Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Book
The Telegraph said, "This God is reminiscent of the Norse."
The Times said, "Kind of turgid, but I liked the bit with horses."
The Mail said, "Lots of massacres, a violent tour de force.
If you only read one book this year, then this one is a book
And it is good, and it's a book!"

If you just close your eyes and block your ears
To the...
Published on 18 May 2012 by SorryMateIDidntSeeYou

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but !
Good value and prompt delivery. Only downside is that the reference to 'Christening' is on the carboard sleeve - there is nothing on the front of the bible itself
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by grandfather clark


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Book, 18 May 2012
This review is from: The Holy Bible: Authorized King James Version (Bible Akjv) (Paperback)
The Telegraph said, "This God is reminiscent of the Norse."
The Times said, "Kind of turgid, but I liked the bit with horses."
The Mail said, "Lots of massacres, a violent tour de force.
If you only read one book this year, then this one is a book
And it is good, and it's a book!"

If you just close your eyes and block your ears
To the accumulated knowledge of the last two thousand years
Then morally, guess what? You're off the hook
And thank Christ you only have to read one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great christening bible, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Sax Girl (Essex England) - See all my reviews
I wanted a white bible as a christening gift and this one is just right. It has a page to write a personal message is just the right size for a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely gift, 16 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My eight year old dauhter got this as a gift for her First Holy Communion. Lovely gift and well presented with a box to protect it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect as a Gift Bible, not ideal for regular reading, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Scott Marshall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Christening gift, this ticks all the right boxes, and fully deserves four stars. But as a Bible that's meant to be read, it suffers from a few niggles that prevent me giving it the fifth star. It's a bit small; yes, the product description does state the size, so I should have been forewarned, but it's diminuitive pages were still a surprise. The text is perfectly readable, but everything just feels a bit too condensed and squashed on the page. The print quality is merely adequate, a slight disappointment after the impressive exterior cover. So yes, as a gift this is ideal. But I'd suggest you think twice if you want a Bible for reading regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful yet simple, 12 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Bible: Authorized King James Version (Bible Akjv) (Paperback)
Beautifully and simply designed, the Holy Bible is a book we should all have but with so many to choose from it can be hard ! This edition is officially allowed to be read in church and it has the more traditional language, which makes it even more classic. Highly recommended by me, also the seller posted this ultra quickly, I will definitely use them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Holy Bible: Authorized King James Version (Bible Akjv) (Paperback)
Just as i thought it would be. thank you, very informative and easy to read.will buy more for my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice gift, 4 Dec 2011
this was gift for christening it has a nicwe presentation page inside only thing is to write an inscription we had o open bible. and take cellophane off. then give it like that. apart from that it was just right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but !, 2 Jun 2010
Good value and prompt delivery. Only downside is that the reference to 'Christening' is on the carboard sleeve - there is nothing on the front of the bible itself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over-joyed, 4 April 2009
By 
Zahra "Z" (Blackburn, England) - See all my reviews
I received the item in time at first i was a tad sceptical as to the condition however I am more than satisfied. thank you ever so much i've even recommended it to a few of my friends.
xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful gift, 23 Jan 2012
I am pregnant with my second child and I wanted them to have a small presentation Bible for their own personal use as they grew up. I actually had a fairly difficult time finding one online- at least one that wasn't specifically designed for giving to a person for their First Communion. But anyway, I came across this Bible and made the purchase. I'm glad that I did. It's beautiful. The pages have an ornate gold lining and the presentation case is nice. This also seems to be a sturdy Bible, one that is made to last. As the description states, there is a dedication page making this a perfect present someone will likely treasure for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Holy Bible: Authorized King James Version (Bible Akjv)
The Holy Bible: Authorized King James Version (Bible Akjv) by HarperCollins Publishers (Paperback - 3 Mar 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews