Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scientists are still playing 'catch up' to the mystics.
Quote from book - "I also hope to find among my readers many physicists with an interest in the philosophical aspects of physics, who have not come in contact with the religious philosophies of the East. They will find that Eastern Mysticism provides a consistent and beautiful philosophical framework which can accommodate our most advanced theories of the physical...
Published on 7 July 2006 by David Langley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to read this again after 30 years
This book was a passion for me when I read it as a young Physics graduate with an interest in alternative religions. I bought this to find out if the I shared the same passion. It is an interesting book and worth reading but I do not feel the fascination I felt at the time.
Published 3 months ago by tonydunn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Parallels are not equivalents., 4 July 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Tao of Physics (Flamingo) (Paperback)
There are many solid books on connections and continuity in history and religion and physics. However Jacob Bronowski, "The Ascent of Man", would turn me over in my grave if he found out that I was reading such books as this. There are too many quasi science quasi religion books that want to take some principle and reinterpret it to be a New age truth or prove the some old blind philosopher beat us too it for example (The Seat of the Soul.) Dr. Capra is drawing parallels in two fields and not trying to say "see I told you so". He takes the time and pages to describe the science and also does a pretty good job of distilling complex religions down to single chapters. I leave it up to Dr. Capra and you to determine if there really is any parallel. A parallel does not mean equivalents. If you are a Gary Zukav sort of person this book will not help you at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
By 
M. A. Bradish - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tao of Physics (Flamingo) (Paperback)
Fully recommend to Buddhists, David Bohm/JK readers,Tolle readers,Non-Dualists and Advaita Vedantas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a lot of drivel, 18 April 2012
This review is from: The Tao of Physics (Flamingo) (Paperback)
I read this book before studying either Eastern mysticism or modern physics. Even then I got the feeling that the book can be summarised: "here is a statement from a modern physicist which the author doesn't understand, and here is a translation of a statement from an Eastern mystic which the author also doesn't understand. Both statements contain the same word, so they must be saying the same thing". Having now studied both, I have to say my view has only been confirmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Intellect Interprets the Spiritual, 3 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Physics (Flamingo) (Paperback)
The human mind has a predisposition to religious belief,if it is not being satisfied by conventional means then it expresses itself through the spirit of the age.In this case we are to worship at the shrine of Quantum Physics, a group of theories so bulging with ambiguities and unexplained phenomena that it will slot right into the mystical "there must be more to life" hole.
You could interpret it as the intellect trying to interpret the spiritual,in which case the inevitable outcome will be that the more spiritual personages got there 2000 or more years ago albeit through ritual and allegorical symbolism, but then again what is science ?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Epic Fail (Kindle Version), 4 Feb 2011
As a text on physics and eastern culture, the book delivers an interesting journey rich in comparisons and enlightments.
But as an e-book the text is severly lacking... all the images have been misteriously suppressed leaving the reader with the physical impossiblity of understanding what`s the author speaking of.
Imagine no images when speaking of the patterns of particle collisions, imagine no references for the lists of known particles, not even an image of the I-Ching esagrams. In the end a poor reader like me has to buy the actual book, making owning a Kindle quite useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
This review is from: The Tao of Physics (Flamingo) (Paperback)
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars He may understand the science, but..., 21 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. G. M. Buller "Graum the bookish" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tao of Physics (Flamingo) (Paperback)
I found this book to be a load of rubbish. Whilst Capra knows a lot about physics his knowledge of mysticism is sorely lacking. This means that he completely fails to achieve what he sets out to.

Try one of the myriad of other books that treat the subject more accurately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 7 July 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Physics (Flamingo) (Paperback)
An interesting read. Covers a lot of ground, and draws some fascinating parallels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tao of Physics (Flamingo)
The Tao of Physics (Flamingo) by Fritjof Capra (Paperback - 20 Feb 1992)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews