Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly charming, 15 Jun 2007
This review is from: Paddington Abroad (Paperback)
There is something utterly charming about the writing - Bond uses uncomplicated language but is so very adept at building up the muddles and trouble that Paddington, who always acts from the best motives, finds himself getting into. The way he characterises the bear is simply wonderful, with his sad little explanations as to how he can't do things with his paws, or the "very hard stares" that he gives to people he thinks are being rude, the whole book is a delight.

Here the Browns are going to France and Paddington is placed in charge of the itinery. Madness ensues, with scenes that include Paddington facing arrest at the bank, Paddington being taken away by immigration officers (a scene that's particularly funny given today's media panic over illegal immigrants, even though it was written over 40 years ago), the Browns getting stuck on a desert island and Paddington entering the Tour de France.

Because the book was written back in 1961, some of the slang may seem very strange to children today - e.g. "crikey", "smashing" and I think there's a "whizzo!" in there as well, but for adult readers I think that's all part and parcel of the nostalgia. There's also some broad stereotypes of the French (mainly with the way the accents are reproduced), which might raise some eyebrows but I think you'd really have to stretch things to suggest it's offensive, especially when the French characters are shown as being so friendly and welcoming to Paddington and the Browns.

All the familiar characters are here - the Browns and Mrs Bird, and Mr Gruber. In fact, only Mr Curry (Paddington's grumpy and unpleasant neighbour) is missing, which is a shame but does give me an excuse to go out and buy the others!

Special mention also has to be given to Peggy Fortnum's illustrations of the little bear, which are simply lovely - very simple, made with pen and ink but they really get across Paddington's character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best!, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paddington Abroad (Kindle Edition)
The Paddington books were the first stories I can remember. Reading them again the memories came flooding back, they are just SO GOOD.
I particularly wanted the books with the original (and best), Peggy Fortnum illustrations, which are as good as I remember.

My only criticism, inflation has taken over and Paddington's sixpence is now ten pence!

I can't recommend these books highly enough to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paddington's first trip to France, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Paddington Abroad (Paperback)
For the first three books of the Paddington series, Michael Bond wrote Paddington's adventures as incidents that could have been more or less connected to one anotherother, such as in the first book where the Browns welcomed him and introduced him to British customs. But in "Paddington Abroad", his adventures revolve around one concern: the Browns' summer holiday in France. As such, the book's first half concerns all the mishaps Padington has to do as he prepares himself for this trip, and the latter half revolves around the holiday itself. Though I don't want to reveal too much detail for as we all know, Paddington's adventures always take a surprising turn for everyone. My favorite chapter in this book was the one in the airport, as the Browns wonder how Paddington can get to France if he is a stowaway bear and wonder if he has a passport. I liked this chapter because this goes along with Paddington Here and Now where a disgusting rag accuses Paddington' of being an illegal immigrant, something that had created debate in newspapers and with fans all around the world.

To conclude, I loved Peggy Fortnum's illustrations which bring life to Paddington's exploits, and I loved the drawing she did for Paddington on a tricycle and of the tent he installed during a particular incident in the penultimate adventure. The drapes' details are clear and contained lot of energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paddington Abroad (Kindle Edition)
I love this book it is the best and I'm 9 and I still love it I was born in Paddington station and got lost there when I was young so I know how Paddington feels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paddington's fun abroad!, 9 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paddington Abroad (Paperback)
The fourth book in the series offers a change of scenery and sees the Browns, Mrs.Bird and Paddington have a holiday abroad. Even before they go, Paddington makes a meal of things, and only gets worse as they all arrive at the airport. Even though this book was written a few years ago, the mishaps at the airport makes the book feel modern and not at all out of date. The adventures continue on their holiday, and Paddington makes lots of friends, including some which may remind you of those in London! Adults and children will love the stories, and the way they are written means that even if you are an adult, you don't have to feel guilty about reading these books. Another fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The marmalade eating bear rules!, 21 Aug 2014
By 
M. J. Wright (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paddington Abroad (Paperback)
Mainly about a holiday in a French seaside village, but not as we've experienced it. Who can resist reading these out to your children?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paddington Abroad
Paddington Abroad by Michael Bond (Paperback - 27 Mar 2014)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews