Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passion explored
Sad Cypress is one of Christie's books which stand out in my memory, and that now and then I fancy reading again. The twist at the end, which is surprising and quite prosaic, the magic of the Christie atmosphere, in between style and tension is there, and the implied importance of heredity and class are almost Victorian!

But the most interesting feature as far...
Published on 11 Feb. 2009 by v

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie
Years since I read an AC book but I had been listening to it as a play on Radio 4 extra and missed the last couple of chapters.
I really did not get on with the book what a waste of money
Published 20 months ago by Mrs.M.A.Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passion explored, 11 Feb. 2009
By 
v (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sad Cypress (Poirot) (Hardcover)
Sad Cypress is one of Christie's books which stand out in my memory, and that now and then I fancy reading again. The twist at the end, which is surprising and quite prosaic, the magic of the Christie atmosphere, in between style and tension is there, and the implied importance of heredity and class are almost Victorian!

But the most interesting feature as far as I'm concerned is in the character of Elinore Carlisle. Her skilfully repressed passion and devotion echo a side of the British character that often goes untold, and very possibly hints to the passionate side of Agatha Christie herself, who wrote romantic novels under the name of Mary Westmacott, and loved her first husband Archie Christie so intensely as to actually lose her mind temporarily when he left her for another woman (she experienced a brief "fugue" where she lost her memory and signed into a hotel with the name of her husband's new flame).

As for plot, narration does feel somewhat disjointed as the story is narrated in retrospective, and in parts through letters, but it really does work, and the ending doesn't disappoint.
Poirot joins the story quite late, which makes for a change.

Elinor Carlisle remains one of my favourite Christie women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diehard Fans Can't Be Wrong!, 10 April 2007
By 
C. Knowles (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sad Cypress (Poirot) (Paperback)
This book is cited as a favourite perhaps more than any other by hardcore Christie fans, and with good reason. It's outstanding in the Christie catalogue. Beautifully written (for this type of book anyway!) and the most emotionally engaging and affecting of all her work, it's an absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'Sad Cypress', 8 April 2011
This review is from: Sad Cypress (Poirot) (Paperback)
With a beautiful title taken from Shakespeare's 'Twelfth Night', 'Sad Cypress' is one of my favourite Agatha Christie books, and also one of the best to feature Poirot. It doesn't have the sheer audacity of, say, 'The Murder of Roger Ackroyd', but as one of her more emotionally engaging books it's at least up there with 'Five Little Pigs' (another underrated story), or the beautiful 'A Murder is Announced'.

As the book opens, the main character Elinor Carlisle is on trial for her life. The courtroom setting doesn't really mean much one way or the other, it's merely Christie experimenting with a new kind of plot framing device. No, it is the mystery of Elinor's personality and her true motivations which keep the reader guessing continually throughout the book, and hungry to learn who really killed the poisoning victim, Mary Gerrard.

Agatha Christie is usually ignored by literary critics or dismissed as 'genre fiction', but she was actually a master at portraying a wide range of psychological types, and that (along with her cunning solutions) is probably the reason that she's still the bestselling novelist of all time. Although her psychological types can occasionally be a little unbelievable as flesh and blood characters, that certainly isn't the case here - 'Sad Cypress' contains some of her most memorable and vivid figures. It will definitely stick in your head for some time after you have read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Poirot novels for me, 6 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Sad Cypress (Poirot) (Paperback)
Christies novels vary, for me, in how well they've stood the test of time. Also, though the crime is always convoluted, sometimes things go just a little bit too far! I think Sad Cypress is a winner judged on both these criteria and I'm surprised it's not more famous than it is. There's real atmosphere and tension and the characters are more vividly drawn than in some other Poirot adventures (Dead Man's Folly, for example). Elinore Carlisle is one of Christie's better characters I think. Her repressed passion and unrequited love lead her to the edge of madness and make her actions seem believable when they're actually quite odd. I liked the narration style, which includes excerpts from letters, and felt this kept me 'on my toes' looking for clues. The ending is particularly mature and thoughtful for Christie, who often ends novels as if she ran out of ink. Poirot is a joy, as ever - the main reason for reading any of these novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad Cypress, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Published in 1940, this is one of Poirot’s most intriguing cases. Elinor Carlisle stands accused of the murder of Mary Gerrard and the first part of this book looks at her looking back at the events which led her there. It begins with Elinor receiving an anonymous letter, warning her that someone has been trying to take her place in her Aunt Laura’s affections. Her aunt is an invalid, having had a stroke, and is cared for at her house by two nurses and Dr Peter Lord. Mary Gerrard is the daughter of servants, but Elinor’s aunt has always taken an interest in the girl and paid for her education and the young girl acts almost as a companion to the older woman in return.

Elinor comes across as a slightly cold and controlled young woman, but she is passionately in love with Roddy Welman, who she has known since they were young children and who are both related to Aunt Laura. The couple plan to marry and expect that Aunt Laura will leave one or the other of them the house and money in her will. However, Elinor’s future is suddenly changed forever, when Roddy falls head over heels in love with Mary. Before long, Aunt Laura has died and her lack of a will means that Elinor inherits. However, when Mary is poisoned, Elinor’s is accused of killing her out of jealousy.

This is an unusual Poirot novel, in that there is a possible miscarriage of justice, which is something hardly ever suggested in an Agatha Christie book. The evidence all seems to point to Elinor as the murderer, but Poirot is never wrong – as he himself assures us - and he promises to get to the truth. With interesting characters, a complex plot and some great courtroom scenes, this is a wonderful mystery. It is said most murders happen because of love or money and this has greed, jealousy and repressed emotions in abundance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Christie!, 28 April 2012
This review is from: Sad Cypress (Poirot) (Paperback)
I'm reading through all the Poirot in order of publication, and it was a pleasure to get away from the attempts to extend the formula using exotic locations or the extreme fancies of psychology in the 1930s. Christie obviously enjoyed writing this book and there is a lot of her in it. In characteristic fashion, it tells the tale of an English family in decline - not quite Old Money, but certainly nouveau riche of the early Victorian era. The last surviving member of the direct line is dying and the story evolves around the expectations of the more remote members of the family. While not the genuine upper crust, such people were the backbone of British social life throughout the 19th and half of the 20th centuries. Christie was on the lower fringes of this group and very familiar with their behaviour and values. The tale weaves murder and romance into a complex network of relationships, only introducing Poirot when much of the plot is done and dusted. Nonetheless, he is sorely needed since the heir to the family fortune is destined for the hangman, and deservedly so!

Back on familiar territory, Christie manipulates events and her characters with great assurance, providing a highly-believable, entertaining and compassionate story that carries sufficient surprises to hold one's interest. Some reviewers complain that they dislike all the characters. I would say that characters in old novels (this is now nearly 80 years old), must be first understood in context before professing liking or dislike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A unique Christie, 25 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Sad Cypress (Poirot) (Paperback)
This is a great Christie book and it stands out because she takes a different approach to it and one of the main aspects of it is proving Elinor Carlisle is innocent, aswell as finding out who the real murderer is. This is a really great book despite it having one or two flaws which I will discuss later on in the review.

When Elinor Carlisles aunt dies, it is no surprise to anybody because she was already ill in hospital, but when the death is looked into in more detail it was discovered to be a suspicious murder. Then Mary Gerrard is mudered too and everybody suspects Elinor because she had a strong motive jealousy. Elinor is arrested and sent on trial, but Hercule Poirot is soon put on to the case of proving her innocence and suddenly a few overlooked clues become noticed and there is less of a case against her.

This is a good book, made even better by the fact that there is a section entirely devoted to a courtroom scene ( which I really enjoyed reading about ), but there is one problem, the only reason I didn't suspect the murderer is because it was too obvious and it wasn't like Christie tried to make it too obvious but I was just very unamazed by the actual conclusion.

This is a great book and I highly reccomend it, especially if you are tired of th eusual whodunnit and want something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy murder-mystery reading told in the typical Agatha Christie style, 12 Feb. 2014
By 
John M "John M" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sad Cypress (Poirot) (Paperback)
This is a typical Agatha Christie murder tale with a cast of poosible suspects and the usual misdirections. A young girl is murdered and her love rival stands accused. Inheritance and family intrigue are in the mix, and Hercule Poirot arrives to dissect through the casual lies, the not so casual lies and the clues.

I was misdirected by the red-herrings and kicked myself when the solution was revealed for not appreciating the real clues. I'm learning the Christie-style, though; the apparently insignificant clue or action that grates is usually the real one, and the more obvious ones are the misdirects. Let's see if my spotting improves next time!

As is usual with Christie novels, the characters and their dialogue seem rather dated now, but they are still light, fun quick reading. Poirot enters only really halfway through here, bringing with him his usual mix of incisiveness, idiosynacrasies and vanity; a truly great character creation. As you can guess, I would have liked more of him. Whilst the plotting is entertaining and generally satisfactory, it did include a coincidence (same first name) and I'm not sure I could really buy into the apomorphine story either, clever though it was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of Christie's best, 22 Jun. 2014
By 
R. N. Stell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sad Cypress (Poirot) (Paperback)
To me detective fiction can roughly be divided into the 'Golden Age' and the 'Modern'.
Golden Age novels manage on the whole to give the impression of being comfortably bloodless (even if the victim was beaten to death with a blunt instrument) and were mostly created around amateur detectives; I enjoy them, but must concede that the plots are of a necessity more or less unbelievable. Modern detective novels are in general gritty, bloody and (frequently) depressing but the element of the detection process itself, being mostly police-based, gives the impression of being quite realistic even when the crimes themselves are not.

In 'Sad Cypress' Agatha Christie managed to create a detective novel that was relatively believable (taken in the context of the period it was set in) and was peopled with an attractive and convincing cast of characters.

I think it is definitely one of her best and - if you like this type of detective fiction, which I do - then I can safely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovley book, 9 Feb. 2008
By 
This review is from: Sad Cypress (Poirot) (Paperback)
I like this Chrstie as it just seems like a lovely little story with flawless telling. Expertly clued, it will keep you guessing until the end. There are no loose ends and everything ties up well. I'd recommend this to any detective story lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sad Cypress (Poirot)
Sad Cypress (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 18 Aug. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews