Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are serious about your yoga, you must have this
As one previous reviewer says, if there is one reason not to buy this book, it's because it may be disheartening for complete beginners to see the more advanced poses performed by BKS Iyengar at the peak of his abilities.

This is not a book that was designed to impress the reader, but produced in the true spirit of a guru to guide and encourage yoga students...
Published on 20 April 2007 by Mrs. R.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the content, hate the square format!
A great book from a great man, but I really hate this square format of the book! Difficult to carry and to pack!
Published 9 months ago by Ana de Almeida


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are serious about your yoga, you must have this, 20 April 2007
By 
Mrs. R. "Polymath" (London, England, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
As one previous reviewer says, if there is one reason not to buy this book, it's because it may be disheartening for complete beginners to see the more advanced poses performed by BKS Iyengar at the peak of his abilities.

This is not a book that was designed to impress the reader, but produced in the true spirit of a guru to guide and encourage yoga students. Yes, the photographs are in black and white, but they are clear. (I particularly like the one with the sofa in the background; it demonstrates that it really is the content and not the style that is important, unlike many more modern yoga books.)

I've been studying BKS Iyengar's method of Patanjali's yoga for 11 years and teaching for 4; I always take Light on Yoga to classes and it often comes out of the bag to provide the answer to a question.

If you are just beginning your yoga journey, I'd also recommend BKS Iyengar's The Path to Holistic Health but start with Yoga Explained by Mira Mehta. This is a lovely book by one of Mr. Iyengar's most respected students and one of the UK's top teachers. A couple of steps along the path and you'll definitely need Light on Yoga; if you need some inspiration to encourage you, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Constant practice alone is the secret of success., 3 Sep 2009
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
Constant practice alone is the secret of success.

I have been practising yoga in classes for the last four years. I have made some progress but I am just not a flexible person. I often promise myself I will practice it every day but I don't so I only have myself to blame.

Yoga suffers from an image problem on occasions as when it is shown in magazines or on television the more extreme version of it are shown. Also celebrity endorsement doesn't help as it can attract people for the wrong reasons.

It is an unfashionable view but there is no simple secret of success other than constant practice.

The book is well illustrated so every move is clearly shown in a very unflashy way. because they are in black and white it can look a little old fashioned but this is about knowledge not clever presentation.

The cover illustration shown BKS Iyengar holding one toe as he leans forward on one leg is an example of showing a pose that although looks spectacular may be unattainable by most of us.

I agree with other reviewers that it may put off the beginner because the end result may not be achieved.

It is a classic text and no serious yoga follower should be without it.

It has encouraged me to redouble my efforts. A great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop reading this and start practising Yoga., 12 Jun 2001
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
A more thorough examination of Yoga practice has yet to be written. Mr Iyengar describes with obvious joy the great benefits that were bestowed upon mankind by the god Patanjali who became mortal in order to understand our suffering and in doing so discover a means for us to escape it. The method of release Patanjali discovered he called 'Yoga' - the Path. Postures and Breathing excercises are described succinctly and include background as to the origins of their names and forms. The course provided, while a little beyond the reach of the complete beginner (and therefore the books only real flaw, as not being able to keep up could cause some to become disheartened) is surely compensated by its thoroughness. Backed up by the guiding hand of an experienced teacher this book and its emphasis on getting up and starting now is very much the light one should carry while on the Path of the Yoga Sutras themselves. Buy it, read it and start now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best reference book from the man himself!, 1 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
My iyengar yoga teacher has been recommending this book for years so I can't think what took me so long to buy it. Its a fantastic reference book for all those iyengar fans, clear photos, excellent descriptions of all poses and interesting information about the benefits of each pose. There are also day by day yoga sessions for all levels, the only improvement I would have liked would be small diagrams for the yoga sessions for those of us who don't know all the sanskrit names. If you love iyengar yoga or are just starting out this book is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Yoga?, 22 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
I'm buying my third copy today after using my first 2 for the past 25+ years. It is the reference book for yoga. I'm now an IYENGAR yoga teacher but had used this book for my own practice and to understand more about the philosophy of yoga as well as about the postures which are so well defined through photos - yes it is in black and white but this helps the clarity of the illustrations. you won't want to read it cover to cover today, but it'll be the one you keep coming back to for more. So yes get back on your mat now - but order this to take on holiday - definitely my desert island book. I'm still learning something new everytime I look at a picture in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The yoga "bible", 19 Jun 2008
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
A classic. It is possible to teach yourself yoga using this book. I've seen it done. Having started with Iyengar's yoga before exploring the more contemporary, fluid creative styles of yoga available to us in the west, I highly recommend this path... his teachings, his teachers and this book. Learn to walk before you run.

Anyone confused about the ways in which yoga transcends mere physical exercise (so associated with Iyengar and his block and blankets!) need only read the opening of Light on Yoga and just take the postures from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 5 Jun 2006
By 
S. Butler "Daisy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
This book is amazing. It is so in-depth but at the same time simple to follow. I love the fact that Mr Iyengar really goes into the mental and physical benefits of each posture, it's made me aware of all the health benefits.

As a beginner, some of the postures look a bit intimidating but this has not put me off, as the week by week yoga course at the back of the book gives sequences of postures for beginners to the more advanced. This provides a structure that allows the student to develop and gradually improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classical manual written by a Master, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
I have had a copy of an earlier print of this book for about 15 years. It takes careful reading but this guy really knows what he is talking about. Its not a pretty coffee table book but a very practical manual for those who are quite serious about progressing with yoga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the complete text, 26 Nov 2010
By 
Carl Vagg "goju" (coogee beach australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
while there are, excellent works on yoga which may be used to better understand
specific physiology of joints, muscles, tendons, ligaments, nerves, connective tissues and so on, and for understanding joint range of movement resetting
and essential fundamentals of stretching, ie, how it works, what muscle
loading and movements do what to which joints and other muscles, and so on,
such as the recommended series 'key muscles of hatha yoga' and 'key poses of hatha yoga' [ray long] and eg, 'yogabody' [judith hansen lasater], still, this textbook
by b.k.s. iyengar is easily the most comprehensive guide to serious hatha yoga..

some complain that its too complicated for beginners, yet where do you draw
the line in omission, simplification, even dumbing down a serious textbook..
obviously, the advanced asana are not meant for the beginner[!]
this definitive text cant be reviewed only on the basis of someone
'trying out' yoga, or exercising curiosity about yoga..

even tho the advanced variations of asana etc may not be for everyone [yet]
still, for anyone half way serious they are and must be an encouragement..
altho of course its obviously best to start and practice with a good teacher
its also obvious that mr iyengar has gone to great lengths to provide for even
the serious student remote from any genuine teacher, providing structured
interrelated yoga practice over years... this is virtually unique,
and demonstrates the lengths and depth of this great teachers vision
for all his students.. even if you are a beginner, even if you do use
other excellent yoga texts [eg; 'yoga the iyengar way' by the mehtas]
still, if you are at all serious, you cannot go past this pivotal
yoga text by b.k.s.iyengar himself..

even without detailed explainations of the golgi organ reflex etc,
if you practice the asanas etc as demonstrated and explained
in this text then you, your brain and your body will come to
understand how it all works, which is another reason
for this being an acknowledged master text..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book - a must for all levels of yoga practitioner!, 11 Feb 2007
By 
tara (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice (Paperback)
This book has a wealth of information for any practitioner of yoga, from beginner to advanced. The content is concise and practical, and the poses are sequenced in a way that allows for a gradual and safe progression in the practice. There are also dozens of practice sequences given for both improvement and how to treat common ailments through yoga. The introduction is especially valuable, as it offers a no fluff in-depth commentary on the philosophical thought behind the asana practice. I pick it up again and again and am still referring to it after nearly 15 years of owing it. My copy is dog eared and loved, and was well worth every penny.

An earlier reviewer mentioned that the photos and layout were not user friendly, and only gave the book two stars, which is a shame. This book was first printed in the mid 1960's - over 40 years ago! It was the first yoga book of it's kind to ever be printed, and it's content is timeless and as relevant today as ever. Mr. Iyengar even had to struggle with his then publisher to be allowed to include so many photos, as it was so expensive in those days to print such a book. I say hats off to the man who brought yoga to the west long before it was ready. He's a pioneer and a virtuoso of his craft, and his marvelous work should never be over overlooked just because it doesn't come in some glossy package fit for the masses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice
Light on Yoga: The Definitive Guide to Yoga Practice by B. K. S. Iyengar (Paperback - 2 April 2001)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews