Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing change!
This is a very cheap paperback that is easily worth ten times the other HUGE rather expensive hardbacks I have read regarding child development. I bought this (new) amongst other titles for a university course and this is without a doubt the only book I found remotely interesting or relevant. Donaldson's writing is concise and still very accurate, even now some thirty...
Published on 24 July 2009 by Book Worm

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor print
The print in this book is very poor and the book is bad quality. I've struggled to read the book due to the printing.
Published 1 month ago by HDK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing change!, 24 July 2009
By 
Book Worm (Newcastle Upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
This is a very cheap paperback that is easily worth ten times the other HUGE rather expensive hardbacks I have read regarding child development. I bought this (new) amongst other titles for a university course and this is without a doubt the only book I found remotely interesting or relevant. Donaldson's writing is concise and still very accurate, even now some thirty years later. I recommend this under-priced and under-rated paperback over anything else you may consider buying regarding child development/pyschology etc. This lady researched for Piaget and had great respect for him (very apparent throughout)yet she recognised, and indeed has written about some of the flaws in his methodology that he himself did not consider. Chomsky's theory of language development is also covered 'uniquely' in my opinion.

Fantastic read, an absolute must have if you're remotely interested in child development or Piaget himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


254 of 261 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than an Introduction...., 15 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
Donaldson's ground breaking book is much more than a mere 'introduction' to child development. Dondaldson's work turned long held notions about the nature of the chid upside down! The book is a critical examination of the work of Piaget and whilst showing the importance of Piaget's work to the disipline she teases out some of the problems with his work. She asks the questions: are children really egocentric? Was Piaget's methodology all it should have been? Are children individials first who become social beings? Or is it (As Vygotsky thought) the other way around? She clearly demonstrates by experiments of her own and those of others on the Edinburgh cognition project that children are capable of much more than Piaget ever gave them credit for! The book also clearly sets out Piagetian theory and stages. This book should be mandoratory reading for everyone involved in the education of the very young. Discard your outdated notions of 'dicovery' learning read this book. If you only ever read one psychology book it should be this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
Margaret Donaldson seems to find a nice middle ground between those who see a Childs development as needing to be highly structured and those (perhaps more deluded, lazy sort) who believe a child develops the same way no matter what, almost as if it were magic. Her theory is based on her discovery of flaws in Jean Piaget's work. The main errors that she points out are from the results of Piaget's experiments which you suddenly realise when reading this book how unscientific they were, mainly due to their ignorance of the variables. The fact is that if a child has not being taught to do something they will quite obviously fail when they are put on the spot and asked to do something.

Donaldson reasons that an excess of freedom or an excess of instruction can cause severe problems for a child's development and their future ability, however from reading this book it seems that it would always be better to err on the side of too much instruction rather than too much freedom as when looking at experimental data she finds that better instruction improves children's grasp of concepts and enables them to perform much better at any given task.

One of the main realisations that Donaldson makes and for which she must be highly commended, is the idea that error and failure are a natural and vital part of learning. It is a message that is of vital importance because in today's world failure is taboo.

One thing that is slightly disappointing is that Margaret Donaldson presents intellectual ability as a `cold' thing which I think is a real shame and something that should be dealt with.

A book well worth reading, especially for parents and teachers or anybody who comes into contact with children. There are occasional flaws in reason, but this is a solid book with much to praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


147 of 172 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars um...AMAZING, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
I really have to agree with the other reviews displayed here. This book is fantastic; it is clearly written, a beautiful length (!) and well supported with much experimental evidence. Donaldson's theories about the importance of reading in a child's development of his/her self awareness, the importance of pupil error in education, and how, as educators, we should try and encourage recognition of error should be taken note of. Digestable Developmental Psychology .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for uni, 28 Jan 2007
By 
C. Howe (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
This book has helped immensely when writing essays for uni. My course is 'Education, Culture & Society', and this book blends the 3 elements perfectly! Good evidence referred to throughout, as well as references to clear and varied opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHildrens Minds, 22 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
This book was recommended to compliment the O.U course in child psychology that I am about to embark on. This is a great book which condenses the works of Piaget's Theories whilst pointing out that there MAY be room for improvement! This book is consise and really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 22 Oct 2013
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
I brought this book to help me understand what it is like for my son but I wanted the view point from someone who deals with dyspraxia and not from a Dr. Being a parent of a dyspraxic child it is challenging mainly because I'd never heard of dyspraxia before and it seems once you get the diagnosis you are left on your own to figure it out with no real help .this book is truly a god send and I have picked up many ways to help and understand my son better and I have also passed the book on to my sons school where teachers are reading it and taking notes from it to help many other children . Victoria is an amazing inspiration to us all and I can't thank her enough for taking the time to write this book I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars /Children's Minds, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
Good book. Very easy to read and very interesting. Great for research purposes and very helpful. Would reccomend (:( :
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book Margaret Donaldson provides a great way of explained how a childs mind works showing that a young child has a fair amount of intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piaget Explianed, 29 Mar 2009
By 
R. D. Price "Researcher" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children's Minds (Paperback)
Donaldson's book is a very good exposition and critique of Piaget's staged child developmental theories. Essentially she aims to demonstrate that Piaget's own research and conclusions are not enough to explain the learning process and cognitive development of children. Piaget is the platform for developmental theory and Donaldson is the doorway through which you enter to understand it. This book is excellent for training teachers and others who work with children and students of Psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Children's Minds
Children's Minds by Margaret Donaldson (Paperback - 30 May 1986)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews