Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows you how things could and should be....
thought this was an excellent book. As with the others in this series it's a bit American but despite that contains some good stuff.
The main thing I got from the book is a sight of how things should be in terms of an effectively delegated workload. Then that is sufficiently motivating that you can pick up some of the techniques and systems that are suggested to...
Published on 7 Mar 2005 by Kevin Roberts

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An over-worked analogy
As a fan of Blanchard's work, particularly 'The one minute manager' I looked forward with great expectation to reading this book. However, despite a strong opening section, the book quickly fizzled out into an over-worked analogy that ran out of steam after about seventy pages of a one hundred and thirty page book.
In essence, the ideas expressed in the work are...
Published on 30 May 2000 by Tom Carroll


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows you how things could and should be...., 7 Mar 2005
This review is from: The One Minute Manager Meets the Monkey (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
thought this was an excellent book. As with the others in this series it's a bit American but despite that contains some good stuff.
The main thing I got from the book is a sight of how things should be in terms of an effectively delegated workload. Then that is sufficiently motivating that you can pick up some of the techniques and systems that are suggested to start working towards that. I don't think there is any overnight fix to this kind of thing, which is why the mix of pragmatic stuff to do today and the vision of how things should be is a powerful mix.
Any book you can read in a quick burst and contains one or two thought provoking and applicable ideas has got to be good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open Up Initiative Throughout the Organization!, 13 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The One Minute Manager Meets the Monkey (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
This book does a great job of helping people focus on their own work.
Many people in an organization focus on managing the boss rather than doing their own job. What better way to manage the boss than to constantly seek her/his guidance on everything? Then, the boss can be flattered that you want his/her help, and will also take the blame if anything goes wrong. Insecure bosses like to be involved, so that fewer "errors" occur.
This wonderful book points out that no one can learn without making errors. Also, if you and your subordinate are doing the same job, one of you is superfluous. A common source of stalled thinking in this area is focusing on the fact that you, as manager, can do the job better and faster than you can teach the task or job to someone. What managers fail to realize is that someone closer to the source of the problem should be able to come up with a better solution. Also, the time taken to teach someone else to do the task is usually much less over a year or two than the time taken to help someone learn the task.
The key problem is that we all like to fall back on doing what we are comfortable with and are good at rather than new challenges where we are not so competent. Banish that feeling!
This book gives you lots of practical ideas for how to respond to efforts by your subordinates and colleagues to delegate their work and responsibility to you. You will learn how to see them coming and to keep the monkey where it belongs: with them.
If you find that you are pressed for time, this book is an important source of ideas to free up your life to have less stress while you and your organization both accomplish more.
Good luck with taking care of your monkey business! It's an important step toward developing an irresistible growth enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have read. And, reread, and reread., 10 July 1998
By A Customer
Not just for managers! Read this if you're managed. Read this if you're a parent. Easy-to-read, quick read. Get this book. I gave a copy to my pastor, and he bought copies for the elders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cut other peoples Monkeys free and regain control, 28 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The One Minute Manager Meets the Monkey (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
Ken Blanchard, Hal Burrows and the late William Oncken define the problem of picking up other peoples Monkeys. The little problems that effectively stop you from performing at your optimum efficency.
Learn the four simple rules from the One Minute Manager to pass these Monkeys back to the approriate keeper and reduce the burden on yourself.
This is great follow on in the classic One Minute Manager series and is to be well recommended to anyone who who finds themself burdoned down with other peoples problems. Regain control. Cut the Monkeys free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I survive without this book?, 10 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: The One Minute Manager Meets the Monkey (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
To say this book accurately reflects the common delegation and mgmt pitfalls that I and most new managers fall into is an understatement.

I read this book at the weekend, and for the first time in weeks i'm actually enjoying being in work.

A "MUST READ" for any manager who's feeling their quality life is being wrecked by too much work.

This book may well just save my sanity :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple idea-make the people you manage do their work, 23 Oct 2000
By A Customer
I'd forgotten that I still had this book, which has been around for 10 years or so. What rang true for me was after the first chapter I realised I was carrying many of my staff's monkeys, and thereby preventing them from realising their own potential. A simple idea which is easy to apply straight away..I'm lending it to or buying it for all my managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open Up Initiative Throughout the Organization!, 13 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This book does a great job of helping people focus on their own work.
Many people in an organization focus on managing the boss rather than doing their own job. What better way to manage the boss than to constantly seek her/his guidance on everything? Then, the boss can be flattered that you want his/her help, and will also take the blame if anything goes wrong. Insecure bosses like to be involved, so that fewer "errors" occur.
This wonderful book points out that no one can learn without making errors. Also, if you and your subordinate are doing the same job, one of you is superfluous. A common source of stalled thinking in this area is focusing on the fact that you, as manager, can do the job better and faster than you can teach the task or job to someone. What managers fail to realize is that someone closer to the source of the problem should be able to come up with a better solution. Also, the time taken to teach someone else to do the task is usually much less over a year or two than the time taken to help someone learn the task.
The key problem is that we all like to fall back on doing what we are comfortable with and are good at rather than new challenges where we are not so competent. Banish that feeling!
This book gives you lots of practical ideas for how to respond to efforts by your subordinates and colleagues to delegate their work and responsibility to you. You will learn how to see them coming and to keep the monkey where it belongs: with them.
If you find that you are pressed for time, this book is an important source of ideas to free up your life to have less stress while you and your organization both accomplish more.
Good luck with taking care of your monkey business! It's an important step toward developing an irresistible growth enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book in the great 'One Minute Manager' range, 5 April 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This range of books is ideal for busy executives and managers. They are always easy to read with simple, but effective advice and tools. All good common sense, but sometimes we need reminding! This book looks at effectively dealing with problems - and making sure you don't take on whole load of problems from other people. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be more effective, 21 Mar 2006
This review is from: The One Minute Manager Meets the Monkey (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
This was my first read of The One Minute series.

I have also read some other books about time management, and I have to agree with the author that this book is somewhat different.

All the other books tell you how to make the same things but faster - in less time. But, if you are already doing wrong things, the increase of speed will only make you do more wrong things.

Basically, you can easily increase your efficiency, but if your effectiveness remains low, time problems will not go way. For me this was the main message of this book.

The book tells a story, so is a very easy read, and very enjoyable one to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An over-worked analogy, 30 May 2000
By 
Tom Carroll (St Helens England) - See all my reviews
As a fan of Blanchard's work, particularly 'The one minute manager' I looked forward with great expectation to reading this book. However, despite a strong opening section, the book quickly fizzled out into an over-worked analogy that ran out of steam after about seventy pages of a one hundred and thirty page book.
In essence, the ideas expressed in the work are sound and of great use, but the 'monkey on the back' analogy went from being amusing to tired to downright irritating by about page 90.
Worth the read for the good bits, but would have made for better reading had it been about fifty pages shorter in length. Still I found enough to be of use to the people I advise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The One Minute Manager Meets the Monkey (The One Minute Manager)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews