Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opener
Having been a Christian for many years, I have viewed the Bible as a sword and shield, a book to be respected and reveranced, but it is also very hard to understand and misunderstood. Nick Page opens it up in a honest, comical and very real way, making it enjoyable to read the Bible and his book together. It does not go into complicated depth. I would highly recommend...
Published on 14 May 2003 by Elayne Gregory

versus
2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A facile book
I have nothing against making scripture available, indeed I welcome it. But this book really really skims over the surface and ignores biblical scholarship for an easy non-demanding read. For example, the Jacob and Esau story is a recasting of the Egyptian myths of Horus and Set - but no mention of this interpretation occurs in the text. El (pp52) was the head of the...
Published on 28 Mar 2012 by Diogenes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opener, 14 May 2003
This review is from: The Bible Book: A User's Guide (Paperback)
Having been a Christian for many years, I have viewed the Bible as a sword and shield, a book to be respected and reveranced, but it is also very hard to understand and misunderstood. Nick Page opens it up in a honest, comical and very real way, making it enjoyable to read the Bible and his book together. It does not go into complicated depth. I would highly recommend this to a new christian or someone who is curious about the Bible as an introduction. I would certainly like to meet Nick himself, you feel that you are speaking to him and getting to know him through his openess and humour.
An excellent, enjoyable and simplistic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible Book, 14 May 2009
By 
Mrs. Fm Gray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bible Book: A User's Guide (Paperback)
I have found this book very useful. It is user friendly and gives a great overview of each book of the Bible as well as interesting historical backgrounds. Recommend it for people who are new to the bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Page Bible Handbook, 24 Aug 2002
By 
natural tan (Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bible Book (Hardcover)
A most helpful and interestingly laid out bible handbook. Informative without being over-bearing. It is amazingly fresh, makes the Bible come to life. A reliable companion for House/Cell group leaders, Youth leaders or simply for personal study. If you want to know more about the Bible, this would be the place to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY WELL THOUGHT OUT AND INTERESTING APPROACH TO THE BIBLE., 6 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. A. Taylor "Arnie.T." (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bible Book: A User's Guide (Paperback)
I opened this book and said immediately that this was my kind of book and just what I needed to help me read and understand the Bible. BUT on the same order and in the same parcel I bought another Nick page book called "The Map" but was most dissapointed to find that apart from the covers both books were absolutely identical, Word for Word. Next reaction was to send one back but on second thoughts decided to give one to a friend thus helping to spread the "Good News" Either of these books is superb. Don't hesitate Buy one of them ! Well Done Nick Page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible Book, 5 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: The Bible Book: A User's Guide (Paperback)
I first came across this book whilst studying a 'children's ministry' course at Chester Universtity. What a fantastic book to have along side your Bible. It is clear at helping you understand the Bible and easy to use. I highly reccomend this book to anyone reading the Bible either new or experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible Book, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Bible Book: A User's Guide (Paperback)
This an excellent book for those wanting more information about people and places. I go to a bible group and it helps me to understand if I know the background of our study. Also has very interesting facts and figures, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More stars needed!, 4 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: The Bible Book: A User's Guide (Paperback)
Nick Page is laugh out loud funny. Not just "for a Christian", but for a human man. There's something almost Blackaderr-y about some of the bits of this book, in terms of sense of humour. It's such an interesting, knowledgable, humble, funny examination of the bible, that you'll find yourself looking forward to reading it. As in, curling up in bed of an evening, possibly early, just so you can read it. It's in bite-size chunks, with "Tricky Bits" explained honestly and without condescension; "Questions, Questions" where the author has brief - invariably hilarious - conversations with someone annoying who asks the questions *we* would ask; maps taking you through the chapters individually, and descriptions of the people that appear in the bible. Plus loads more. Really. Loads.

If you find Christianity a trife po-faced sometimes, this will, no pun intended, utterly renew your faith. If Jesus was to read a book discussing the bible, it'd be this one, cos He was funny, and He had an awesome, very dry sense of humour, as does Mr Nick.

Intelligent, genuinely funny, and full of God's Word. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy and clear guide, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Bible Book: A User's Guide (Paperback)
This is a great guide , not over complicated and clear lay out. Very useful for that little insight into some confusing passages from the bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable insight, 10 April 2006
By 
J Grainger - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bible Book: A User's Guide (Paperback)
Page presents the message of the Bible in an informative and very readable way. He isn't shy in admitting the significant problems certain parts of the Bible present [for example, how a 'loving God' could allow the murder of men women and children of certain tribes who had fallen out of His favour.]
But he does have a go. Anyone interested in Bible study would enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A referencee book maybe not one to read all through, 10 May 2013
This review is from: The Bible Book: A User's Guide (Paperback)
Used in conjunction with 'God's most dangerous Book' both excellent for the purpose I purchased them for. Led to deeper delving into the meaning of passages in the BIBLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bible Book: A User's Guide
The Bible Book: A User's Guide by Nick Page (Paperback - 4 Aug 2008)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews