Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Proper Christie
Having read a few Agatha Christie's lately, I am happy to say that this is one of my favourites so far. Unlike some others I've tried - The Third Girl, and Sparkling Cyanide for example - the ending of this one is very satisfying with everything clicking into place without being too ridiculously unrealistic (as is the case with the other two novels mentioned). Beautiful...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by daisyrock

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three little stars
'Five Little Pigs' is a typical title for an Agatha Christie novel, as she had a penchant for borrowing nursery rhymes. Plotwise, it's a watertight story, but not as taut as usual. This can be put down to it being a cold case which, as other reviewers have noted, goes over the same ground several times, according to the varied perspectives of the protagonists. When...
Published on 14 Oct 2010 by D. J. H. Thorn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Little Pigs. Agatha Christie., 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hercule Poirot is one of my favourite detectives,and his creator a wonderful authoress. This story Five Little Pigs, is a terrific whodunit, and is highly recommended. Just reading a Hercule novel, the voice of David Suchet, as M. Poirot seems to come into being! Can't be helped, that is how good he was at his art.
All I can say is read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christy, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ingenious as ever, usual high quality woven plot, great characters and conclusive ending. You can rarely fail with a Christy novel, and this one delivers highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars VERY ENJOYABLE, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Little Pigs (Poirot) (Paperback)
Recently saw Go Back For Murder by the Agatha Christie Theatre Company, this is the stage adaptation of Five Little Pigs, Enjoyed the play so much that I ordered the book to see how it compared to the play, am about half way through the book and so far it has got me hooked and I am really enjoying it.

Have also ordered Five Little Pigs on DVD with David Suchet as Poirot, that arrived today and if it is as good as the book and the play I shant be dissappointed.

Would recommend to anyone who enjoys Agatha Christies work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Title apt, 22 Sep 2013
By 
E. J. nicholls "fulham junkie" (cheshunt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Impressive writing as usual one of my best agatha christie novels so far looking forward to my next one in series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Little Pigs, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Five Little Pigs is a clever, engaging and wonderful book that keeps you guessing until the last page. I would recommend it both to crime fiction fans and newcomers to the genre as a simply amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not My Favourite, 13 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not one of my favourite Christie's as I find there is too much discourse and not enough action. This is a story that goes back into the past by 16 years to a case where a woman is convicted of killing her husband and her now grown up daughter wants Poirot to investigate the crime as she believes her mother may be innocent and wants to prove that there is no family history of madness before she married her fiance.

Five people were staying at the house at the time of the crime and Poirot tracks them down and asks for their versions of what happened. Can Poirot discover who's guilty by reading a five a counts of what happened.

Well written, but simply not one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Christie's best, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an Agatha Christie fan I like this very much. It enjoy the full and unabidged version of the talking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars five little pigs, 28 Oct 2012
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like i previously mentioned i enjoy reading all Agatha Christie's
books, especially Poirot mysteries. I recommend all Agatha's
books. They are very interesting and relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Puzzle Plot Crime - Even if You've Seen the TV Version, 31 July 2012
By 
wolf (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Five Little Pigs (Poirot) (Paperback)
This is one of Agatha Christie's best. It is her first attempt at dealing with solving crimes in the past - a theme she'd return to in Sleeping Murder and Elephants Can Remember. It is beautifully and elegantly dealt with here.

The structure of the book revolves around the recollection of those who were involved in a killing some sixteen years beforehand. Most of the book is devoted to the written accounts of five witnesses. All the clues are fairly presented, all Poirot's deductions pleasing, fitting and satisfying.

Best of all, the characters are presented fully enough and with enough plausibility that it not only aviods the creakiness that sometimes afflicts Christie stories, but also means that those, like me, who had seen and enjoyed the David Suchet television version can still be entertained and engaged by the book.

Recommended to anyone with a hankering for classic detective fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have always enjoyed the Agatha Christie (Poirot) series and this book is ..., 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always enjoyed the Agatha Christie (Poirot) series and this book is no different, very well written and a great storyline, if you have read the Poirot stories in the past and enjoyed them I would recommend this one also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Little Pigs (Poirot)
Five Little Pigs (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 3 Sep 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews