Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly standard, not bad but nothing special
This is a fairly standard Poirot novel featuring Captain Hastings as the narrator. Poirot decides to intervene when a young lady is shot at within spitting distance of his holiday accommodation.

I'm afraid that I was not particularly impressed by this one. There were probably too many characters and it seemed a lot of effort for both the reader and Poirot to...
Published on 9 Aug 2010 by J. R. Johnson-Rollings

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Accidents will happen
I don't believe most of the readers who claim they worked out 'who dunnit' in Agatha Christie's novels, but it is sometimes possible to guess the perpetrator and pick up one or two pieces of the jigsaw along the way. 'Peril At End House' is one of those novels. For me, Christie made this one just a bit too obvious, which is unlike her. It begins with a series of near-miss...
Published on 5 Oct 2010 by D. J. H. Thorn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly standard, not bad but nothing special, 9 Aug 2010
By 
J. R. Johnson-Rollings (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peril at End House (Poirot) (Paperback)
This is a fairly standard Poirot novel featuring Captain Hastings as the narrator. Poirot decides to intervene when a young lady is shot at within spitting distance of his holiday accommodation.

I'm afraid that I was not particularly impressed by this one. There were probably too many characters and it seemed a lot of effort for both the reader and Poirot to keep track. Indeed, the detective had to resort to writing down lists of the suspects several times to keep track.

While by the end of the novel everything does finally add up, it seems that the clues were rather lacking, and there was nothing there for the reader to get their teeth into to try to solve the mystery themselves. I think Christie has possibly gone a little too far with trying to out fox her audience.

Overall though its not bad for a quick read. Certainly more entertaining than a lot of what's available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid effort, 3 Oct 2012
By 
Aaron (MELTON MOWBRAY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peril at End House was a solid read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It kept me guessing as to who the evil-doer was, but that was mainly down to the author giving away so few hints as opposed to me genuinely being outmatched. However, I think the fact that so few hints were given away was a good thing. It makes it more `real life' as in the real world we are not often bombarded by the sheer stupidity of criminals. So perhaps it is best to not always have such an easy time of it in crime fiction?

Well worth a read, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot Stumbles Across a Difficult Challenge, 25 Nov 2009
This review is from: Peril at End House (Poirot) (Paperback)
This book is exactly what you come to expect from an Agatha Christie mystery, but with a change in Hercule Poirot, the famous detective and star of this mystery series. He has just retired and is slowly settling into a quiet, calm life of leisure and is refusing to be called back into duty. His mind, he thinks, is made up. However, a new mystery finds him, small and subtle at first, then shows itself to have a sinister meaning. He can't help but observe that which is right in front of him, and without meaning to, he is drawn into its web, and begins to apply his detective skills.

The great Hercule Poirot, who is known far and wide for his unmatched detective skills, can't resist asking one question, then another, then another. A perplexing and potentially deadly set of circumstances takes shape, and his concern for the wellbeing of a young woman he happens to meet, leads him to investigate. However, the motives and players behind this mystery prove themselves difficult for him to ascertain. Where he was always bursting with confidence and assuredness in his perceptions, skills, and outcomes, he is now struggling with something unfamiliar to him - a shaky self-confidence that worsens and lingering uncertainty. He finds himself bumbling about without meaning to. As events unfold, he feels powerless to stop them. His once sharp and nearly infallible intellect and investigative skills seem to be outmatched. His frustration grows and so do his mistakes, missteps, and incorrect assumptions.

With its intriguing twists and turns, Peril at End House is a very engaging and rewarding mystery tale and will be sure to please die-hard Agatha Christie fans as well as those new to the stories.

Rai Aren, co-author of Secret of the Sands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Accidents will happen, 5 Oct 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peril at End House (Poirot) (Paperback)
I don't believe most of the readers who claim they worked out 'who dunnit' in Agatha Christie's novels, but it is sometimes possible to guess the perpetrator and pick up one or two pieces of the jigsaw along the way. 'Peril At End House' is one of those novels. For me, Christie made this one just a bit too obvious, which is unlike her. It begins with a series of near-miss accidents, one of which occurs under Hercule Poirot's nose. The subsequent journey is entertaining despite the predictability of the outcome, which is as well-worked as usual. This novel, however, comes from Christie's difficult late 1920s period, when the turbulence of her first marriage came to a head and the quality of her work suffered a dip. Not too bad, but definitely no masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I really liked this book. You will have to read acouple of Agatha Christie books to even guess the ending. Good plot and lots of plot twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Sep 2003
This review is from: Peril at End House (Poirot) (Paperback)
When we were told in English to read an Agatha Christie Book, we all groaned. But the book turned out to be one of the best I've EVER read.
The plot twists and turns and leads you to your final conclusion...... to find that it's wrong!
Are all of Mrs Christies Books like this?
I certainly hope so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Peril at chapter one, 26 Oct 2013
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peril at End House (Poirot) (Paperback)
Some critics claim that Christie's characters are stock figures but they are one of my favourite things about her work. They may be recognizable types but that helps her establish her story quickly and in the case of the heroine of End House, her breezy personality contrasts nicely with Hastings and Poirot.
On the other hand, the plots can be very annoying and, if you read lots of the author's work, you spot repetitions. Here Hastings tells us a stone went whizzing past him, as if this was quite a normal thing to happen in front of a hotel. Later it turns out that despite being a military man he failed to detect it was in fact a bullet. And safe, sensible Ellen, who seemed an interesting foil for the jet-set stars of the book, hardly arrives at her cousin's home before being bumped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie - Peril at End House | Review, 22 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: Peril at End House (Poirot) (Paperback)
Miss Buckley is in trouble - first, a heavy picture fell across her bed. It could've killed her! Next, a boulder thunders past her on a cliff path. And then her brakes fail on a steep hill near End House.

But all of these 'accidents' might have passed unnoticed, if the would-be murderer hadn't struck again, missing her head with a bullet by inches. Only this time, the assassin made a mistake - Hercule Poirot was talking to his intended victim at the time, and it's enough to tempt him out of retirement.

With Peril at End House, we're back to the Agatha Christie that we know and love - the crime queen, who lost her way a bit with the Tommy and Tuppence books and the occasional romance novel under the pseudonym of Mary Westmacott.

Here, Christie is at her best, covering an intriguing crime with the typical twist, and one that will keep you guessing right until the end. A thoroughly fantastic and enjoyable Agatha Christie epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peril at End House (Poirot) (Paperback)
Very good used book, added to my collection, to be read but can be sure it will be a good read. Was left on something wet was slightly moldy but dried quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accident Prone or Victim, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hercule Poirot decides to go on holiday with his friend Hastings who is back from the Argentine for a long stay in England. Whilst there they meet charming young Nick Buckley who claims to have had no less than 3 or 4 attempts made on her life. Although on holiday Poirot's interest is soon apparent and starts giving her advice and investigates the matter himself. Poirot advises Nick to invite a trusted friend/relation to stay with her. Nick asks a cousin to come sooner than planned. Nick also holds a party and invites friends and acquaintances to join her and enjoy the fireworks. It is during that party that murder takes place and the cousin gets murdered when the intended victim appears to be Nick.

Unable to forgive himself, Poirot takes drastic action and places Nick into a nursing home and investigates matters himself with utmost determination. Is Nick still safe?

Very good book and easy to read. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa80c09cc)

This product

Peril at End House (Poirot)
Peril at End House (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 15 Oct 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews