Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Great despite the age', says a relatively new Christie reader
I first must say that as I write this review I have only read five Christie books. Those were 'The Murder of Roger Ackroyd', 'The ABC Murders', 'One, Two, Buckle my shoe', 'After the Funeral' and 'Elephants Can Remember'. I must say firstly how much I have enjoyed reading these five books and how much I look forward to reading a sixth.

Elephants can remember...
Published on 7 Oct. 2006 by Mr. G. B. Nelson

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elephants Can Remember
I have read a handful of Agatha Christie novels and watched many more on television and therefore feel I know a little of how these books work, what they are about, their structure.

My favourite ones have been where a murder has happened in a big house and Poirot/Miss Marple solve the case. Elephants Can Remember wasn't like that. It was about Poirot solving a...
Published on 17 Aug. 2009 by imla


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought that I had all of Agatha Christie books so was delighted to find this. Really enjoy her books and to be able to now put them on my Kindle is good news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars elephants, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants Can Remember (Paperback)
as usual Agatha Christie at her most compelling would recommend to any thriller buffs suspense is kept going always throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good iteem, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
True to the Agatha Christie style; this is an excellent book and makes for compulsive reading from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Agatha lost the plot a bit with this, 2 April 2010
By 
Androo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants Can Remember (Hardcover)
This is the last Poirot novel Agatha wrote (though not the last one published). It may surprise fans of the TV series that the book is set when it was published, in the early 1970s. Surely Poirot should be 127 by now...?

Anyway, that doesn't matter, because there's little to no period detail. Being a late Poirot, he gets some 'help' from the slightly batty Ariadne Oliver, who I rather like. In fact she's the one who piques Poirot's interest in the case of a 12 year old 'double suicide' that suddenly comes under suspicion when Ariadne's god-daughter wants to get married and the prospective bridegroom's mother gets suspicious. All pretty standard stuff for Agatha Christie.

The problem with it is that it doesn't have the panache of so many other Poirot novels. Not only that, but the solution is far too obvious (two dead women who turn out to be twins, and there are four wigs... oooh, what could possibly have happened I wonder...).

Too much of the novel is given over to the characters waffling on in a not very interesting way. Christie's novel's are usually driven by dialogue (that's why they're so readable) but the dialogue in this one is plodding and dull. Poirot doesn't seem to be his usual self either, so when you're reading his bits, it somehow doesn't sound like him. It's all a bit boiler plate.

When the end finally comes (believe me, it's no surprise) the writing gets even worse. The last few pages are absolute drivel. Was poor old Agatha a bit gaga by this point perhaps? It feels like it.

Well, it's not an absolutely terrible thing to read, but I think it's very likely the worst Poirot I've read, and I've read most of them.

The good thing is that this facsimile edition is just as nice as all the others. They are just the perfect size to take to bed and feel lovely in the hand, unlike most hardback novels today. If you're collecting them, you'll need this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing beginning, 12 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This book takes a long time to really get into - I was well over halfway through it before it sparked much interest, but when it did, the plot became fascinating. The ending was possible to guess, but it was still entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants Can Remember (Paperback)
I found my purchase in very good condition, what a bargain!, swift delivery, many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Agatha Christie is a fantastic author, well written and an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read it liked it and Lent it to a, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Angela P. Chappell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephants Can Remember (Paperback)
Read it liked it and Lent it to a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Adriane Oliver & Poirot. Good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie crime novel, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elephants Can Remember
Elephants Can Remember by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews