Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trains, trays, tablets and tittle-tattle.
Old and new readers of Agatha Christie's whodunnits will not be disappointed with the 1957 puzzler. It has an unforgettable opening sequence, an ingenious denouement, and an interesting sleuth, especially created for the occasion, named Lucy Eylesbarrow. Although it is the elderly Jane Marple who exerts her powers of detection, she does it by remote control while her...
Published on 19 Sept. 2005 by John Austin

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low-commotion
I’m such a fan of Agatha Christie that I’m virtually a claque all on my own, but I won’t pretend I wasn’t a little disappointed with 4.50 from Paddington. It’s an atypical one from her, and doesn’t perhaps show off her virtuoso talents at their best – very much in the vein of The Hollow or Sad Cypress (though lacking the...
Published 2 months ago by Jim Noy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it a lot, 2 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
I liked this book a lot. Although there wasn't much suspense, except in the end, it was very good. I liked Lucy Eyelesbarrow a lot, and in this book I liked her better than Ms.Marple. I am thirteen years old and I have read 61 Agatha Christie books. If you are looking for lots of suspense and dead bodies, I'm sorry, but you won't find it here. It's not exactly Agatha Christie's most exciting book, but it makes up for it in characterization, and descriptive words and imagery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
V. T. Osborn (United Kimgdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first book read of Agathas and has me hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely Gripping and Thrilling, 9 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
I listened to this tape whilst on a long car journey and then found that i could not stop listening until the end of the full 7 hours it is a fantastic story and the best i have heard from Agatha Christie although i do also highly reccomend Evil under the Sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 4.50 from Paddington (Agatha Christie) (Paperback)
Love Agatha Christie,loved this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.50 From Paddington, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic Agatha Christe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marple gets a trusty sidekick, 25 Jun. 2009
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 4.50 from Paddington (Agatha Christie) (Paperback)
Back on form a little for Christie - the police aren't around to make bumbling fools of themselves until fairly late on in the game - Miss Marple has a valid, non-coincidental reason for being involved, and this time she has a trusty sidekick!

Yes, there are some of the issues that have blighted the recent previous books in the set, including the mansion house location, and the large, confusing family set up - but perhaps no-one in the time it is set would have cared about some random farm hands being murdered?

This one had an interestingly different set-up, and confirmation that we were on the right track (as it were) didn't come until late on. The red-herrings were very convincing, although they were very easy to spot - and I figured out the red herring solution early in the game.

The revelation at the end seemed a bit of a cheat, as there didn't seem to be any way to have seen it coming, and Miss Marple's own deductions are never explained, which is a little disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up reading Agatha Christie, my mother was a fan. I was and still am a prolific reader and it is great to re-read the classics.
4.50 From Paddington was one of my favourites as the characters are great and the twists and turns keep you spell bound.
A must read for fans of murder mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 30 Jan. 2013
By 
S. Jackson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed story, kept me interested the whole way through. Thought the plot was different, viewing the crime from another train, then how miss Marple had to go about proving her friends story! Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low-commotion, 8 Jan. 2015
This review is from: 4.50 from Paddington (Agatha Christie) (Paperback)
I’m such a fan of Agatha Christie that I’m virtually a claque all on my own, but I won’t pretend I wasn’t a little disappointed with 4.50 from Paddington. It’s an atypical one from her, and doesn’t perhaps show off her virtuoso talents at their best – very much in the vein of The Hollow or Sad Cypress (though lacking the latter’s cunning), with more emphasis on setting and character. If the plotting feels a bit more desultory than usual, it’s at least refreshing to see her experimenting with a slightly less standard form of mystery; and if she doesn’t quite pull it off, well, we’re all fallible, aren’t we?

Jane Marple is once again a bit of a guest star in her own book – see also A Pocketful of Rye and The Moving Finger – and after establishing the approximate whereabouts of the body doesn’t really feature too greatly beyond turning up to point out the guilty party at the end. Thankfully the delightful Lucy Eylesbarrow is virtually strong enough for a series of her own (quick! Someone phone Sophie Hannah...oh, on second thoughts, don’t), and more than compensates for such bromides as Harold Crackenthorpe’s uptight city man and the lovelorn Dr. Quimper (love these names, incidentally).

The lack of any real peremptory presence at the heart of the narrative is doubtless a deliberate choice to allow Dame Agatha to take her jolly time in telling the tale, and it’s about the easiest read in which very little happens you’ll ever encounter, but these factors combine to make it rather non-essential. If you’re a completist you’ll read it anyway and find it perfectly acceptable, but if you’re casting about and unsure where to begin, old Aunt Jane comes off far better (and, indeed, actually appears enough to warrant her attendance) in A Murder is Announced or They Do it with Mirrors. Go there, then come back here when you’re convinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

4.50 from Paddington (Agatha Christie)
4.50 from Paddington (Agatha Christie) by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 15 Oct. 2007)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews