Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are serious about your yoga, you must have this
As one previous reviewer says, if there is one reason not to buy this book, it's because it may be disheartening for complete beginners to see the more advanced poses performed by BKS Iyengar at the peak of his abilities.

This is not a book that was designed to impress the reader, but produced in the true spirit of a guru to guide and encourage yoga students...
Published on 20 April 2007 by Mrs. R.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT a book for beginners, nor is it modern.
This book was first published in 1966 and the photos are all probably from that era. The author died in 2014 and this edition came out in 2015.

Yes, it is referred to by many as the 'Yoga bible', and it may well be as the author was a world-renowned yoga teacher who helped bring the the art to the west, but for me as a beginner it was of very limited value, and...
Published 5 days ago by JR27


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
Excellent book for beginners our advanced practitioners of yoga. Whilst learning from a book will never be able to replace a teacher, it is detailed enough that beginners can take it step-by-step, perhaps just one or two positions a day, a build the basics before joining a class. For the more advanced user, it's an excellent reference point and there's always going to be a few new or forgotten things you can pick out from its pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
An excellent resource for yoga students or teachers. This book is well written and has oodles of information it it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful resource for yoga teachers, 15 Oct. 2011
By 
George A. Watts (Mid Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
I'm a yoga teacher based in Wales, UK. I have to say this is one of those "must have" resources for yoga teachers! Other great yoga teacher resources include:Yoga Teacher Lesson Plan Kit, Yoga Teacher Business Kit, Quick Yoga Sites and Yoga Studio Business Plan Kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best yoga book I have ever had, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
This is the best yoga book I have ever had. It gives you photos of every pose with a detailed description plus a weekly plan to keep to. Just what I needed as I cannot find a yoga class to suit my needs. It's really very comprehensive, a real yoga 'bible'! Don't hesitate in buying this if you're looking for a book on yoga...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good for practice, 20 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
I bought this for my wife who is a yoga enthusiast. These are her views: This is a very practical book. If you practice Iyengar yoga this book is a must. The book provides good photos and deep incite into all relevant postures. It explains the breathing which is also critical and is truly a definitive guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best yoga book ever, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
This is the BEST book dealing with yoga ever translated to English written by a yoga master. I have it for many years and I just now realized how cheap it is at the moment. It is really value for money and a blessing from Master B.K.S. Yengar for all of us. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening yoga reading! :-), 15 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
Great book for anyone with an interest in yoga. Very detailed explanations about each pose, and the story and wisdom behind the poses. (asanas)
Furthermore, it explains the deeper meaning of yoga, and what the "purpose" of yoga really is. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even if you only get a couple of months into the course offered and maintain that level with regular practice you will achieve a, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
I bought this to replace a previous copy. This is my third copy. One of the first yoga texts I ever bought. Even if you only get a couple of months into the course offered and maintain that level with regular practice you will achieve and maintain good health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bible, 4 Nov. 2012
What can I say, this is the book to get, it has the images of BKS doing the most amazing asanas and you can analyse from both the images and his writing how best to go about your own practice. An invaluable book, the one to get and keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know something about yoga - then this is ..., 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
Need to know something about yoga - then this is the answer!
I have many yoga books, have been practicing now for many years, but this book
is very informative and gives information that is not found in other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice
Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice by B. K. S. Iyengar (Paperback - 29 Jan. 2015)
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews