Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will make you laugh out loud
This is by far the funniest book I have ever read. The basic premise is simple: an advertising company based in London are going all-out to win the Coke Cola contract..... only the novel is written entirely in the e-mails that fly around between staff and others.
The best bit? If you work in an office and use email reguarly, you'll recognise most of the characters...
Published on 9 Oct. 2004 by A. S. Garton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good fun read
A very quick, easy but nonetheless enjoyable read. Despite the book being an outrageous parody it is scary how much of the actions and behaviours you will recognise from the book.

Interestingly i read 'Who moved my Blackberry' which has been compared to 'e' first and thought it a much funnier and less obvious read. The format and content of the books are...
Published on 3 April 2007 by G. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will make you laugh out loud, 9 Oct. 2004
By 
A. S. Garton "age garton" (milton keynes, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
This is by far the funniest book I have ever read. The basic premise is simple: an advertising company based in London are going all-out to win the Coke Cola contract..... only the novel is written entirely in the e-mails that fly around between staff and others.
The best bit? If you work in an office and use email reguarly, you'll recognise most of the characters. My office employs at least five of the main characters - the names are different, but style (or lack thereof!) remains. You know, the chap who just can't resist dropping in his title; the PA who 'only works for such-and-such' and couldn't possibly do anything for you; the geek who has anything for sale.
This is sharp stuff and a very cutting commentary of life in your average office, circa Y2K. I have never, ever laughed aloud when reading a book before - I did with this one. I can't recommend it highly enough.
And now there's a sequel.... buying it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ad agencies ... bitchiness, back-stabbing & bulls***!, 13 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
A hilarious collection of emails that cleverly recount the tale of an ad agency fighting to win the Coke account. Whether you've worked in an agency or not, you'll recognise the types: bitchy secretaries, bulls****ing bosses, back-stabbing colleagues. I bought this book yesterday lunchtime and started to read it in a bar. Not only did I clear the surrounding tables with my howls of laughter as I read alone, but when I got home couldn't put it down until it was finished. Mr Beaumont, if this is your first novel PLEASE hurry and write another one. I'll be recommending it to all my friends and advertising account managers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for lovers of 'The Office', 29 May 2006
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
I couldn't put it down until I'd finished it, which means I've been really antisocial for the last 24 hours.

What a brilliant book!

The whole novel is written in the form of emails, which could have been a total disaster if the characters hadn't been so recognisable.

Don't we all know people who talk about 'putting our ducks in a row' or 'thinking outside the box.'

Perhaps my favourite though is Simon Horne and his terrible Franglais....'Up the creek called Merde. Sans paddle.'

Fantastic and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest book in a long long time, 12 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
E. is simply superb. A rivetting and hilarious look at ad agency Miller-Shanks bid for the Coca-Cola account, the holy Grail of advertising. It'#s told through a series of emails as colleagues anf friends stab each other in the back and attempt to pass the buck when every single disaster both forseeable and unforseeable plagues the company's chances of winning the bid. Secretaries fight in the office, the PA keeps resigning and threatening to kill herself, the Creative Director is low life, two faced slime ball who would sell his mother to save his backside and two of the creatives are pissed up lads who spend their time downing Bud and snorting coke. From a hilarious on-going wrangle over email that gets sent to Helsinki, to the misfortune of a Marititius photo shoot for a porn channel ad as the large bossomed beauties starring in the ad fall prey to exploding cilicone and jet ski accidents, this is just laugh out loud hilarious and you will find it hard to put it down. You will forget to eat, sleep, talk and when you have finished you will be really sad to leave Miller Shanks. It is a lot more fun than any other place you have worked yourself. Please buy this brilliant book and lets have more please Matt. Miller Shanks offices surely have a few more stories to tell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars electronic maelstrom, 19 Feb. 2003
By 
T Marshall (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
This is a story of a period of time in an advertising firm in London, through documenting the e-mails sent around the office during that time.
To start with this is a little difficult to get the hang of; as it isn't readily apparent until you get the swing of it who is saying what to whom. Then once you establish the hierarchy of the firm it settles into a nice rhythm and is pretty funny. I feel that you have to slightly suspend reality for some passages; as the viability of someone putting their most personal thoughts down on an e-mail when they actually only have to walk 20 feet to where they work to tell them, is slightly unusual. But then we would not be able to keep up with the plot if they were to do that, and also, I would probably believe anything of people who work in advertising.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a light read, or an insight into the latest method of time wasting in the workplace. My only criticism is that it gets a little repetitive by the end, and you find yourself longing for a "normal" passage of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does he know the same people I know?, 11 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
I've just finished this book & enjoyed it enormously.
This book should be found true to life and amusing by almost anyone who works in a professional enviroment, maybe it will be appreciated on more levels by those in the advertising industry, but everyone will be able to picture in their workplace at least one of the following, the office twat, loser, flirt, bully, bitch, brownnoser or hippy, if not one then all of them as I did.
Some of the E-mail exchanges are simply hilarious and made me laugh out loud in public on more than one occassion.
If you fancy a simple, engrossing read you should buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars E Gets A Plus (again), 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
I'm on my second reading and second copy of E now. I lent my first copy to someone who laughed so much they forgot to return it. I laughed a lot both times. It's very hard not to. This is a VERY funny book and a delight to read it again. The characters are all simultaneously hideous and highly addictive. The book is made up solely of e-mails within, and out of, wannabe advertising stars Miller Shanks as they haplessly lurch towards a pitch to Coca Cola. They're still clinging to the old Eighties ideals of excess and ego, and the pattern of the e-mails is that you shamelessly crawl to those above you in the office hierarchy, and mercilessly bully everyone below you to stake-out your territory. Unrelenting self-promotion is the other prerequisite, as you'd expect from a bunch of Admen. The truth is that everyone is riven with hyper insecurity and insincerity and it's hilarious to witness them all imploding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feels like I know the cast., 6 Aug. 2007
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
Those who have participated in or witnessed the rat race of office politics will immediately empathise with the characters Matt Beaumont brings to life through his "E-Mail" extravaganza. Indeed they will probably think they have worked with most if not all the the books characters.

The book graphically highlights the transformation of ordinary folk who probably live quite decent lives away from the office, into the worst form of low-life when at work and with access to e-mail despatch.

For all its portrayal of the very worst in human behaviour it is very, very funny and almost impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Come as you are", 11 Jun. 2011
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
I read E Squared before reading this novel, which strictly could be described as its predecessor; however I didn't find reading them in the "wrong" order to be detrimental. Some of the characters from E are in E Squared but there is sufficient background to be able to pick up the narrative as required without having to worry about any previous action.

The book is all email based, as is explained in other reviews. The whole action of the story is based around the email correspondence of various characters, mainly the characters based in an advertising agency pitching for some prestigious accounts, and trying not to make a mess of the accounts they already have. The people, if you have ever worked in a professional services firm, are horribly familiar - bitchy, nasty, two-faced, precious, petty, bullying, autocratic, self-serving in the main. The emails range from vitriolic (though ever so politely written in the correct office etiquette generally) to utter sucking up to the boss. Sigh ... sadly all too familiar from some of the places I've been (un)lucky enough to have worked in in previous lives.

E is hilarious - there were a lot of `laugh out loud' moments - for example, when one of the characters asked if it was all right if they came to a meeting in their Nirvana t-shirt, and the respondent said "Come as you are". If you get that, you'll find it as funny as I did.

The characters are so reminiscent of people that actually exist that it's rather like the fascination of the horrible, reading this book - you know it's all going to end up badly, but you can't look away.

Thoroughly enjoyable - light, undemanding reading, but the storyline is entertaining, the characters are all too clearly drawn, and the reader is keen to know what happens next.

Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously funny & (sadly) very recognizable, 6 Dec. 2010
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Matt Beaumont e: A Novel (Paperback)
95 reviews already as I'm writing this, 74 of which gave 'E' a 5-star rating... is there still need for more praise? Perhaps not, but I just couldn't resist. Until a few years ago - until 2007 to be precise - I worked in advertising myself (as an account, I'm not sure if I qualified as 'the sad git in accounts' mentioned on the backcover), and back in 2000 when I first read this book I had to laugh out loud because it was so very very recognizable, the only thing missing seemed your typical financial director: always keen on blaming other people when clients protest invoices but never having met a client face-to-face themselves. I vividly remember sharing the book with colleagues, and not a single one of them wasn't struck by the similarity with people we actually knew and had to work with every day. On the other side, I just as vividly remember the often mind-boggling lack of intelligence on the client side (think 'Fawlty Towers' in a marketing context and you'll come close), so one could easily write a similar book from that perspective I guess.

Anyway, that was almost a decade ago and recently (don't know exactly why) I took 'E' from my shelves again, opened it and was captivated once again from the very first page. In retrospect I found it perhaps more over the top than when I first read it, but just as funny, and what I failed to notice the first time struck me all the more now: this is really a very cleverly plotted novel! And as much as in epistolary novels dating back hundreds of years such as Dangerous Liaisons (Penguin Classics) the characters all come very much alive in their e-mails. If you want to know what life in advertising is like 'E' may not give you a trustworthy objective view (though it comes close), but it will definitely have you laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Matt Beaumont e: A Novel
Matt Beaumont e: A Novel by Matt Beaumont (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2007)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews