Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!
Young Shasta grew up in Calormen, but always felt a drawing towards the north. When a nobleman rides up one day, and begins negotiating with Shasta's father to buy him, he learns that he is really a foundling from Narnia. Shasta wants to escape, and opportunity presents itself, when the nobleman's horse begins to talk to him! It seems that Bree was also stolen away from...
Published on 21 Feb 2003 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Horse and His Boy
Fifth book printed, third book chronologically.

I began re-reading the Narnia series after coming across a beautiful boxed set of all seven novels. Mainly this was out of nostalgia, as these were favourites when I was young, and I was interested to see how they held up as adults. I found them all to be written very clearly with provocative descriptive prose,...
Published on 7 April 2008 by David Brookes


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 21 Feb 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Young Shasta grew up in Calormen, but always felt a drawing towards the north. When a nobleman rides up one day, and begins negotiating with Shasta's father to buy him, he learns that he is really a foundling from Narnia. Shasta wants to escape, and opportunity presents itself, when the nobleman's horse begins to talk to him! It seems that Bree was also stolen away from Narnia, so the two form an alliance and head north. But there are many adventures and surprises along the way. Plus, it seems that somebody has their eye on Shasta!
I love this book! I gather that there is some disagreement as to the order in which you should read the Chronicles of Narnia, but this one is well placed at #3, falling as it does during the later stages of the High-Kingship of Peter. This book has a wonderful Arabian Nights feel to most of it, and it is filled with adventure and suspense. I enjoyed reading this book to my children, and they enjoyed hearing it. We all recommend this book to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better for the older Narnia reader, 2 Dec 2004
By 
Ms. E. Blankson "emma_vampire" (london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Horse and His Boy (The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 3) (Paperback)
I remember this book being the worst book of all the Narina books when I read them at the age of twelve but re reading it makes all the difference. The book was both interesting and the characters were very captivating I think that its one definitely for the older reader rather than the younger readers because the magic of Narnia is captured in a different and unique way which it is not in the others book. I would question the portrayals from the book a little bit but it's not racist rather it has a subtle dig at some non - Christians but it does not in anyway flood the book with them. It is all in all a good book which I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great children's tale, 28 Aug 2000
For some reason this is the one book that seems to be forgotten in the Narnia Chroncles. Perhaps this is because it doesn't really fit in with the genral stroyline of the rest and indeed only the very end is set in Narnia. However, in my mind its the best and the descriptions of the Calormenes, (based on the old Central Asian civilisations perhaps?), are great. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Lews, 30 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
SAFE READING - NO SPOILERS

Little needs to be said about the book except that, in this audiobook, it is unabridged. (Choose carefully to avoid the abridged versions if you want the complete Lewis!)

Bought for the grand-children (too young yet but they do a lot of car-travel), it is well produced, read well and a good companion to the book. I now have the whole series.

I enjoyed it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Narnia tale!, 23 Mar 2009
By 
This is the third book in the Narnia series - if read in chronological order. This is a fun children's book that takes us back to the wonderful land of Narnia. Peter is still on the throne and Aslan is around. Shasta is an orphan, running away from a fisherman's life, helped by Bree, a horse from Narnia, also running away. On their adventures they are pushed together with Aravis and her horse and they see all types of adventure on their bid to get to Narnia - including lions, deserts and war.

I really enjoyed this book. Lewis is a great writer, engaging his audience. This is a book primarily aimed at children, and it is easy to see why they are popular, however as an adult I also enjoyed this book, and recommend it to adults too.

The characters were great. Aslan is still based loosely on God and this could be seen through the way he guided the children and his other actions. He is still my favourite character, however I loved Aravis, a strong willed girl who took no nonsense and Shasta as he grew up and became noble.

The whole book was engaging and fun. It was exciting and easy to get into. Short and sweet, a book well worth reading.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Narnia series, 14 Oct 1999
By A Customer
For some reason this is the book in the Narnia series that I return to most often. Set in the "golden" age of the four kings and queens, it deals with the travels of a small boy, Shasta and his companions through the land of Calormen. Complete in itself, it evokes the mysterious east in its description of Calormen and its customs. I look forward to introducing it to my children when they get a little older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A magical story that will thrill young and old., 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
The story line constantly moves the characters from one colourful, exotic scene to another. Expanding on events in earlier Narnia tales this story links in very well, however the interpretation given also allows this tale to stand alone, and will entrance listeners regardless of whether they have encountered other Narnia adventures or not. A magical story that will thrill young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing the magic, 11 Aug 2004
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the third book (chronologically) in the Narnia series, and the fifth one published. It is vastly different from "The Magician's Nephew" and "The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe", given that most of the story unfolds outside of Narnia, and it's missing the magic that permeated the first two books.
I hasten to add here that it is a richly descriptive novel, my best description being "Moses" meets "The Prince and the Pauper" and "Alladin" in "Arabian Nights ".
Breehy-hinny-brinny-hoohy-hah, aka Bree, the horse in question does not live up to the "star" billing of the title, being a touch vain, proud and conceited and a little chicken in times of trouble, but without him there would not be a story, and Shasta (his boy, as you may have guessed)would still be a Tarkaan's slave.
They are joined in this adventure by Aravis Tarkheena, assisted by her stable and sensible horse Hwin. Aravis is fleeing an arranged marriage to an ugly old brown-nosing Grand Vizier-designate with a humpback.
Together they defy the odds, fight and squabble a lot, uncover a treacherous plot and finally crawl across the desert into Narnia via Archenland to help save the day.
A grand battle ensues to satisfy the rejection issues of hot headed Tashbaan Prince Rabadash, and Queen Lucy and King Edward (of Book 2) are right in the middle of the fray. High King Peter is off fighting somewhere else, and Queen Susan is staying out of this one, even though she more or less started it. All our friendly mythical creatures appear at this point.
Shasta finds his true identity, his real family, and secures his future job, and everybody lives more or less happily ever after, except Rabadash, who makes a jackass of himself.
No story of Narnia is complete without the presence of the great and powerful Aslan, who appears in various guises throughout the story, guiding, calming, disciplining and protecting his children.
Another compelling story for all ages.
Amanda Richards August 7, 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 28 Sep 2001
This review is from: The Horse and His Boy (The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 3) (Paperback)
This book is a classic. In it Lewis clearly but subtly exposes many of the characteristics of human nature. Although Children's literature, it is well worth the read for any adult, for there are many points that the children merely find interestnig, which the adults are able to see the deeper meaning in.
However, it is Christian. One should read that forewarned. It presupposes many of the things in the Christian world view. Included in this is the fact that some societies are evil and have barbaric practices. It is NOT however racist. Anyone who believes that it is racist has a rather shallow understanding if literature. First the heroine is of dark skin. Second, the animals of all different types are cooperating with the good humans. It is the good who cooperate against the bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING/AMAZING my personal favorite out of the narnia books, 4 Jan 2009
By 
Such a good book, very adventurous about a boy and a girl running away together and meeting up along the way both with different stories and backgrounds.... riding on horses that talk venturing towards narnia...

Its such a great book so different from the rest but still captures the magic that all the books hold.

I recommend it for anyone who enjoys other NARNIAN BOOKS/ADVENTURE/HAPPY ENDINGS/moments of happiness and moments of slight fear (not enough fear to scare anyone)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Horse and His Boy (The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 3)
The Horse and His Boy (The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 3) by C. S. Lewis (Paperback - 1 Oct 2001)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews