Customer Reviews


312 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Look into the Future
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley is set in a technology-rich future where test-tube babies and subconscious learning dominate peopleļ¿½s lives. At first, the reader is introduced to the method and capabilities of genetic engineering, where scientists are able to design babies, changing their attributes (intelligence, physical strength, etc) in order to tailor a...
Published on 26 Jun. 2003

versus
32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Playing God
Brave New World tells the story of a future time when society and everyone's fate is engineered by advanced technology and brain washing. The aim of this brave new world is to ensure that everyone is happy, and as a matter of fact, this aim is almost perfectly achieved. It portrays a world where humans have mastered the necessarily technology to play God, and this...
Published on 18 Sept. 2000


‹ Previous | 120 21 2232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
had mislaid my old copy from ~60 years ago, remains topical in this now real AI age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thought-provoking, 9 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
Aldous Huxley was recommended by the reading list at my sixth form and by my girlfriend. His most famous book is "Brave New World" and I decided to give it a try after hearing it concerned a future society, a dystopia.

At the beginning it is rather heavy going: the director describing the process of breeding and I thought I would become indifferent to the book.

However, it really becomes good when Bernard Marx is introduced. He has become frustrated with the society, and his colleagues mocking his appearance. Helmholtz Watson is equally frustrated; a lover of poetry, yet due to the society he cannot write such emotional poetry.

Lenina Crowne is a typical citizen of the state and falls in love with John the Savage. She has been conditioned to have sex with every date, and when John refuses she becomes confused by his chivalrous actions.

John is a so-called "savage". He comes from the old world and quotes Shakespeare and claims his right to unhappiness, indeed his discussion with Mustapha Mond, a controller, is the highlight of the book. He is my favourite character and one I personally identified with in his frustrations at society's enforcement of happiness over personal freedoms; when asked by Mond if he claims rights to be unhappy and other things not present in the state, John says "I claim them all". With John's suicide comes the end of the old civilisation.

Bernard is simply annoying. Frustrated but unwilling to rebel, he finds fame at exposing the director's child with Linda, John's mother. However with the fame Bernard decides that the state is beneficial to him, and becomes overly-confident (groping the school mistress for example). He uses John for his fame, and when John refuses to attend a hyped party set up by Bernard, Bernard loses all his credibility. He is tragic in that he desperately begs to be allowed to stay in the state whilst in contrast Helmholtz and John almost relish in the trouble they're in.

"Brave New World" then is a fascinating book that made me realise we are all socially conditioned to a set way. Huxley's book is a warning to the future. And there is truth in it. Look around you and you increasingly see examples of where freedom is substituted for enforced happiness. I urge you to read "Brave New World", a book that is worryingly relevant to today's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Kindle Edition)
seems a little outdated reading it again after 20 years but still a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brave New World, 12 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
I think the future Huxley creates in Brave New World is both imaginative and hugely dystopic, but in describing the mindless existence of the new world's inhabitants Huxley emphasises just how valuable such things as freedom of thought and expression, which we take for granted, really are. So although Huxley's material is dystopic, there is joy to be taken from the heightened sense of the individual, which the reader gains.

Stylistically, I think this book is fantastic. Yes, some will complain it lacks a certain degree of complexity, but if so they have unappreciated Huxley's precise and elegant prose. This is an important book, not to be under-estimated, and hugely prophetic considering how long ago it was written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still shocking after all these years, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
I guess I should admit that I read this as a child . . . although I am not sure how far I got. I read 1984 but Orwell's classics do less for me than some of his more politicised and less known work. Brave New World really respresents the society we live in quite well considering the book was written in 1932.

I sat down shocked. Then thought of the use of drugs in society, the use of plastic surgery and the way we live. A bit too accurate in some respects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
Bought it for my daughter who enjoyed it as much as I did at 15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
My favourite book in the world. This story is truly mesmerising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
Really lovely product, looks brand new, was delivered quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice o3o, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
it okey i bought it for my brother but its looks good lol !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Aug. 2014
By 
M. V. Westwood (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brave New World (Paperback)
Absolutely fantastic especially if you like science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 2232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brave New World (Flamingo modern classics)
Brave New World (Flamingo modern classics) by Aldous Huxley (Paperback - 10 Jan. 1994)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews