Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massively entertaining
How many Tory MPs would seriously be able to produce a book of their expereinces trying to get elected? More to the point, how many Tory MPs would be able to do it, and then get the public to sit down and read it?
Boris Johnson is such a marvellous character. After his many appearances on TV, bumbling his way through whatever is thrown at him, people inevitably...
Published on 22 Jan 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Certainly a good insight, but don't expect his usual TV buffoonery
I wasn't sure what to expect when reading this. One part of me was expecting (possibly hoping)for a laugh a minute ride, in the articulate and also baffling way that that Johnson uses the language. However what i found was a far more direct account of his journey to Westminster, the rigours of the campaign trail and ultimate victory. While there is certainly comic relief,...
Published 21 months ago by Dave Seabass


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massively entertaining, 22 Jan 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friends, Voters, Countrymen (Paperback)
How many Tory MPs would seriously be able to produce a book of their expereinces trying to get elected? More to the point, how many Tory MPs would be able to do it, and then get the public to sit down and read it?
Boris Johnson is such a marvellous character. After his many appearances on TV, bumbling his way through whatever is thrown at him, people inevitably fall for his bizarre charm. Fortunately, "Friends Voters Countrymen" has all the hallmarks of classic Boris. Unafraid to relate stories that depict him as a buffoon, Boris manages to steer between humourous anecdotes and political argument with ease. Whether you agree with his politics or not, you can't deny that he has a fascinating and entertaining way of putting his point across.
The stories of his various gaffes are priceless, as are his explanations of the logic behind his eccentrcities. In the ends, you just can't help warming to the man, something that few politicians have ever managed before.
Unlike the later book, "Lend Me Your Ears", this has a very informal style and is highly accessible. If you have ever been captivated by Boris's brilliantly bizarre on TV and wondered what goes on in the mind of this wonderfully eccentric character, this is definitely the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's just a soul whose intentions are good ...., 3 Nov 2004
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friends, Voters, Countrymen (Paperback)
Oh Lord, please don't let him be misunderstood. Poor old Boris. He's an honest and straight-forward sort of chap - just says what he thinks and never mind the consequences. What consequences? The consequences that never seem to occur to him until it's pointed out to him that he's put his foot in it again. He's just a simple, harmless graduate of the Bertie Wooster Academy of Bumbling Buffoonery. That's how the Millwall supporters come to be armed with the ostensibly innocuous chant: "There's only one Boris Johnson" with which to taunt Liverpool supporters. You may not know what the Millwall supporters are getting at but you know Boris must have made another inadvertent gaff and somehow managed to alienate, in all probability, the entire population of Liverpool. Oh dear.
Here's a book about his campaign to be the Conservative MP for Henley, that will provide a few insights and perhaps persuade some doubters that Boris is really quite a charming and amiable sort. After all, just think how unpopular you or any of us would be if we didn't censor some the things we think before blurting them out in public. That seems to be Boris's main problem. He must imagine that everybody shares his sense of humour. Clearly he's mistaken. I think he's very funny but a lot of people think he's offensive. Here's an example from the book: He was completely put off his stroke "by some Luddite barracking from the member for Glasgow Pollock. In case you can't place him, he is almost totally bald, giving him a curiously buttock-headed appearance". Very funny. He's managed to outrage a lot of bald people and their wives, children and friends. Did it occur to him that a fair number of his constituents - the people who voted for him might fail to see the humour in that remark? Of course not. And in any case he can't resist trying to be funny. He's just a big kid really. I can't help liking him - but then he hasn't managed to insult me .... yet.
I recommend this book, but only to those who share Boris's sense of humour. It's an easy read. I learned some interesting things about political campaigning and what it's like to be an MP. I have the impression that you have to be hard or mad to harbour any such ambition. I read most of the book with a smile on my face, even though I don't agree with him on a lot of issues. If you already dislike his style and don't appreciate his sense of humour be warned, this is more of the same: classic Boris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun! - even if you're not a Tory!, 2 April 2007
By 
Molyneux (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friends, Voters, Countrymen (Paperback)
This isn't the kind of book I'd normally read - but it was passed to me at a BookCrossing meet in Shropshire. Naturally I couldn't resist, and had to bring it back with me to Oxfordshire!

I loved it! It is so funny...and probably loved it all the more because I knew the places he mentioned and even some of the people in Henley on Thames where he won his seat.

Read it even if you disagree with his politics - it's such an enjoyable read, I was laughing out loud on the train!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ... And I don't even like the Tories., 5 May 2003
By 
M. Walker (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends, Voters, Countrymen (Paperback)
I have never voted Conservative and never thought I was likely to, but I find Boris Johnson so affable and lovable and quirky and relatively humane, and so funny and passionate and relatively sensible, that if I am not careful I may reconsider my lifetime's animosity to the Blue team... Fascinating and engrossing stuff. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 29 Oct 2001
By 
S. A. Richmond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most people think of Boris Johnson as being a rather wacky kind of figure, often coming across as being rather aloof on TV. However, when you read his articles in the Telegraph, it is obvious that the man speaks a lot of sense. His book is humorous and serious at the same time. His political arguments for the NHS and education are sound, and his excellent description of the campaigning process is wonderful. His self deprecating style adds immensely to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly electable, 13 April 2004
This review is from: Friends, Voters, Countrymen (Paperback)
Boris has created an insightful book which explores all aspects of a typical election campaign. His re-collection of it is both detailed and entertaining, which left one with an increased awareness and enthusiasm for the British electoral campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love you Boris, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends, Voters, Countrymen (Paperback)
I can thoroughly recommend this book. Boris never fails to entertain and amuse. Indeed, the same can be said for all his other offerings. I only discovered that he was a published author quite recently and now I have bought all his books. What a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BORIS JOHNSON, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends, Voters, Countrymen (Paperback)
Good read, full of humour but also insight into the electioneering world.

Well written and easy reading.

A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Certainly a good insight, but don't expect his usual TV buffoonery, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends, Voters, Countrymen (Paperback)
I wasn't sure what to expect when reading this. One part of me was expecting (possibly hoping)for a laugh a minute ride, in the articulate and also baffling way that that Johnson uses the language. However what i found was a far more direct account of his journey to Westminster, the rigours of the campaign trail and ultimate victory. While there is certainly comic relief, i wouldn't say it was laugh out loud. What you do get is a far more in depth and possibly sincere insight in Boris' views on British politics, the needs of his constituents and how Britain as a country needs to change. Certainly an excellent read that gives a good insight into one of Britain's leading political lights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boris the Pundit!, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. GE Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends, Voters, Countrymen (Paperback)
This man is hilariously clever! I love this book! I'm amazed! Boris for Prime Minister!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x1173da38)

This product

Friends, Voters, Countrymen
Friends, Voters, Countrymen by Boris Johnson (Paperback - 17 Jun 2002)
10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews