Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still too difficult for me
There are a number of guides on how to solve cryptic crosswords out there, and this book is the most advanced of all of them. It is engagingly written and provides plenty of illustrations.
I do however have a number of quibbles that prevent me from giving it a whole-hearted recommendation. First, I found it difficult to navigate through the different types of clues...
Published on 21 Sept. 2001

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too little, too complicated
This book was a great disappointment. It is only a slim volume (136 pages) the early pages are spent in a meander around crossword history - I bought the book to learn how to do "The Times crossword". The explanation of cryptic clues is fairly disorganised and skimpy and the solutions to the examples(as noted in an earlier review) are almost incomprehensible being...
Published on 18 Feb. 2004 by Partisan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too little, too complicated, 18 Feb. 2004
By 
Partisan (West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Times How to do The Times Crossword (Paperback)
This book was a great disappointment. It is only a slim volume (136 pages) the early pages are spent in a meander around crossword history - I bought the book to learn how to do "The Times crossword". The explanation of cryptic clues is fairly disorganised and skimpy and the solutions to the examples(as noted in an earlier review) are almost incomprehensible being crowded at the back with no reference whatsoever to the puzzles or clues involved. Really not worth the money or the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still too difficult for me, 21 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Times How to do The Times Crossword (Paperback)
There are a number of guides on how to solve cryptic crosswords out there, and this book is the most advanced of all of them. It is engagingly written and provides plenty of illustrations.
I do however have a number of quibbles that prevent me from giving it a whole-hearted recommendation. First, I found it difficult to navigate through the different types of clues. Second, an more importantly, the solutions are at the back, and are unnumbered. This format makes it really tedious to navigate through the examples. In some cases, I just gave up. Personally, in a tutor of this sort, I would have preferred the solutions on the same page as the clue. Finally, I didn't understand many of the solutions! More help in how they were derived would have been helpful.
It's a pity, because this book could have been great, whereas it's just another good guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written help from an expert., 19 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Times How to do The Times Crossword (Paperback)
This is the best book about solving cryptic crosswords I've seen since Don Manley's "Chambers Crossword Manual" appeared in 1986. The author is supremely well qualified for his task. He has been setting Times puzzles since 1976, and was the paper's crossword editor for five years. He has also competed (like your reviewer) in the final of the Times Crossword Championship, so understands both sides of the contest between setter and solver. His work as a psychologist, specialising in mathematical education, gives him insights into problem solving, which he exploits well.
The book is quite short (136pp) but covers a lot of ground in that space. There are hundreds of sample clues (often very celver ones) scattered through the text. The potential problem of attempting to solve them in isolation is alleviated by the "First Aid Section" listing some checking letters you might have if the clue was part of a puzzle. Answers to all the sample clues are included, including explanations of literary references and the less obvious bits of "General Knowledge" required.
The book is a little short on actual puzzles. Five sample Times puzzles are included, and three tutorial puzzles rather forbiddingly labelled as "Tests". However, there are plenty of newspaper and puzzle books out there.
Like most books on cryptic crosswords, a brief history is included, as well as material more specifically related to Times puzzles, and they way they have changed over the years. These sections managed to include some facts that this reader of crossword-related books hadn't seen before.
Any book explaining cryptic crosswords has to give major attention to the types of clues that are used. This is done elegantly, and each type is illustrated with plenty of examples.
Many aspects of the book agree with my own views - there are plenty of illustrations of good and bad practice in clue-writing, and I was pleased to see the world's sloppier cryptic crossword setters reminded of simple facts such as "an ion is not a charge".
One criticism: Times Books, like their parent newspaper these days, don't take enough care to remove mistakes. So we have a quoted letter to the Times that looks like three lines of unrhymed modern verse (p. 46), the words "themselves, like" with a mid-paragraph line to themselves (p.59), and the statement that words should ideally "appear in the Concise Oxford and Collins English Dictionary, and preferably both" (p. 61). I hope there are no similar mistakes in any of the clues or puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times How to do The Times Crossword (Paperback)
It is a big help to me so that I can understand how the The Times crossword works. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How to do The Times Crossword, 2 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times How to do The Times Crossword (Paperback)
Still working through the book. A little above my head at present, but will persevere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Times How to do The Times Crossword (Paperback)
good book...still learning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Times How to do The Times Crossword
The Times How to do The Times Crossword by Brian Greer (Paperback - 2 April 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews