Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
"The Doors of Perception" is an account of Huxley’s experience of taking the hallucinatory drug Mescalin under controlled conditions, and the rather rambling but vivid thoughts and sensations that resulted. Huxley’s abilities as a writer enable him to describe them much more effectively than most people could.
"Heaven and Hell" is a post experience...
Published on 14 July 2003 by S. Diment

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doors of perception was great, haven and he'll was annoying
It was hard to rate this book two of them were so different. I loved doors of perception - it was a great insight into his experience with mescaline and I don't think there are really any comparable descriptions and analyses of drug experiences out there, especially thanks to the way he structured the trip itself.

By way of contrast, I found heaven and hell...
Published 13 months ago by theo


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Sep 2009
Yeah, this is a really good book. Although both were a bit shorter than I expected, they were also brimming with knoledge and ideas. Though I found some parts of Heaven and Hell to be a bit pretentious, on the whole, I greatly reccomend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Russells new book, 13 May 2009
By 
Russell Wells - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this book, I know its one I will read again soon
theres so much to it even though it has not many pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice stuff, 10 Sep 2000
This review is from: The Doors of Perception, Heaven and Hell (Flamingo Modern Classics) (Paperback)
i liked this book. It showed how drugs can alter your perception, not only of the world, but the way your rational mind can try to make sense of things. Read it in good humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read it!, 23 Mar 1999
By A Customer
I think it is on of the best books I have ever read, I would recomend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, evocative, wise and, above all, humane., 2 July 1998
By A Customer
There is nothing the pen of Huxley touches that it does not illuminate and as the record of a highly civilised, brilliantly articulate man under the influance of an astonishing drug, The Doors of Perception is a tour de force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightening, 1 Jun 1998
By A Customer
This book changed the way I look at books. Huxley was able to take the findings of his experiment and make it into elloquent reading. The book was captivating and intriguing. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To far out man, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had to give it a go but for me a piece probably about a subject matter that was a million miles from what I would normally read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Huxley is great writer, but perception is not a compilation of otherness, 13 July 2012
I enjoyed reading this book very much, but I didn't read it as an example of enlightenment or clearness of perception. I read it as a well written piece of literature. Huxley is a brave novelist and thinker. One only needs to read his visionary "Brave New World" to come to this conclusion. He knows how to put certain ideas into words, he knows how to show things. And that is, in my opinion, all and the maximum you can expect from a mortal human being. A gifted human being (a gifted artist of whatever nature) is able to compile information, to form conclusions and to express them in one way or another that is more or less original. As much as I love any form of art, I would never try to gain any kind of liberty of perception from it. Perception is not art, it's not something you can achieve artificially. It's a gift beyond human creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doors, 28 April 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors of Perception, Heaven and Hell (Flamingo Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Well it did inspire Jim Morrison. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doors of Perception, Heaven and Hell (Flamingo Modern Classics)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews