Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird, in a good way...
I found this book slightly confusing, but I actually think that was O'Brien's intention. He cleverly blurs fantasy and reality, while at the same time conjuring up vivid and distrbing images of the Vietnam war. It is very well written throughout and O'Brien's style keeps you hooked.
I bought this book after reading "If I Die in a Combat Zone", and to be...
Published on 28 Mar. 2006 by Neil Goodacre

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good, not great, read
Overall, this was a pretty good book but it retrospect it came across more as a warm-up for The Things They Carried (an excellent, five-star book.) O'Brien plays around a little with magic realism here but if you're read anything about the Vietnam War, a lot of this book will be real familiar.
Published on 22 Mar. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird, in a good way..., 28 Mar. 2006
By 
Neil Goodacre - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going After Cacciato (Flamingo) (Paperback)
I found this book slightly confusing, but I actually think that was O'Brien's intention. He cleverly blurs fantasy and reality, while at the same time conjuring up vivid and distrbing images of the Vietnam war. It is very well written throughout and O'Brien's style keeps you hooked.
I bought this book after reading "If I Die in a Combat Zone", and to be honest I didn't enjoy this book as much. It's still very good, don't get me wrong, but if you're going to read one book by Tim O'Brien then go for "If I Die".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 Jan. 2003
By 
. "eddean7" (China (but from UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Going After Cacciato (Flamingo) (Paperback)
I was enthralled by this book. It's confusing at first, mixing in different narrative streams, but as you realise what's happening the story's power grows.
O'Brien writes so well, and certain chapters stick in my memory as perfect stand-alone images of the war - soldiers arriving at a hot LZ, or trudging up a hill trail in the jungle. It's a book I will certainly re-read one day, and I'd recommend it - an ingenious blend of gritty realism and fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Going After Cacciato, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going After Cacciato (Flamingo) (Paperback)
Going After Cacciato (Flamingo)

Going After Cacciato describes the Vietnam world from a unique, surreal perspective.

At times this novel might appear too slow-paced or difficult to follow due to its flights of fantasy, but the sequence of the action is clear despite its surreal occurrences, and it's worth becoming lost in its strongly imaginative elements. Going After Cacciato does not so much talk about the war as it describes a state of mind and a desire to escape from a world where everything appears devoid of meaning. It's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 2 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. R. J. Dowse "shumba" (Fareham,Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going After Cacciato (Flamingo) (Paperback)
Going After Cacciato (Flamingo)
I first read this 23years ago and came back to it again as it is an enthralling tale that must be re-read.
O`Brien has weaved an unputdownable story that both intrigues and beguiles with sadness and humour-- dont miss it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Fiction, Vietnam War Meets Magic Realism written by an authentic pen, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going After Cacciato (Flamingo) (Paperback)
A classic that could only have been written by someone who experienced first hand the full spectrum of human experience and emotion from within the theatre of the Vietnam War. Cacciato, a serving US soldier goes AWOL to make his way by foot from Vietnam to Paris, the paradise in his head. Several of his company are taske to find him. Their paths cross and wane and both go on a journey that noone could ever have predicted.

Superbly written, wonderful realistic dialogue and beautifully evoked authentic descriptions of landscape made it a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paris before breakfast, 22 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Going After Cacciato (Flamingo) (Paperback)
Tim O'Brien's book made me smile, laugh and cry. The beauty of the book is in the possibility that imagination can be the reserve of young men dealing with being thrust into horrific situations. Cacciato's moon like face should draw us all on to imagine what lies underneath the hole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good, not great, read, 22 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Going After Cacciato (Flamingo) (Paperback)
Overall, this was a pretty good book but it retrospect it came across more as a warm-up for The Things They Carried (an excellent, five-star book.) O'Brien plays around a little with magic realism here but if you're read anything about the Vietnam War, a lot of this book will be real familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going After Cacciato (Flamingo) (Paperback)
Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice Cover!, 30 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Going After Cacciato (Paperback)
Do not judge a book by it's cover. I in one way do in one way don't. I appreciate a cover well-suited to the content, or an interesting one in other words. But also some of my favourite reads have had really tatty, or even tacky covers. These are mostly 1940s books, where publicity in a post-modern perspective did a really poor job in marketing! Yes, I judge a book by it's cover..and its title. Going After Cacciato I chose because the title sounded so hot and exotic, and I had read The Things They Carried in 11th grade IB class. I enjoyed the latter. Going After Cacciato was a disappointment! Again, I am one that needs to finish a book once I start it. This Vietnam, multi-character-experience, magical realism concoction was just too much dream-like. Like writing a story, the big no no, where the character at the end of the book wakes up and the entire book has been a dream. It is not so in this one, but reminiscent of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going After Cacciato (Flamingo)
Going After Cacciato (Flamingo) by Tim O'Brien (Paperback - 2 July 2010)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews