Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!
Being a horse lover anyway, this book is definately right up my street, but I had to read it anyway, (my friend said I should!!!) It's a really good read, although only a small book, Monty is a brilliant writer, and the ending is very emotional, it made me cry anyway!!!! brilliant book, and an awesome read, you must have it!!!!
Published on 17 Jun 2004

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Truth behind Shy Boy
As a dramatic story it sounds great. Monty Roberts who is incorrectly credited as being the person who single-handedly changed the way in which we bring up, back and school horses, although there are and have been many, many like him through the ages, most of who did their work outside the limelight, goes out in the American wild west to tame a mustang stallion and...
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by Konstanze Allsopp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!, 17 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shy Boy: The Horse That Came in From the Wild (Paperback)
Being a horse lover anyway, this book is definately right up my street, but I had to read it anyway, (my friend said I should!!!) It's a really good read, although only a small book, Monty is a brilliant writer, and the ending is very emotional, it made me cry anyway!!!! brilliant book, and an awesome read, you must have it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow..., 3 Feb 2001
By A Customer
this is an amazing story of how one man managed to train a wild horse. Being a keen rider myself, it is amazing to see and read how one man can do something that so many have only dreamed of. The story is told well, capturing all of the emothion of both Monty and Shy Boy in the story and the amazing photos. This is guarenteed to make any old softie like me cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monty's greatest challenge - to join-up with a wild mustang!, 28 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: Shy Boy: The Horse That Came in From the Wild (Paperback)
Monty Roberts is the American horseman often referred to as the original horse whisperer, but who prefers to think of himself as The Man Who Listens To Horses (The title of his autobiography) Some who heard his claims about his abilities to speak the language of horses were sceptical to say the least. To prove his point to the doubters he accepts a challenge to achieve 'join-up' with a totally unhandled, wild-living mustang. This is the eponymous Shy Boy and we follow their exploits in the mountains along with a BBC camera crew. But we the readers are privileged to be there with Monty a year after the camera crew has gone home and Shy Boy has been living as a ranch horse. Monty asks himself the question, "Given free choice, will Shy Boy choose to go back to his herd or stay with his new human herd?" The final chapter sees him take the horse back to his home range and give him just that choice. Throughout this simply written tale we feel as if we are there with the man and his horse and the tension we all endure at the end is agonising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Read, 15 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Shy Boy: The Horse That Came in From the Wild (Paperback)
I've already read Monty Roberts' Man Who Listens To Horses book where he mentions Shy Boy so I just had to read the Shy Boy book to read more. I highly recommend reading both books, Shy Boy is such a great read, I could hardly put it down. The work of Monty Roberts is so amazing, and his journey with Shy Boy really is fancinating, he does what you think cannot be done, but he has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most enlightening book I have ever read, 22 Nov 2001
By A Customer
I have read the other monty roberts books and being a new parent this one appealed even more. He writes from the heart and does not patronise. His views are different but they make sense. If every one could change by using just one of his suggestions the world would be a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a wondwerful insight into the work of monty roberts, 27 Mar 2000
By A Customer
an amazing book that gives a real feeling of wonderment. truly inspirational and tear jerking in parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HORSE SENSE, 7 Jan 2000
By A Customer
I think this book really shows the qualities of Monty and his his magic way with the wild mustangs. Shy Boy learns Monty's language while Monty learns Shy Boy's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Horse book, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Terence Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good Christmas present for my grown up daughter - she was delighted with it. As a used copy the condition was excellent, and packing and delivery was up to the usual high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 26 July 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever, Monty Roberts is astounding in his approach to communicating with horses. This is an amazing read which takes on a new level of emotional experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, 7 May 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shy Boy: The Horse That Came in From the Wild (Paperback)
Excellent reading have recommended it to one of my grand daughters as it was so informative. His observations of horses in the wild, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef45954)

This product

Shy Boy: The Horse That Came in From the Wild
Shy Boy: The Horse That Came in From the Wild by Monty Roberts (Paperback - 6 Mar 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews