Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another breathtaking book by Janny Wurts
Perils Gate is one of thoes books that has you holding your breathe all the way through to the end, and when you turn the last page you frown, and then frantically surching for the next book. It takes you through the story so far, and as always the chase is one.
Arithon is once again hunted by the Alliance of light, led by his halfbrother, who have allied themselves...
Published on 11 Feb 2003

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perilously Bad
I'm actually a fan of Wurts, ever since I read her Empire series collaboration with Feist (whom I don't much like). However, I disliked this book, primarily for the following 3 reasons:
The pace of the book is awful. From the first page we are told that Arithon is in the worst danger possible; the kind of danger that would threaten Athera itself....and the Fellowship...
Published on 15 Aug 2005 by Michael A.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another breathtaking book by Janny Wurts, 11 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Peril's Gate The Alliance of Light: book 3 Wars of Light and Shadow Vol 6 (Paperback)
Perils Gate is one of thoes books that has you holding your breathe all the way through to the end, and when you turn the last page you frown, and then frantically surching for the next book. It takes you through the story so far, and as always the chase is one.
Arithon is once again hunted by the Alliance of light, led by his halfbrother, who have allied themselves with the Koriathain. The Fellowship is troubled by loose Khadrim, an invasion of Wraiths from Marek, and the Mistwraith nearly having acomplished freeing itself.
We get to meet Davien and see a Paravien or two. It makes it very hard to await Stormed Fortress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like an addict, I can't wait for my next fix, 19 Aug 2002
By 
Edmund Kapusniak (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peril's Gate The Alliance of Light: book 3 Wars of Light and Shadow Vol 6 (Paperback)
Arithon.
No-one who embarks upon this series can ever fail to fall in love with (or at least strongly identify with) Janny’s main character. The trials she puts him through are enough to make anyone pity, and then burn, bleed and sweat for this character. It’s compelling.
But you should not discount the other characters in this series. I don’t mean Lysaer – he pales into insignificance, as he has so little knowledge of the true meaning of events. No, look at Sethvir and Asandir. You really believe Janny when she shows you how these men have survived and fought centuries of conflict and loss in her world.
I also have a soft spot for Morriel; she’s just so deliciously determined that she is right. Though, I do hope that Elaria takes a big stick and clobbers the rest of her order about the head.
It is hard to hate anyone. Janny does a wonderful job of asking you to judge evil for yourself. As the reader, you know more about the significance of events than anyone save perhaps Sethvir and the Paravians. The character’s don’t have our omnipotence, and the motives of each are shown to be molded by their ignorance. Even Arithon is shown to be wrong on occasion, and he torments himself with it.
As he torments himself with everything.
If I have a gripe about the series, it is that reading it can seem like you are being repeatedly whacked around the head with the same despairs. The main action of Ships of Merior and Warhost of Vastmark seems to me to be the same disaster in different settings. Arithon endlessly tortures himself with regrets about past events. And if he isn’t doing it, someone else is.
Peril’s Gate, for example, includes what amounts to a long recap of everything that has already happened to him, and he worries about the whole thing afresh. Although there are indications that in the next book, we might be able to move forward.
This series inspires strong emotion. Mostly longing that the author will hurry up and write the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perilously Bad, 15 Aug 2005
This review is from: Peril's Gate The Alliance of Light: book 3 Wars of Light and Shadow Vol 6 (Paperback)
I'm actually a fan of Wurts, ever since I read her Empire series collaboration with Feist (whom I don't much like). However, I disliked this book, primarily for the following 3 reasons:
The pace of the book is awful. From the first page we are told that Arithon is in the worst danger possible; the kind of danger that would threaten Athera itself....and the Fellowship is threatened...and Arithon really, really, this time must break down and destroy the world... well, no this time he will break down and destroy the world... ok, this time he is really, really stretched and a catastrophe must happen... no? Get the picture? Dangers pile on dangers, and throughout the book, Wurts wants us to believe that we're balancing on the very edge of disaster. The only thing is, this is pretty hard to believe in as a reader - especially when you know you've got 600 more pages to go before the end of this book (and God knows how many volumes left in the series).
Another example of the bad pace are the multiple times in the story where we are told some character must make a split-second decision; upon which we are then treated with 2-3 pages of the character intensely contemplating what s/he should do in the next second. Doh!
Secondly (and perhaps I am a minority here), I am finding it increasingly difficult to emphatize with the characters in these books. The reason is that every one of them is painted as either black or white; every character in the book can be considered either divinely good (Arithon and his bunch), diabolically evil with no redeeming attributes (Lysaer, the Witches and a few of his henchmen), or good but fighting in an evil cause (most of Lysaer's henchmen). Also, every character in the books are described as being brave, unbowed, giving their all for their cause though harried to the end of their endurance, etc. No ordinary humans on Athera, that's for sure (the only one, Dakar, has now converted to join the divinely good fraternity).
Finally, the flowery prose. This is the reason I love Wurt's writing, but unfortunately also the reason why I am beginning to dislike it. After 100 pages describing how beat up, worn out, on the edge of endurance, unwashed, etc. Arithon is, I'm sure we know how he looks. This book could be half its current size and it would be much better.
IMO, this book should never have been written (it was, incidentally not in the original publishing plans either). All it does is blow up the size of a series which is looking increasingly unmanageable, and though a few important plot developments occur, I fail to see why they should require 700 pages!! As a long time fan of the series, I plan on buying the next (and hopefully the final in the Alliance of Light cycle) book, but if there are no significant improvements in this story, I doubt that I will continue reading it.
So why 2 stars? Well, there are a few wonderfully evocative passages in the book. There is no doubt that Wurts knows her stuff, and can write like few others. Just a pity she overdoes it.
If you're a new reader, my suggestion is that you try some of her other work. If you're an old reader of her work and getting tired of it; stay away from this one (unless you're really wanting to punish yourself).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wars of Light and Shadow, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this series of books. The characters are engrossing the story well written. I have recommended the whole series to fellow Sci Fi fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't believe how good an author is Janny Worts.
Totally involved in this world from start to -....... Whenever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PERIL'S GATE - GOOD READING, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ANOTHER GOOD BOOK FROM JANNY WURTS. COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. IT IS WELL WRITTEN AND YOU FEEL THAT YOU ARE THERE WITH THE CHARACTERS, SEEING AND HEARING WHAT THEY ARE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Series, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So gripping I've read nothing else since I read the first in the series last October. If you want your head taken over by an incredibly familiar but alien world with the most amazing characters, creatures and plots then this is the series for you. Do start with the first Curse of the Mistraith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My god woman won't you ever finish!, 1 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peril's Gate The Alliance of Light: book 3 Wars of Light and Shadow Vol 6 (Paperback)
I think this book is terrible in the context of the series. Not because it is badly written or does not tell a gripping story, on its own it is fine. It is the fact that, like the last 3 or four books in this epic (sound of cash register) series it is exactly the same story in a slightly different location.
Having bought everything else that Ms Wurts has previously published I emailed her with my views that she was just spinning out the story. Her tartly patronising reply intimated that I was not intelligent enough to decipher the subtleties in each book and that I should try reading her straightforward cannon fodder material, "To Ride Hell's Chasm".
I will probably read the last 2 (fingers crossed it does not become more volumes) but I will be borrowing them from the library so that I do not financially encourage Ms Wurts to keep stringing this one out. Sorry for flaming her stuff but you can see why she got my back up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumphant success..., 20 Aug 2012
This review is from: Peril's Gate The Alliance of Light: book 3 Wars of Light and Shadow Vol 6 (Paperback)
Peril's gate book three of Alliance and light (a volume of the wars of light and shadow), exceeded and surpassed all expectations once again as this epic saga continues. I was blown away by the sheer originality and creativity that was on a par with JRR Tolkien in regards to its uniqueness and vastly detailed plot that was a delight to behold. This compelling book I was unable to put down as I lost myself within its pages that were full of outstanding individuality, on such an epic scale as to overwhelm one entirely. This striking volume stands out on any bookshelf with a cover illustrated by the author herself who brings her own creation to life in full, vivid color before your very eyes. If you enjoy bloodthirsty, atmospheric battle scenes mixed with sorcery and powerful magic then the wars of light and shadow will impress you, being a concoction of Kate Elliot and Robin Hobb; it really is sword and sorcery at its very best.

Lysaer and Arithon are half-brothers brought up by mages in a world that is harsh, bloody and quite cruel. One bears the power of the light whilst the other commands the darkness; hence together they defeated the Mistwraith but at a terrible price. Now Lysaer must bring down Arithon the master of shadow, who received a curse by the deadly mistwraith all that time ago. With intense, thrilling battles the dispute between both brothers deepens as one tries to save the delicate balance of the world and keep the fellowship of sorcerer's in tact. Elaira the enchantress holds Arithon's heart in her hands hence she has to make the ultimate sacrifice; to betray the one whom she loves to Koriani Prime for their own gain or to rebel against her own order.

Full of passion, energy and fast-paced thrilling action this tale gets better and better with each new volume, where the drama and narrative grows in intensity with every page. The truly unique, original storyline is so unpredictable as to make you want to read on, leaving you sat on the edge of your seat whilst it builds up to a striking and magnificent climax that astonishes. This is an exhilarating, thrilling read that is full of electric tension and suspense evoking the fantasy genre brilliantly with the added mixture of sorcery, magic and myth as to spark your imagination. I did not want this tale to end hence I went to then read book two of the series and continue on the journey, delving back into Janny's world feeling as if I was back home with something so familiar and memorable. This really is a remarkable read that has left a very large hole in my heart, being something that I shall now treasure. Outstanding and origional this series is so distinctive and unique, that is a truly timeless tale. Absorbing and beautifully written many fans of other reconizable works of fiction within this genre will love the wars of light and shadow, especially those readers like myself who enjoy Raymond E Feist's work some of which Janny Wurts is co-author of. I cannot enthuse enough about an author who shall remain one of my favorites, being full of creative vision and depth of feeling that is quite incredible. Here is a writer who puts herself into her work, which when reading it is like seeing into her very soul that is full of emotion and inventiveness that is truly inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A series for the 21st century, 3 July 2002
By 
Jeffrey L. Watson (Hunker, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peril's Gate The Alliance of Light: book 3 Wars of Light and Shadow Vol 6 (Paperback)
Peril's Gate, the third volume of The Alliance of Light, continues to realize the promise set forth in the previous volumes. Delving into the mystical aspect of the world of Athera, this volume takes you deep into the psyche of Arithon, Master of Shadows and lays bare the reasons he has lost his mage sight. Additionally, another layer in the intricate machinations of Desh-thiere, the Mistwraith, is revealed as Arithon struggles against an array of foes fielded by his half-brother Lysaer as well as against his own self.
Peril's Gate deepens the plot and broadens the scope of the story and the characters. No fantasy novel that I have read prior to this one shows in such vivid detail that there is a price to be paid for killing, even for the hero. Other books allow the hero the dispensation of shrugging off the deaths because they are just evil creatures or evil humans. But this book puts the question squarely to the protagonist and through him, to the readers. And the question is... you'll have to read the book to find out.
A tour de force, Peril's Gate will take you on a journey that will have you asking questions about your own existence and your place in the universe.
This book and the previous volumes are a must own for anyone who has undertaken to walk the path to personal enlightenment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peril's Gate The Alliance of Light: book 3  Wars of Light and Shadow Vol 6
6.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews