Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of impressive scholarship and adventure
The empire of Tamerlane stands alongside that of Alexander the Great and Genghis Khan as the greatest conquests by one ruler. Together with Genghis and perhaps Ivan the Terrible, Tamerlane is also one of the great butchers of history before the twentieth century.

However, beyond the rarely staged play by Marlow, Tamer's place in history had been largely...
Published on 24 Sep 2006 by Pirlo

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but irritating
An interesting subject but, in my opinion, a very irritating book to read. As mentioned by another reviewer, it keeps shooting off at what seem, at times, totally irrelevant tangents, i.e. Marlowe's "Tamburlaine" up to and including a recent London production, interesting perhaps but one tends to lose the thread of the narrative. The "travel" sections were also...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Valerie David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tamerlane, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World (Paperback)
A brilliant piece of history about a great conqueror few seem to know much about.The book covers relevant history of the period really well and gives excellent accounts of the current situation. One of the best history books I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World, 20 Dec 2009
By 
Lydia Everitt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World (Paperback)
Absulutely fascinating story and a great insight into Central Asia, bringing it to life. Well written and a fairly fluid read, logical and insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks!, 16 Jan 2012
This review is from: Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World (Paperback)
Thank you for ppl who put contribution for coming out this book. Really very interesting regarding of history of Amir Timur! I started read this book and found a lot of interesting things of history which we have to know nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excitng and entertaining. Brilliant book!, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World (Paperback)
A very good read. The information is brilliant. Justin Marozzi is a superb writer. Very informative. Read it twice will read again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World (Paperback)
Great thanks, seller highly recommeded! A present to someone who is very interested in historical figures...A good addition to the lot he already has. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too good a character for such a boring book, 10 Aug 2008
By 
L. Pasta (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World (Paperback)
I didn't knew the history of Amir Temur before reading this book and I am grateful that it introduced such an interesting historical character to me, this is the reason for the 2 stars I'm giving.
Unfortunately, the never-endings architectural descriptions of dozens of minarets, domes and squares, together with extensive quotes of contemporaneous authors and an overall lack of inspiration turned this to be one of the worst books I have ever read.
I honestly recommend everyone to read about Temur life but, for god sake, do it with other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World
Tamerlane: Sword of Islam, Conqueror of the World by Justin Marozzi (Paperback - 3 Oct 2005)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews