Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballard at his Best
I have read most of what Ballard has written; and I can't understand why this novel is so neglected, compared to The Atrocity Exhibition or Crash. To me this is the best thing he has written in the long form. Some of his short stories may be a bit better; but this is an absolute masterpiece, and it's probably the book I'd first give a friend to allow him or her to...
Published on 17 Nov 2007 by Vittorio Caffè

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Kindness Of Women
After reading Empire Of The Sun, an exceptionally well written and interesting book it makes you wonder why the author wrote this sequel, I personally was glad to reach the end. I have read the write ups on the back cover and wonder if they are talking of the same book, it almost seems this was written by a different author it is so different in style. My opinion of this...
Published 8 months ago by Zulu Warrior


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballard at his Best, 17 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Kindness of Women (Paperback)
I have read most of what Ballard has written; and I can't understand why this novel is so neglected, compared to The Atrocity Exhibition or Crash. To me this is the best thing he has written in the long form. Some of his short stories may be a bit better; but this is an absolute masterpiece, and it's probably the book I'd first give a friend to allow him or her to discover the Ballard World. It's a complex and astounding mix of facts and fiction, of visionary imagination and down-to-earth realism. The parts about the death of the protagonist's wife, the end of the war, the making of the movie Empire of the Sun in Shepperton should be in anthologies of English literature. His prose is dazzling, and this is probably the only long book by ballard where we don't meet his stereotypical characters only, but a wide variety of persons. All in all, a must-read for those who think Ballard is only Empire of the Sun and Crash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 17 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: The Kindness of Women (Paperback)
Even if you are new to J.G. Ballard or if Ballard's other novels are not your cup of tea, this 'fictional auto-biography' loosely based on Ballard's life in the fifties and sixties is an engrossing read, Ballard's prose is at his best here, from a brilliant description of a home birth to visiting a friend in a psychiatric hospital, to losing his wife and the resultant grief, and much much more. Too good to miss and superior to his otherwise also interesting auto-biography. There are not many books quite like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest books of the last centuary, 28 April 2002
This review is from: The Kindness of Women (Paperback)
This book fills in around "Empire of the Sun" and goes a long way to explaining the perversities of "The Atrocity Exhibition" and "Crash". Compulsive reading for almost anyone. The story of Ballards life (more or less). I can only say read it. Then read it again and give it to someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What women!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
J.G. Was a revelation to me when I read Empire of The Sun and this is the sequel, just as good. A classic 'literary novel' of the first water. I marvelled at his description of the ordinary and of the less so which left me revelling in his powers of insight and description.
If it isn't already , I imagine this will be an A Level set book in years to come. Thoroughly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kindness of Women, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book an interesting read and a great sequel to Empire of The Sun. I Would recommend this If you liked empire of the sun and would like to know what happened to wee Jim.

Just in case you don't expect it, I never, this book has explicit scenes that are a little uncomfortable to read at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An autobiographical tour-de-force, 23 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Kindness of Women (Paperback)
Ballard shows his mastery of narrative by giving us glimpses of the turning points in his life. Rather than opting for a straight chronological narration, he illustrates the defining role the women of his life have played, and the impact they've had on both his personal life, and his creativity as an author. At times hilarious, at times unsettling, the novel never fails to spark the senses and leaves the reader with a sense of an irresistable lust for life. Eminently readable on its own, but also a great companion read to Empire of the Sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'Empire' but what is?, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kindness of Women (Paperback)
The second of three autobiographical texts in the Ballard canon, 'Kindness' revisits the childhood experience covered by 'Empire of the Sun' (albeit from a different angle), before embarking on the equally extraordinary life of the adult in post-war Britain. The new territory peels back another layer of explanation for the leitmotif recurrent in Ballard's fiction, grounding the outlandish and bizarre elements of his work in a reality that could not (seemingly) have been made up. In the provenance produced for signature themes such as the car crash and the sexual stimulus provided by the geometry of the built environment, the roots of his stark SF imagery can be traced back to the symptoms exhibited by sufferers of war neurosis, and the marital bliss enjoyed by the writer in his suburban home. However, as Ballard confessed in the final part of the autobiographical trilogy 'The Miracles of Life', much of what is written in 'Empire' and 'Kindness' is fictitious, and so it is through this later text that the serious detective of biography must re-read the earlier novels if they are to sort out what really is what with the Seer of Shepperton. The ambiguity in the writers feelings toward the Japanese is less poignantly reproduced in 'Kindness' than it was in 'Empire'; the childhood hunger pangs which divided his loyalty in the camp have been superceded by an adult's cravings, made all the more realiseable with the destruction of the enemy with the Atom bomb. Also, it is noteworthy that in this novel, Ballard mystifyingly resources the prose style of pornography when describing sex, a departure from his usual technique, which gives this text a certain distinction within his body of work as a whole, though not, perhaps, a favourable one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Dec 2003
By 
R. B. Jones (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kindness of Women (Paperback)
This is a great book, full of good ideas as well as the usual Ballard themes (emasculated accountants, TV cameras, acts of violence, cars and planes). It basically revolves around Jim's life after returning from China, focussing in particular on his relationships with women. I'm enjoying this much more than Empire of the Sun, which I found to be a bit tedious, more than High Rise, and almost as much as Super Cannes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Kindness Of Women, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kindness of Women (Paperback)
After reading Empire Of The Sun, an exceptionally well written and interesting book it makes you wonder why the author wrote this sequel, I personally was glad to reach the end. I have read the write ups on the back cover and wonder if they are talking of the same book, it almost seems this was written by a different author it is so different in style. My opinion of this book, boring, uninteresting, some of these experiences I believe only exist in the authors imagination, don't bother reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheated!!, 17 Jan 2008
By 
Lisa (Essex England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kindness of Women (Paperback)
The reason that I have only given this book 2 stars, is that it tells the story, albeit in brief of The Empire of The Sun, which I feel is 4*. This book is billed as a sequel and I feel that to spend the first part of it re-telling the earlier book in a watered down version is very unfair to purchasers and readers of both books. I felt cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kindness of Women
The Kindness of Women by J. G. Ballard (Paperback - 25 Sep 2014)
£7.19
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews