quite as they seem, I cannot help but enjoy Poirot and Hastings together for the final time, back at Styles. I re-read each of my 70 AC novels every 5 years or so, and I never stop enjoying them. There'll never be another writer like AC for me.

Far from her best, but still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please read this book after other Poirot mysteries, 23 Jun 2011
Although you could read and enjoy this book without having read any earlier cases you will appreciate it more if you read it last. This is because the character of Hastings and Poirot is integral to the plot - but I wont say any more and spoil it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A HUGELY SIGNIFICANT AND ENJOYABLE READ!!!!, 15 Sep 2014
By 
Greggorio! (Amazing Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Curtain: Poirot's Last Case (Poirot) (Paperback)
This book begins on an emotional high. Ms Christie spends most of the first chapter bringing a multitude of fond memories of the manor at Styles charging back into the mind of the reader when Hastings is summoned back to the place via a note from his dear friend Poirot. The reader’s heart will just about break at the start to chapter two when she so eloquently describes the frail, aged condition to which he has apparently declined. All such thoughts can be assigned to the waste bin, however, as by the end of the chapter, Mr Poirot has eloquently convinced both his best friend Hastings and his world wide fans that a murderer is on the loose at Styles and s/he is set to strike again. Yikes!

What a fantastic way to start a story! The book moves at a terrific pace, despite an apparent lack of action. No murders have occurred approaching the 65 percent mark of the tale, but there is plenty of suspense in just about every chapter. And the appearances in the book of ageing hero Hercule Poirot more than make up for any lack of action. A near miss, it turns out, according to the book's heroes, is an act of attempted murder from the serial killer the book is based on.

Assumed identities of given characters are shown to be false at various stages and once the reader is over by the subsequent feelings of awe and wonder these moments leave you with, the book suddenly feels heavier and classier with the added depth to the tale and the feeling of greater worth.

Ms Christie has penned a classic here. It may not be dripping blood with a gory multitude of victims, and the heart fears the worst for the world's favourite old school detective. But just like life itself, nothing - and nobody - lasts forever. And even if the worst comes to fruition, we still have close to forty books to pick up, rejoice in, and reminisce over.

Full marks for this beauty.

BFN Greggorio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curtain: Poirot's Last Case (Poirot)
Curtain: Poirot's Last Case (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews