Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dictionary of Cultural Studies
this book is excellent for anyone interested in culture, philosophy, art, subcultures, politics and history. It is a funky little encyclopedia of many key terms used in all these disciplines, very good for quick references and makes good reading as a straight book too. Keywords is current, extremely interesting, highly informative and very accessible. I had a copy in 1990...
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by Toyin

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Low quality of printing!
It's a shame to put it on my bookcase. This book has such low quality of printing, like a pirate! I regret not to buy its kindle ebook.
Published 7 months ago by Henry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dictionary of Cultural Studies, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Toyin (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
this book is excellent for anyone interested in culture, philosophy, art, subcultures, politics and history. It is a funky little encyclopedia of many key terms used in all these disciplines, very good for quick references and makes good reading as a straight book too. Keywords is current, extremely interesting, highly informative and very accessible. I had a copy in 1990 and it was a good companion to the cultural studies course at the time, I sold my copy when the course ended and regretted doing that as I actually missed the book (sad). I've since bought it again. So if like me you get turned on by words such as Hegemony, Existentialism, Idealism and any other Ism you will be pleased with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vital to history students, 13 May 2005
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
Ever had to define a historical term in an essay? Looked frantically through a dictionary and thrown it at the wall for being unhelpful? You need this book, which gives you a complete history of the changing definitions of some of the most important words for historians. Yes it is dry, yes it is extremely boring, but it is also invaluable when you're writing that all-important essay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The role of "Keywords", 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
This is a necessary requisite for especially people in the earlier stages of their cultural education : I have therefore made it a priority to equip the households in which my grandchildren live with a copy of this work .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The basic reference book, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
This book remains a fundamental reference book in Arts & Humanities,and as such should be on everyone's bookshelf. It arrived quickly and in excellent condition. Thanks guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Keywords, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
I needed a copy of this book for a project I'm working on. The book arrived within the time stated and thje condition was, in my opinion, better than described. I thought the book was excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Keywords, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Mrs. T. F. Siddiqi (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
Good and efficient service. Books were in good condition. This book was requested by a teacher to help prepare students for debates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Low quality of printing!, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
It's a shame to put it on my bookcase. This book has such low quality of printing, like a pirate! I regret not to buy its kindle ebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sound explanation of the concepts of the modren world., 7 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
Williams book is a very useful one. It offers a wide variety of explanations of the concepts,institutions and values which have shaped the world over the centuries. Ranging from the traditional ideas of family to lesser investigated areas such as intellect and dialect. An important book and one which anyone interested in such an area should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars has missing a lot, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
i am dissapointed by this purchases as in this vocabulary is missing a lot of key words that i was expected to find there. and i think that it is not a matter of publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre and outdated, 12 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society (Paperback)
Raymond Williams has a high reputation and was one of the pioneers of Marxist literary criticism in Britain. However, this glossary of 'keywords' is insubstantial and dated. The definitions are not sufficiently detailed and many words one might legitimately expect to find, aren't included. For those interested in Williams' work, I suggest 'The Country and the City.' 'Keywords' is a nice idea, but lacks breadth and vigor. Do not buy it. You may think it will come in useful at a later date: believe me, it won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society
Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society by Raymond Williams (Paperback - 13 Feb 2014)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews