Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but VERY big!, 22 Jan 2007
By 
Al (Farnborough, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent dictionary.

Very comprehensive, and the font, colour scheme & general presentation make it easy to find the word or expression you are looking for, and are attractive.

One warning though - this is a VERY large book; check the dimensions shown in the description before ordering! It will take up a large space on your shelf and will probably be too large to carry to & from college or on your travels. You may need a pocket dictionary as well, or go for the concise version of this one (which appears to be an excellent dictionary too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so much better than Oxford Hachette !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 7 Aug 2006
This dictionary is the finest French dictionary so far. The vocabulary is up-to-date, there are lots of examples and the font is eye-friendly. French is my third language, Polish being the first, but I still look into this dictionary for English translations rather that search French-Polish-French dictionaries because Collins is more thorough. Compared to Oxford Hachette which I also have this one is far better in grasping the modern French and I definitely choose Collins over Oxford, or any other FR-En dictionary for that matter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 8 Sep 2007
I am doing A Level French, and this dictionary was recommended to me at the beginning of my AS Level course.
The dictionary is very comprehensive, and excellently laid out. When looking up words, they are often placed in common phrases, which makes it very easy to use. I find that the essay phrases which divide the french-english from the english-french sections are paricularly useful in helping me to raise the level of my language.
Having used this book often during the past year, I can find no faults, and am sure it will be of great use to me in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best..., 13 July 2008
By 
Sally Douglas (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is THE French dictionary to have. Don't bother with anything smaller. Extremely well organised, it will always have the answer for those tricky little usages where a lesser dictionary could have you making a fool of yourself.

I see there's an new, 30th anniversary, edition out. I'm sure it'll be even better - but I'll be sticking with this one for a few years yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 19 July 2004
By 
Mr. M. A. Hunter "Le Hip Hop Français!" (Woking, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Robert French Dictionary (Hardcover)
I bought this book for use with my open university studies, and although its hardly "portable" it looks like this book is going to last me several years and then some. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French Dictionary, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book, very informative and does it's job well translating French to English and English to French a very good reference book especially if you are learning French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great dictionary, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This passed my degree for me! It was really helpful - especially the blue pages in the centre, which explain letters/emails etc in context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Robert French Dictionary
Collins Robert French Dictionary (Hardcover - 7 May 2002)
Used & New from: £0.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews