Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a visual companion
As with Jude Fisher's first visual companion (to The Fellowship of the Rings), the photographs in this book are stunning. The new places to which the Fellowship travel are shown and new characters are introduced. But don't fear, there is plenty to see and read about Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin, Legolas, Aragorn and Gimli; plus, of course, Gandalf the White!
The book...
Published on 1 Dec 2002 by Rosebee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading
I think these would be great companions for children but they are very basic and don't contain much information at all. Probably worth buying if you're a fan of LotR and want mementos from the films.
Published 10 months ago by Noomie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a visual companion, 1 Dec 2002
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion (Hardcover)
As with Jude Fisher's first visual companion (to The Fellowship of the Rings), the photographs in this book are stunning. The new places to which the Fellowship travel are shown and new characters are introduced. But don't fear, there is plenty to see and read about Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin, Legolas, Aragorn and Gimli; plus, of course, Gandalf the White!
The book starts with a reminder of what happened in the first film, and then shows some of what awaits the Fellowship as they travel their separate ways. It gives good detail without giving away the plot of the film and so can be read before you see the film, or as a reminder of some of the 'good bits' after you have seen the film. The still from the film of the seige at Helm's Deep at the end of the book is extremely stunning. The page then opens out to show an illustration of the battle-plan, helping to visualise what happens when, where and by whom.
I found it a very good guide; with reference to the original Tolkein text as well as quotes from the film. Fans of the film will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Striking stills make good visual companion, 19 Sep 2003
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In the same way that the book does not substitute for the movie, the movie cannot substitute for this “Visual Companion.” The book helps enhance and explain what the movie has no time for and would take time to extract from the original lengthy book.
The most striking part of this companion is the photographs especially two of them. The first is of the Ent; it is so much fuller than you remember from the movie and could almost be a portrait over your fireplace. Looking at the Ent’s translucent eyes and plant like whiskers you would think this is what “The Green Man” should look like. The second striking picture is the two page conflict between Gandalf and the Balrog (read, orange and yellow with a black background.) To add to these pictures is a full 4 page fold out of the highlights of Middle-Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story - simply told., 15 Mar 2004
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Two Towers visual companion is more something for a fan or collector of Lord of the Rings stuff, both of which I am. Is is not essential to own to know the plot of the story, but it is useful in refreshing your memory, and also giving a basic outline to the plot. The photographs are wonderful. A must for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion (Hardcover)
A really brilliant book - it is really well presented and written - an excellent addition to the film - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger than I thought it would be!, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion (Hardcover)
I brought this thinking it would be like a normal hardback book, but it is actually quite big, and comes with a poster of Saruman facing the crowd of his army, that are about to invade the valley where Helms deep is! Poster is about A3 in size and is quite nice too! Only bad thing I can think about the poster is coming out of the book, it has a crease going across and down the middle. Not too noticeable and I suppose it would have that coming out of a hard back book! Overall I'm very happy with it and would recommend it to anyone that likes the movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hobbitomania, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion (Hardcover)
A must for the Tolkien fanatic - or for any lover of hobbits. Really a collector's item for the fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion (Hardcover)
I think these would be great companions for children but they are very basic and don't contain much information at all. Probably worth buying if you're a fan of LotR and want mementos from the films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant sequel to its predecessor, full of backstory and quotes from the film, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion (Hardcover)
Bursting with information, the adventure as it stands and continues on its way from where it left off in "The Fellowship Of The Ring" Visual Companion, "The Two Towers" Visual Companion is a fantastic addition to my ever growing collection of books on "The Hobbit" and "The Lord Of The Rings". It contains a masterful foreword by Viggo Mortensen, that great Scandinavian actor who plays Aragorn, son of Arathorn, a highly detailed map of the Battle of Helm's Deep, and plenty of character biographies, including two on two of my all time favourite characters who I think were made for each other; Eowyn, daughter of Eomund and Theodwyn and Faramir, son of Denethor and Finduilas. I just wish there was more on Eowyn, I think she's brilliant, also as she is worthy of a handsome man like Faramir rather than Saruman's ugly servant Grima Wormtongue. Naturally there has to be an introduction to an example of the evil work of the One Ring, and that of course is Gollum; I look forward to his appearance in "The Hobbit" as he is most definitely one of the best pieces of character animation in film production ever, and indeed the most disturbing I have ever seen; he is so lifelike, and although made by GGI, perhaps the most interesting character in the entire film trilogy as a whole. I can now say that he is absolutely brilliant after having seen the first part of "The Hobbit". Coupled with beautiful photography, memorable phrases from the films, one of them half in Rohirric and the other half in Elvish, and a little bit about the author, Jude Fisher, this book is one that I can just devour page by page and into which I can escape without ever having to leave the armchair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have, 14 Sep 2003
By 
Ms. R. E. Gibson "Roo" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion (Hardcover)
if you're a fan of the movie, you simply must have the visual companions! full of helpful photos and interesting information, you can step deeper into the masterpiece which is Lord of the Rings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 29 Jun 2003
By 
Ms. R. E. Gibson "Roo" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you love the movie, you simply just have to have this guide. You learn more about the characters and story, I will never give mine up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Visual Companion by Jude Fisher (Hardcover - 6 Nov 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews