Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standards maintained
My previous edition in paperback was ten years old, and having been used every day, it was beginning to fall to pieces.
The new edition did not disappoint. I was particularly delighted to see that the monarchy had been elbowed, at last.
Collins dictionary, unlike the Oxford and Chambers, is not pompous.
Published on 6 Jan 2005

versus
41 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Monarchy Airbrushed from the Dictionary!
Having bought this book to replace an old Collins dictionary, I was stunned to find that the Monarchy (all Monarchy) has been omitted from this dictionary. This is such a blatant tampering with the English Language as to be breathtaking. Not only have all the kings and queens of England been omitted, but names of whole ruling dynasties, such as 'Plantagenet' are not in...
Published on 5 Dec 2004 by P. Scott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standards maintained, 6 Jan 2005
By A Customer
My previous edition in paperback was ten years old, and having been used every day, it was beginning to fall to pieces.
The new edition did not disappoint. I was particularly delighted to see that the monarchy had been elbowed, at last.
Collins dictionary, unlike the Oxford and Chambers, is not pompous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary : Complete and Unabridged (Hardcover)
Everything as promised. Jolly heavy as I expected !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary : Complete and Unabridged (Hardcover)
Well it has a lot of words in it starting with those beginning with A and going all the way through to those beginning with Z - what more can I say?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Monarchy Airbrushed from the Dictionary!, 5 Dec 2004
By 
P. Scott (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought this book to replace an old Collins dictionary, I was stunned to find that the Monarchy (all Monarchy) has been omitted from this dictionary. This is such a blatant tampering with the English Language as to be breathtaking. Not only have all the kings and queens of England been omitted, but names of whole ruling dynasties, such as 'Plantagenet' are not in there. The only meaning given for the word 'Tudor' is 'a style of architecture'. I'm outraged and will never buy another Collins book again. The Thesaurus is similarly edited, with lists of everything imaginable, including American Presidents, except for the British monarchy. I'm outraged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing original from Collin, 6 Sep 2004
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary : Complete and Unabridged (Hardcover)
With this new dictionary, Collin hasn't made any vast changes to the old format. Aardvark still comes first and the ending is still, predictably enough, Zulu. Those who were hoping for a twist in the tale will be disappointed. As a story, however, this dictionary doesn't work any better than the previous attempts. True, it has lots of words, like all the best novels, but putting them in alphabetical order was perhaps not the best idea for producing an exciting action packed adventure. There was a bit part way through involving a metronome and a metropolis that was rather exciting, but apart from that, the dictionary is rather a bland affair.
I don't know if any of you are like me, but I'm being to find the old alphabetical format a bit predictable now, and if anything, Collin has made this worse by adding a contents page. For those readers hoping for something exciting and new, I'm afraid they'll be disappointed - this dictionary sticks strictly to the original format, with no new slants to it.
One thing that is missing, however, is an author biography. I for one am quite interested to find out a bit more about this mysterious Collin, where he was born, his childhood, and his education, but this is left to the reader's imagination.
Some people have criticised Collin's previous works, saying that they were "boring" but I find this a bit unfair. There are some shockingly good definitions, and I'd like to quote a few of my favourites that have stuck in my mind:
"Poster: a large sheet of paper announcing or advertising something for display in a public place (from post)." It is a "noun", and the plural is "posters".
Another sparkling definition is swipe: "1. Hit hard 2. (Informal) steal something." Swipe is, unlike poster a "verb".
Perhaps my own favourite definition can be found, memorably halfway down page 288. "Fudge: a soft sugary sweet. (Origin unknown)". It is also a "noun".
If that doesn't persuade you to give it a look, I don't know what will. Maybe there won't be enough changes for people who bought the previous edition, but for people who haven't read a dictionary before, this is definitely worth a read. And collectors, too, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dictionary's a dictionary, 6 July 2005
By 
M. Millar "M Millar" (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins English Dictionary : Complete and Unabridged (Hardcover)
I think a dictionary's a dictionary, but this edition does have lots of new words, and a nice cover. What more do you want?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins English Dictionary : Complete and Unabridged
Collins English Dictionary : Complete and Unabridged by Collins (Hardcover - 7 July 2003)
Used & New from: £1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews