Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cleversticks., 30 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. It is the story of how when a child first starts school or nursery they may find that there are things which they are unable to do or that other children may be better at things than they are. However it is also a great multicultural book with Chinese Ling Sung and a whole host of children and adults in his class from different races.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 3 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
Great book with lovely illustrations. My class of three year olds enjoyed the story. Led to a session where the children discussed what they found difficult at school and what they felt they were good at. Lots of curriculum areas covered. Thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cleversticks, 22 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. R. L. Scott (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
This book was great for an introduction into teaching children about the Chinese culture. Also fantastic for an a follow up for a circle time activity as it depicts all children with individual talents and abilities. A real useful resource for classroom or home use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice little story, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
This is a lovely little story to be read around Chinese New Year. My class love the pictures and really enjoyed trying to have a go at using chopsticks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story for pre schoolers!, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
This is a lovely tale of pride and perseverance and great at Chinese new year,or anytime! Nice illustrations too A .Brilliant pre school read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hand and eye co-ordination, 27 Sep 2012
By 
Owl "Ollie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
This is a lovely story to help understand that they might not be good at everything but there is always something they can do that maybe someone else needs help with. The pictures are very clear and bright and the story has a good feel to it and a nice way of putting across a meaning of how we are all different and how we all fit in this world. This will be a good story to use at chinese new year or if you are wanting the children to try out their hand and eye co-ordination skills. I like the children will probably need to practice a lot to get as good as the boy in cleversticks. I love this story and I am sure it will become a great favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
Lively and bright book which shows children that we are not all good at everything but are good at somethings. Really nice book which can be enjoyed on a one to one or with groups of children. Highly recomended for children over the age of 3 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever Sticks, 14 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
A lovely book, the children enjoy reading it and looking at the pictures. Good condition and arrived quickly. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars charming story, 17 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
This book is beautifully written. It is a good multicultural story with different characters from different ethnicities. It covers school vocabulary and follows the theme of everyone is good at something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for pre-schoolers exposed to diversity IN REAL LIFE, 21 Oct 2014
By 
Celina Thom (Rochester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleversticks (Picture Lions) (Paperback)
Wonderful depiction of a multicultural classroom (albeit in the early 90s based on the fashion and IT equipment!). It is hard to find children's books with non white characters that aren't specifically about racial issues. This is exactly what I was looking for: a book that presents a happy mix of kids from different backgrounds just being kids. Accurately represents the kind of classroom many kids are in today but which seems to be whitewashed out of so many other children's picture books. Great for starting a dialog about how we all have our own strengths to share with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cleversticks (Picture Lions)
Cleversticks (Picture Lions) by Bernard Ashley (Paperback - 7 Oct 2002)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews