Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A glorious final book, 3 Nov. 2000
By 
J. R. S. Morrison "Bibliomane" (Adelaide, SA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Means of Escape (Paperback)
The recent death of Penelope Fitzgerald is a sad loss to literature - her nine novels are all brief but perfect; the compression of her style into the short story works well too - the 8 pieces collected here are her only published stories, and show just how good she was. One of the 20th century's greatest writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Means of Escape, 26 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Means of Escape (Paperback)
Excellent service and the book was as advertised. As always a delight to read Penelope Fitzgerald, one of the great authors of the past 40 years. Her books should be part of any reader's library.She allows the reader to do some of the work themselves. Inevitably sorry when I come to the last page- each book is like rediscovering a friendship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not What Traditional Admirers May Expect, 30 Nov. 2002
By 
taking a rest - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Means of Escape (Paperback)
Ms. Penelope Fitzgerald was one of the greatest new authors that became known to me over the last year. While I have read all of her novels, I have read only one of her three non-fiction works. I have commented on all, and with one exception I wish she had started writing about 4 decades sooner than she did.

Her novels all had several common denominators, their quality, the scope contained in the length she used, and their length, or more accurately their lack of length. So when I encountered this book that offered 8 stories over a diminutive 117 pages, even as great an admirer as I was incredulous.

The 8 stories are not equal, some are extremely clever, and one or two seemed more like thoughts that were abruptly cut off. Some of her novels ended with the finality of a guillotine crashing down; however this was after a good bit of reading had been done. When the stories average out at 14 small pages each, the word abrupt is too tame. Two stories in particular stood out, "Desderatus" and "The Axe". Of these two one showed a side of this woman's writing I never expected. Stephen King easily could have placed "The Axe", in a collection of his short stories, and it would have fit beautifully. Had this woman made the decision she may have been a writer that brought us classics in the Genre of "Frankenstein" and "Dracula". Lights definitely go on and stay for, "The Axe".

This is not a five star work by this wonderful author. However I rate it as such for all the great writing she shared in her all too brief career. Taken as a whole this is probably a 3.5 to 4 star work. I miss the lady's exercising of her craft too much not to give the work 5 stars. Think of it as a thank you for all she gave readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Means of Escape-Penelope Fitzgerald, 22 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Means of Escape (Paperback)
Very interesting short stories with fascinating characters. Fitzgerald was an author I had not read before and was suggested to me by an avid fan. I chose this book as a 'taster' so to speak and now intend to read more of her work. Give her a try and you will be well rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Means of Escape (Paperback)
Terrific writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Means of Escape (Paperback)
I quite enjoyed the book but not as much as her others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Frances" (Lancaster United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Means of Escape (Paperback)
All fine - thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Means of Escape (Paperback)
Super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Means of Escape
The Means of Escape by Penelope Fitzgerald (Paperback - 15 Oct. 2001)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews