Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's simple, easy to follow, with practical models to use.
This book is aimed at managers and coaches wanting to develop highly committed and highly competent staff, which hopefully means all managers and coaches.
It is a short book, with a simple conversational style, and so unlike some management books it actually teaches you practical workable solutions to management and coaching problems without much effort being...
Published on 27 Nov 2001

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in its time, but has two flaws
When I first read Leadership and the One Minute Manager back in the 1980s, I loved its situational leadership model, but that was 25 years ago. Since then, two flaws have become clear.

One is that it focuses on the handling of individuals whereas leadership is more than that - it's about influencing individuals AND whole groups, sometimes very large groups,...
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by A Reader from the UK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in its time, but has two flaws, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
When I first read Leadership and the One Minute Manager back in the 1980s, I loved its situational leadership model, but that was 25 years ago. Since then, two flaws have become clear.

One is that it focuses on the handling of individuals whereas leadership is more than that - it's about influencing individuals AND whole groups, sometimes very large groups, but this book doesn't address that. Its other flaw is this: it ignores the reality that many leaders won't adapt their behaviour according to the competence and commitment of each follower (which is the book's main idea) because of their old mindsets and behavioural habits. It assumes we can all change our behaviour at will without working on our psychology.

It's still a good read, but in my view it's not teaching "leadership" per se and it ignores the power of mindsets. So you might also want to consider a book that offers a more complete model of leadership and teaches you how to master your psychology as a leader. There are not many, but in my view the best example is "The Three Levels of Leadership" by James Scouller. Hopefully there will be others in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most effective coaching process around, 4 Dec 2004
This review is from: Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
This book reveals a process that beats all other coaching processes in it's simplicity and effectiveness. It shows how anyone can successfully coach and develop a range of experienced and inexperienced people at their pace and comfort effectively, with little or no conflict - if done properly. Forget your GROW model. This is simple, practical and effective
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any manager!!!, 26 May 1999
By A Customer
It was an easy read. It covered comprehensive principles which can be applied immediately. It's a must for any manager who is looking to improve their working environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you've just become a manager, 21 July 2008
By 
Janette (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
This is okay - but if you've been a manager for some time, you will probably find this book a little bit boring and not really gain much from this read. Great for new manager's - would pass on junior managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great recommendation, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Susan A. Harris, Prints "Sue Green, St Marys ... (Isle of Man, British Isles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
I love when those Amazon recommendations you get at the foot of a book listing actually send you to something worthwhile. It doesn't always (often) happen but.... Anyway I found this book after picking up a mention from Who's Driving the Bus? Leadership and Management in a Few Easy Steps so nothing about becoming a bus driver. That took me to The One Minute Manager and then on to this title.

Leadership and the One Minute Manager is different from Who's Driving the Bus but both are worth reading. I would have given this book five stars but as I'd given Sue Gee's book five I decided Ken Blanchard only deserved four as I preferred her style and the great illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leadership and One Minute Manager, 2 Jun 2014
This review is from: Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by my lecturer It is highly effective for anyone who employs staff, effective and simple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One Minute Manager, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
As part of a series, this book is one of the best options for any manager to utilise. Its not only worthwhile but a great read and really helps you to attain a better perspective on things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little on the thin side in terms of actual substance. Nice little money maker for the writer!, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Stuart King "BoyRacerLondon" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
It seems a very long time ago since I purchased this product and to be honest I cannot say that it has stayed in the memory especially, but I don't recall any issues with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory for becoming a real manager, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
Useful. Necessary. Good tooling for entering in people management.
I strongly recommend it to every person who really want to know about what is considered as minimum to deal with people.
Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Quick Read Book, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. K. R. Southcombe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager) (Paperback)
A down to earth, easy to understand book, yet full of helpful managerial tips, for anyone wishing to be a good manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leadership and the One Minute Manager (The One Minute Manager)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews