Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2002
As with Jude Fisher's first visual companion (to The Fellowship of the Rings), the photographs in this book are stunning. The new places to which the Fellowship travel are shown and new characters are introduced. But don't fear, there is plenty to see and read about Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin, Legolas, Aragorn and Gimli; plus, of course, Gandalf the White!
The book starts with a reminder of what happened in the first film, and then shows some of what awaits the Fellowship as they travel their separate ways. It gives good detail without giving away the plot of the film and so can be read before you see the film, or as a reminder of some of the 'good bits' after you have seen the film. The still from the film of the seige at Helm's Deep at the end of the book is extremely stunning. The page then opens out to show an illustration of the battle-plan, helping to visualise what happens when, where and by whom.
I found it a very good guide; with reference to the original Tolkein text as well as quotes from the film. Fans of the film will love it.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 September 2003
In the same way that the book does not substitute for the movie, the movie cannot substitute for this “Visual Companion.” The book helps enhance and explain what the movie has no time for and would take time to extract from the original lengthy book.
The most striking part of this companion is the photographs especially two of them. The first is of the Ent; it is so much fuller than you remember from the movie and could almost be a portrait over your fireplace. Looking at the Ent’s translucent eyes and plant like whiskers you would think this is what “The Green Man” should look like. The second striking picture is the two page conflict between Gandalf and the Balrog (read, orange and yellow with a black background.) To add to these pictures is a full 4 page fold out of the highlights of Middle-Earth.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
Bursting with information, the adventure as it stands and continues on its way from where it left off in "The Fellowship Of The Ring" Visual Companion, "The Two Towers" Visual Companion is a fantastic addition to my ever growing collection of books on "The Hobbit" and "The Lord Of The Rings". It contains a masterful foreword by Viggo Mortensen, that great Scandinavian actor who plays Aragorn, son of Arathorn, a highly detailed map of the Battle of Helm's Deep, and plenty of character biographies, including two on two of my all time favourite characters who I think were made for each other; Eowyn, daughter of Eomund and Theodwyn and Faramir, son of Denethor and Finduilas. Grima Wormtongue, who appears to be pursuing Eowyn is a brilliant example of a man made nasty by the corrupting influence of the wizard Saruman. Naturally there has to be an introduction to an example of the evil work of the One Ring, which is Saruman's chief interest, and that of course is Gollum; he is most definitely one of the best pieces of character animation in film production ever, and indeed the most disturbing I have ever seen; he is so lifelike, and although made by GGI, perhaps the most interesting character in the entire film trilogy as a whole. Coupled with beautiful photography, memorable phrases from the films, one of them half in Rohirric and the other half in Elvish, and a little bit about the author, Jude Fisher, this book is one that I can just devour page by page and into which I can escape without ever having to leave the armchair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 March 2004
The Two Towers visual companion is more something for a fan or collector of Lord of the Rings stuff, both of which I am. Is is not essential to own to know the plot of the story, but it is useful in refreshing your memory, and also giving a basic outline to the plot. The photographs are wonderful. A must for any fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
I brought this thinking it would be like a normal hardback book, but it is actually quite big, and comes with a poster of Saruman facing the crowd of his army, that are about to invade the valley where Helms deep is! Poster is about A3 in size and is quite nice too! Only bad thing I can think about the poster is coming out of the book, it has a crease going across and down the middle. Not too noticeable and I suppose it would have that coming out of a hard back book! Overall I'm very happy with it and would recommend it to anyone that likes the movies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I think these would be great companions for children but they are very basic and don't contain much information at all. Probably worth buying if you're a fan of LotR and want mementos from the films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
A really brilliant book - it is really well presented and written - an excellent addition to the film - recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
A must for the Tolkien fanatic - or for any lover of hobbits. Really a collector's item for the fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
good book, easy to understand version of story with lovely pictures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2003
if you're a fan of the movie, you simply must have the visual companions! full of helpful photos and interesting information, you can step deeper into the masterpiece which is Lord of the Rings!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse