Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achingly Beautiful
It's not often that it happens, but I read this book from cover to cover in one sitting - one long emotional sitting. This award-winning book is magnificently crafted, wholly original and incredibly moving.
It is written in the first person as entries in the same diary by two brothers - Marius, the 14 year old diary owner who died 6 months previously, and Luke, his...
Published on 30 Dec 2003 by craig_glasgow@hotmail.com

versus
1 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars READ IT (if you like to read about homosexuality)
I came across this book from a teacher. It was great. So why the three stars, i hear you ask. Well, it had a good story line, it was thought provoking and it was, on the hole, good. But what i didn't like was the bit when Marius and Luke admitt that they are both gay. It then goes on to talk about when Marius and his friend Alex, make love, which is enough to put me off...
Published on 14 Oct 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achingly Beautiful, 30 Dec 2003
This review is from: Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) (Paperback)
It's not often that it happens, but I read this book from cover to cover in one sitting - one long emotional sitting. This award-winning book is magnificently crafted, wholly original and incredibly moving.
It is written in the first person as entries in the same diary by two brothers - Marius, the 14 year old diary owner who died 6 months previously, and Luke, his grieving 16 year old brother. When their mother announces that she is going to burn all of Marius's belongs on what would have been his 15th birthday, Luke rescues the diary he had gifted his sibling and appends his own entries to make the diary his own and thus rescue it from the fire. Since Luke was helpless to save his brother's body, he finds it unbearable that he could now also lose Marius's thoughts. Luke initially only adds his own entries at the rear of the diary, but gradually he reads those that had been written by Marius. When so many of them are about his idolisation of his older brother, Luke writes replies to them, and a poignant conversation between the two boys follows - one dead, one struggling with being alive and brotherless.
What follows is an astonishingly powerful read, filled with grief, guilt and all the words unspoken before the boy's death. It is achingly beautiful. Van Leishout has crafted a work dripping with poetic language and incredible originality. Reminiscent of the autobiographical works of Paul Monette, many sentences demand to be re-read, pondered and wept over. It is heart-breaking and heaves with enormously moving prose. If the entry written by Luke about the last time he saw Marius alive doesn't draw huge rasping sobs from your throat then stop classing yourself as a human being.
Some reviewers have highlighted the gay and teen themes, but to me this extraordinary book is primarily about grief and love and is a 'must read' for absolutely anyone who loves their literature with substance, irrespective of their sexuality or age.
It richly deserves the awards and accolades showered upon it. It will stay with me for a very long time indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sensitive, moving, and empathetic read, 24 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this title. The author really seems to get into the mind of the main characters and the themes of death and homosexuality are both dealt with with sensitivity and touching accuracy. I loved the different approach of the book - a brother writing speaking to his dead sibling through a 'borrowed' diary - it worked well.
The style makes the book readable, whilst at the same time you really feel like you've gained something after reading. Maybe this should be compulsary reading in schools! This is a book I will keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Finest Book, 16 Nov 2001
This review is from: Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) (Paperback)
This Book is truly amazing.Just brought it yesterday and i'm glad i did.This book is truly touching and a great read for all teens out there who are searching for themselves.Yes the book is open about gay issues which is something our society needs now.Pretending that gay and lesbians issues are wrong is like pretending that people like do not exists at all... This book is just amazing and for teens out there who are searching for their identity i indeed recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissfully heartbreaking, 2 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) (Paperback)
Absolutely gorgeous! I read this in the bath on my day off. Suffice to say, I ended up sitting in a tepid bath, wailing like Tosca.
I've never read a more moving story. Luke's confusion, guilt, pain and deliciously dry humour made him seem so real he could have been standing beside me.
I think one of the saddest things I've ever read was the point at which Luke read the last entry in Marius' diary. And his eventual conclusion to the question 'Can you still be someone's brother if that someone no longer exists?' is one of my all-time favourite moments in literature.
Read it (not in the bath, though) and keep some tissues handy. If you don't need them you must be made of steel or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant and Moving, 22 April 2009
By 
C. Hickman (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) (Paperback)
I stumbled upon this book while browsing for literature that was related to "A Home at the End of the World," by Michael Cunningham. I had not realized initially that it was an adolescent or teen fiction read, but nevertheless, as soon as I read the brief description, I literally felt tears come to my eyes. Both my brother and I are gay so this novel had immediate personal resonance simply in its subject matter. When I first began reading, I must admit, I was a bit disillusioned; the book seemed to be far too underdeveloped in its diction and structure. However, as I began to get into the rhythm of the writing, I began to see the beautiful accessibility of such writing. It is a bittersweet story of realizing in retrospect the power of sibling love and the endless bond it forms. The death of Marius or 'Maus' is so heart-wrenchingly conveyed, I couldn't stop crying numerous times throughout the book. With its simple prose, the book reaches heights of emotional expression that are both unexpected and devastating. It is a superb find and, overall, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moving & thought provoking., 8 July 2010
By 
Martyn Smith "music junkie" (Rochester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) (Paperback)
I didn't find this book quite as amazing as some reviews suggested. Nevertheless it was a compelling read, and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears, Love and Brothers, 8 Feb 2004
This review is from: Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) (Paperback)
An absolute brilliant piece of work, kept me gripped from the beginning to the end.... A story which will reach the heart of all those who read it. i recomend this book to one an all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 21 April 2006
By 
D. holt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) (Paperback)
i was pleasantly suprised, i hadnt read a book for 3years and this was one that really makes you think and hits you hard.Beautifully written and makes you think life isn't as bad as you think.To sum it up a great read highly reccomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars READ IT (if you like to read about homosexuality), 14 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) (Paperback)
I came across this book from a teacher. It was great. So why the three stars, i hear you ask. Well, it had a good story line, it was thought provoking and it was, on the hole, good. But what i didn't like was the bit when Marius and Luke admitt that they are both gay. It then goes on to talk about when Marius and his friend Alex, make love, which is enough to put me off reading it, but i am glad to have read it, in and out of the gay bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)

This product

Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo)
Brothers. Life, death, truth (Collins Flamingo) by Ted van Lieshout (Paperback - 16 Sep 2001)
8.18
In stock but may require up to 2 additional days to deliver
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews