Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST
After reading many of Agatha's books before, i was expecting this to be just as enthralling. But as the first book she ever wrote, i found it to be the best i have ever read. Meticulous Hercule Poirot is at his finest along with sidekick Hastings and the plots and twists of the book are simply brilliant; Christie is a genius. The only downside to the book is the...
Published on 16 Dec 2002 by t_w_quartz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Introducing Poirot
Any Poirot fan will love this if only because it's the world's first glimpse of the Belgian hero. I was quite surprised at how 'complete' he is - I expected to find him rather different from the character he grew into but, no, he's pretty much all there, right from the start. Hastings is here too and it's nice to see how their partnership came about. Poirot is a refugee...
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by daisyrock


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST, 16 Dec 2002
This review is from: The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Poirot) (Paperback)
After reading many of Agatha's books before, i was expecting this to be just as enthralling. But as the first book she ever wrote, i found it to be the best i have ever read. Meticulous Hercule Poirot is at his finest along with sidekick Hastings and the plots and twists of the book are simply brilliant; Christie is a genius. The only downside to the book is the slightly slow beginning but after the first few chapters i guarantee you won't be able to put it down! I gave it to my mum to read and she's been hooked on Agatha Christie ever since! A good read for young and old fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best and my favourite, 27 Nov 2007
Collins have done a good job of sourcing the original jacket for this, only the family could supply a photo of the first British edition of this book design, as well as my own research from my own book the Companion. It is the first and I think the best novel Christie wrote introducing her detective Hercule Poirot and Hastings in their first mystery together in 1920, the death of wealthy new ly married Mrs Inglethorpe at Styles Court. A classic case of poisoning but can you guess who did it? This is the nearest that anyone will get to owning an edition the is the first edition of the first book ever published, and beautiful it is too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opens the Golden Age of Detective Fiction., 25 Sep 2003
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Poirot) (Paperback)
Thirty-year old Mrs Agatha Christie turned a nice little profit with this, her first book, in 1920. It introduced Hercule Poirot. Wisely, she gave him many flamboyant, eccentric characteristics to leaven the depiction of detection work, but unwisely she created a character of advanced age that she subsequently needed to preserve for a further fifty years.
What became the regular Christie recipe for a whodunit is found here. Perhaps there is a tad more reliance on the dispensing of medicines, reflecting the author's occupation during World War One. A formula that she later discarded was the use of a narrator - Hastings - who presents one of the "cases" on his friend Poirot. 1920 and the publication of this book marked the opening of the "Golden Age of Detective Fiction". Expect that there are plenty of servants, plenty of drinks at bedtime, much making and re-making of wills, and characters - including Poirot - who walk everywhere.
This rates highly in the Christie collection for classic charm, readability and ingenuity. Few of her books from the 1920s excel it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Introducing Poirot, 6 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Poirot) (Paperback)
Any Poirot fan will love this if only because it's the world's first glimpse of the Belgian hero. I was quite surprised at how 'complete' he is - I expected to find him rather different from the character he grew into but, no, he's pretty much all there, right from the start. Hastings is here too and it's nice to see how their partnership came about. Poirot is a refugee from Belgium during the first world war while Hastings is the guest of an army buddy and a poisoning takes place during his stay. Bad timing bad guys!

Christie uses all her devices and tricks from the off - mistaken identity, tangled love affairs, coincidences, secret alliances and red herrings galore. It's a nostalgic, cosy read and - as with all Christie - you have to take the antiquated opinions of some of the characters with a pinch of salt as products of their era. For me, not Christie's best, but a great start to a fabulously fun series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Poirot's first appearance, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book featuring Hercule Poirot and very good it is too. Hastings is invited to stay in the country with his friend John and is pleased to discover Poirot staying nearby. John's step-mother is murdered and Hastings suggests that Poirot should investigate. There are plenty of suspects and more than enough motives and the twists and turns in the plot will keep even the most observant reader guessing until almost the last page.

I liked the characters and the dialogue and there are plenty of clues and red herrings to divert suspicion. I'm never sure whether I like Poirot himself but I did enjoy this story which is probably one of the best examples of the classic detective novel. There is no violence or graphic descriptions of battered corpses. The victim is poisoned and the plot hinges on who could have obtained the poison and who had the opportunity and motive to administer the poison.

If you have not read any of Agatha Christie's plentiful output then this book - her first published - would be a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Left me wanting more!, 10 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Poirot) (Paperback)
I chose this book as it was the first in the series and an introduction to Hercule Poirot. I was not disappointed. The plot kept me guessing, the characters were interesting and well portrayed - particularly Hastings - and it left me wanting to read more of Poirot. I've since read two more books in this series and recommend this as a starting point. You will want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant debut, 1 April 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Agatha Christie's first novel, written in 1916 during World War 1, set the pattern for many of her classic books - it is told in the first person by Hastings, set in a large, isolated country manor, has half-dozen suspects, most hiding secrets from their past, and the plot teases us with surprise twists and red herrings. It met with critical acclaim for its ingenuity and plotting and for Christie's knowledge of drugs.
Hercule Poirot, Inspector Japp, and Arthur Hastings are all introduced in this book. Poirot is a Belgian refugee who, helped by Emily Cavendish, sets up home near her, in England. Hastings, an old friend, arrives as her guest. When she is murdered, Poirot demonstrates that he is a skilled detective by solving the mystery. The main suspect is her new and much-younger husband, Alfred Inglethorpe, but it emerges that the evidence against him is contrived. He is, it seems, hated by Evelyn Howard, Emily's paid companion and disliked and mistrusted by her children and the rest of the household. Who would fabricate evidence against him?
This was widely recognised as a very good first novel and, of course, Agatha Christie went on to a sixty year career as a detective story writer. She wasn't the world's greatest literary writer but her plots and her two famous detectives, Poirot and Miss Marple, kept people hungry for more. Her books translate very well to the screen, showing how strongly structured her stories are and how good her characterisation. To be absolutely honest, I prefer the television adaptations of her books to the books themselves, which may just prove that I am a Philistine. However, this is a very good detective novel for its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious Affair at Styles, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book Agatha Christie wrote and which we see Poirot. Set during the first world war, Hastings is inujured and ordered to recuperate. At the hospital where he is recovering, he meets John Cavendish a friend of his and is asked to stay with him at his home. During his stay there, Emily Inglethorpe is murdered and Hastings asks John if he can involve his friend Poirot who is staying in the village as a refugee.

Between Hastings and Poirot they set to business investigating "The Mysterious Affair at Styles".

A very good book and easy to read. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot's first case, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Mysterious Affair at Styles is the first of Agatha Christie's popular Poirot novels. Set during the First World War, Lieutenant Hastings is sent home while recovering from an injury at the front and accepts an invitiation from an old friend to spend his leave at their country house. While there he meets up with a friend from Belgium who is in exile in Britain, a certain Monsiuer Poirot, and when the matriarch of the family is murdered, he enlists his old friend's help to solve the case.
This audio CD is read by Hugh Fraser (Captain Hastings) who has a wonderfully rich and smooth voice. He makes an excellent narrator, capable of delivering a multitiude of different voices and accents, including a credible version of Poirot himself.
I found this a highly enjoyable listen, and recommend it. The product and delivery were both up to Amazon's usual high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling start to the Poirot series, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Aaron (MELTON MOWBRAY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first of Poirot's major cases and the first I read (reading them all in order due to having finished every Sherlock Holmes tale put out by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and needing a good substitute). As one would expect from a debut novel, the author had to set the scene and introduce characters. After the opening chapter, which is understandably slow due to the aforementioned scene-setting, the book is a non-stop page turner. I can honestly say I was hooked until the very end.

I only hope the rest of them will turn out to be so good.

If you are debating whether or not to buy it, just take a dive into the pool that is Agatha Christie's Poirot and be thankful you took the leap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Poirot)
The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Poirot) by Agatha Christie (Paperback - 3 Sep 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews