Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth reading
What is there not to like about this book, it combines two of the best things in life, food and sex and it does it in an interesting way telling some bizarre stories. I enjoyed reading this book, the only bad thing when I read it was I was very sick and got sick if I even drank water, I felt the hunger when I read it but I couldn't stop. As a result of this book I have...
Published on 16 Sep 2008 by OK

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A terrible state
I have never received a second hand book in such bad condition. Front cover was cup stained (easy to wipe clean).Inside the book was ash and badly stained with tea or coffee. Most charity shops would have thrown it away. Disgusting!
Published 15 months ago by Karen Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth reading, 16 Sep 2008
By 
What is there not to like about this book, it combines two of the best things in life, food and sex and it does it in an interesting way telling some bizarre stories. I enjoyed reading this book, the only bad thing when I read it was I was very sick and got sick if I even drank water, I felt the hunger when I read it but I couldn't stop. As a result of this book I have read more of Isabel Allende's books and magical realism too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the senses, 15 May 2001
This review is from: Aphrodite (Paperback)
Food, Sex, Isabel Allende, if you love any or all of the above then this is a must have! From the first page the author welcomes you in like an old friend, she then leads you thru. history, literature and her personal loves and life and leaves you feeling titilated and hungrey for more! Keep it in the kitchen or by your bed but definatly have it within easy reach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light-hearted but literary thoughts on foods and senses, 9 Oct 2001
By 
Mi-Ok Chu (Seoul, Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
I find this book not uncommon in terms of subject. However, I find it quite unique and valuable in the way the perspective about senses is developed throughout the book. The author says it is a journey into her memory of senses. And I think it was a nice and delicious journey that enlightened me in senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feast of Pleasures!, 21 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. E. W. Palmer (York UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aphrodite (Paperback)
This writer was my inspiration, following the death of my wife, and I have read all but one of her books. The use of language, the understated humour and the possibilites that the recipes, included in the book, are a delight. As a keen (and competent cook), I am looking forward to "having a go", not for the aphrodisiac potential, because at 73, with mild prostate cancer, I might be wasting my time and effort. However, one never knows!!!
Everyone should read this author's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure aphrodisiac material, 11 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Aphrodite (Hardcover)
One word simply describes Aliende's latest : Aphrodisiac. This is not only in reference to the recipes of the book but also to the way she writes .Her stories of her life , the myth are all belnd marvelously put together and the result is a bible of what Aliende calls "The love of food and the food of love". Definetely for those who see food as more that a biological need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sexy recipes & romantic remedies, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aphrodite (Paperback)
Very enjoyable and fun read containing poems and anecdotes and recipes from all over the world.
A book that aims to breathe humour and enjoyment back into relationships - through food.
Recipes to reconcilliate, mend , attract and put fire in your belly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Food and sensuality in a wonderous mix!, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Aphrodite (Paperback)
The cover of this edition of the book is very misleading (there are other editions) - Allende brings to life the sensuality of food through anecdotes, recipes, personal stories and pictures - although some of the food suggestions may not be to your taste. A wonderful book that you can just open up anywhere and delve straight into. Not a new book but an essential on any serious foodie's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Life, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aphrodite (Paperback)
I love Allende - for any fan of her fiction, and memoirs, this celebration of life, love and cooking is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Friend in Greece loves it. Reached her for her Birthday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best reads you will ever have, lively, fun., 3 Mar 2010
This review is from: Aphrodite (Paperback)
Since the opening words, is gripping.
Love, sex, food, all mixed with smazing stories that the author collected from her family and friends.
Veru well written, a delight from top to bottom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aphrodite
Aphrodite by Isabel Allende (Paperback - 19 July 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews