Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 28 April 2001
This book is a very interesting read. I really enjoyed the book and read it cover to cover in less than a week, which is very quick for me. It is about a teenage boy who lives to dive. He has known all his life that he was adopted as a baby, but now as he is older, he feels incomplete and wants to find out where he comes from. The only clue he has to finding his mother is an ammonite (the snake stone) and a torn piece of paper with half an address on. James lies to his parents and sets off an epic adventure to find who he really is. The book is well worth reading and if you come from around the midlands I would reccommend it even more. From the first page I felt it was gripping, it is a book which I am definately glad I have read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 March 2011
I plucked this one from the bookshelf recently having not decided upon a longer book to get my teeth into. I am very glad I did.

This is a really lovely, heart rending, at times sad and with little bits of really tongue in cheek humour that can make you laugh out loud. it is a short book that can easily be finished within a few days or one sitting.

James is adopted, this has never been a secret kept from him and he is happy at home with Mum and Dad. However, he does really want to know who his biological mum is and sets out to find out. He is also an up and coming champion diver and the description and technical data relating to this part of the story is accurate. The adventure he sets out on to try to discover his Mum's identity is well crafted and makes the book difficult to put down.

The writing is concise and flows well. I couldn't find anything to fault in this book and would recommend it to all ages although it is aimed at the young teen market. I will be reading more books from this Author.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
I had to buy this for my son's English coursework. It took ages to work out which one is the play and which the novel, and even now I'm not sure we've got the right one. Nonetheless he's using it for his assignments. It's not exactly a fun book as the focus is a teenager coming to terms with adult issues.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2010
Heart rending story of an adopted child's journey to find his birth mother and through this understand himself. This understanding comes in a very different way from just knowing his back story. Aimed at teen market, this book is a good read for adults too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
We read this book at school (year 8) anxious the whole class have really enjoyed it. I am taking as on of those pupils . It is easy to read and there is a sense of adventure fromthe moment you pick it up. A must read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2011
A good little story this, recommended to me and claimed to be true but after reading it I don't believe it to be biography but, nice non the less
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
good fast and correct will use again

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 26 November 2000
This is a book about a boy called James who is adopted. He has always known that he was adopted and he has always been free to ask anything. But lately James starts thinking about his real mother. He becomes so obsessed by finding out who she is that he thinks a woman at a diving competition(he is a champion diver) is her and so completely wrecks the dive he is about to perform. He finds a bit of paper which was given him by his real mother and this sets him on the trail of his real family. It shows half of an address which James believes to be his mothers. While pretending to go diving training in London he sets off to find his mother. It all becomes quite predictable and boring and isn't really the kind of book that you couldn't put down. It deals with the feelings of James mostly but you can't make a great book out of just feelings and no strong storyline.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Spilled Water
Spilled Water by Sally Grindley (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2005)

The Company of Ghosts
The Company of Ghosts by Berlie Doherty (Paperback - 3 Oct. 2013)

Children of Winter
Children of Winter by Berlie Doherty (Paperback - 1 April 2007)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.