Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Pagan books I've read.
Firstly I'd like to address one of the previous comments made on this book...
What "modern Druidry" is or is not will vary between followers of this Path. To some the old ways form a basis for a philosophy that is suitable for the 21st Century, while others seek to recreate as exactly as possible the old ways.
While the forms of practice may have changed (and...
Published on 12 Jun. 2002 by Clare Sager

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag
Fair enough this is is called "an intimate journey", so I suppose one should expect it to read like a subjective journal -- and it does. Unfortunately too much so for my taste.

Emma Restall-Orr writes well and poetically, but she frequently sounds like a new-age version of Mills & Boon : "Achingly naked I plunge into an inner world..." and "Swaying with...
Published on 8 Mar. 2013 by Tempestas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Pagan books I've read., 12 Jun. 2002
By 
This review is from: Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year (Paperback)
Firstly I'd like to address one of the previous comments made on this book...
What "modern Druidry" is or is not will vary between followers of this Path. To some the old ways form a basis for a philosophy that is suitable for the 21st Century, while others seek to recreate as exactly as possible the old ways.
While the forms of practice may have changed (and lets face it, we don't actually know every detail of how Ancient Druids practiced in times past, and we never shall.), the spirit of the Path has not, and this is what Emma Restall Orr (Bobcat) shows us. Anything (including a religion or spiritual path) that does not change with times and circumstances is destined to die by its own rigidity. Bobcat's works goes a long way to showing that while things may have changed, the important part - the essence - has stayed the same.
~~~
If you've not read 'Druid Priestess' (previously 'Spirits of the Sacred Grove'), then I heartily recommend it. Whether you're a Pagan, a Druid, both, or someone just mildly interested in either of these areas, then it's got a lot to give. It's a really touching, thoughtful and thought-provoking book for Pagans, Druids and anyone remotely interested in the spiritual. It touches on a personal level, and I think this is because the author is so intimate and open about her feelings, journey and the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book of universal spiritual experiences!, 2 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year (Paperback)
I am a devotee of the West African spiritual tradition called Ifa/Orisa, or Yoruba by many people. I must say that Bobcat has laid it down once again in this latest book. The book reveals her very intuitive nature, and her true level of spiritual aptitude. She encourages the reader to go beyond the, oftentimes, superficiality of "intellectual religion", straight into the realm of LIVING spirit. If there were ten stars I would rate this book as such.
Druids around the world would do good to listen to Bobcat's spirit.
Peace and Blessings
Awotunde Ifaseyin Karade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special book, 16 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year (Paperback)
This book is pretty special. It is written with special reference to the cycle of the year. Sharing with the reader a very unique insight into the celebrations within the year. Her writings also reflect her knowledge of the changes that occur in nature as the year goes by. I think this book is a gem, I cant recommend it high enough. The beauty of the book will stay with you for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 24 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year (Paperback)
I found Emma's writing to be really wonderful- she uses such a personal touch and everything is about her experiences, yet she manages to impart such a sense of joy about druidry and paganism. This is not a how to book, but still would be one of my favourite pagan reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Champion Of Female Druidry, 31 Jan. 2001
By 
Daniel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year (Paperback)
Bobcat ( Emma ) is an excellent writer, putting lots of pasison into her work, and her latest release has left no holdds barred. A look at the ritual year through the eyes of a female druid, analysing the world around her from a druids perspective and a womans compassion, she does nought but make you realise that Druidry is not the patriarchal tradition it is reputed to be, the Goddess is truly alive within it. If you are already a follower of the Druid way, or you are interested in it then this is a book that will surely guide you on your path, and yes - it is a great book for men as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfullly written druidry journey, 22 July 2003
This review is from: Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year (Paperback)
I just love this book.I felt like I was sharing the journey with Emma because it is so beautifully written.She takes you on a journey both during her everyday life and the path as a druid priestess...no you should do this or that...just one womens account.It doesn't tell you about the druid path in great detail though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year (Paperback)
Fair enough this is is called "an intimate journey", so I suppose one should expect it to read like a subjective journal -- and it does. Unfortunately too much so for my taste.

Emma Restall-Orr writes well and poetically, but she frequently sounds like a new-age version of Mills & Boon : "Achingly naked I plunge into an inner world..." and "Swaying with dizziness yet unable to move, he takes my hand, whispering 'My priestess, my Lady'...." and "He is my Lord and in my love for him I give all that I am..." And so on. And on.

Yes, these are random quotes, but purple passages plus descriptions of touchy-feely-huggy ceremonies make this the kind of personal Druidry that I feel probably appeals mostly to dreamy women......which is a pity, because Druidry is also a strong, earthy path well suited to modern eco-ideals and interpretations of magical living.

When she stops being a cat or dancing naked with her Lord and writing things like "his breath was a waterfall that keeps plunging through me" Restall-Orr is a good advocate for her beliefs.

This was written a few years ago. Perhaps she would describe her "intimate journey" differently today. I rather hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting writing, but not much insight into Druidry., 4 Dec. 2001
By 
Stuart Whitby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year (Paperback)
Restall Orr has a great way with words, and the writing of the book can be fascinating, if sometimes slightly tangential. However, the best lesson was one that really surprised me.
It appears that modern Druidry has little or no basis on the ancient tradition, and is mostly made up of guesswork. One of the main reasons for this may be because so little is known about the old craft and that there is no one left to learn from. Some significance may be known to be accorded to certain times of the year, but that appears to be about all.
While I'm sure Restall Orr is a very spiritual woman, she seems to be a preist of a new-age craft rather than the old craft. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year
Druid Priestess: An intimate journey through the pagan year by Emma Restall Orr (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2001)
Used & New from: £3.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews