Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best
I was born in Hong Kong and lived there till I was 14, and I'm totally gripped by this book! I have never realised before I read it that most of my beliefs of the world and the forces of Nature are so intrinsically Chinese. I love the idea of the one-ness of nature and Mah explains it very well. It's something all westerners should read and try to experience!
Published on 31 Aug 2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Adeline's other books.
When I first started reading this book it was hard to get into, but once I understood the way Adeline wrote it it becomes very educational and teaches you about Chinese folklore and culture. Chinese Cinderella is more about her life, whereas Watching the Tree is a mixture of her stories relating to the ways of the Chinese.
Published on 16 Dec 2001 by Ms. Helen Regent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 31 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Watching the Tree: A Chinese Daughter Reflects on Happiness, Spiritual Beliefs and Universal Wisdom (Paperback)
I was born in Hong Kong and lived there till I was 14, and I'm totally gripped by this book! I have never realised before I read it that most of my beliefs of the world and the forces of Nature are so intrinsically Chinese. I love the idea of the one-ness of nature and Mah explains it very well. It's something all westerners should read and try to experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A suberb read, 1 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the Tree: A Chinese Daughter Reflects on Happiness, Spiritual Beliefs and Universal Wisdom (Paperback)
I genuinely found this book to be fantastic. I was curious when I first saw it and I am so glad I picked it up in my school library. Yen Mah talks about the philosophies of China that still affect its rapidly changing society, and from an Western-Chinese backgrond, I found it very relevant to understanding my own culture and how being Chinese has influenced my thinking and my outlook. For one thing, Chinese love their food more than anything. Definately me!
She writes colourfully, humourously and clearly. I could not put this book down, I literally finished it in two days. I think that anyone who has a sincere interest in the Chinese culture to anyone who enjoys philosophy to anyone who just wants something entertaining to read, should definately give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that should be read!!!, 27 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Having to be a British born Chinese, my knowledge of the my own culture was not very good. But when I got Watching the Tree for Christmas and started reading it, I got absorbed to it. The more absorbed I was, the book just simply got better and interesting. It mixes the Chinese language, religion, philosophy and history together, and applies them to some of her experience in her life, making this book very enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from adeline, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching the Tree: A Chinese Daughter Reflects on Happiness, Spiritual Beliefs and Universal Wisdom (Paperback)
Again, a great book from Adeline yen mah. I thoroughly enjoyed this. It is well worth getting. A great book for anyone who is interested in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, 19 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Watching the Tree: A Chinese Daughter Reflects on Happiness, Spiritual Beliefs and Universal Wisdom (Paperback)
This is an amazing read! So much so, that I couldn't put it down. I read it in one day. Adeline Yen Mah reflects on Philosophy, Wisdom, Happiness, Culture, Diet and Religion.

Inspirational woman and great author.

I have since gone on to purchase her other books.

I would highly recommend this to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watching the Tree, 20 Oct 2008
Watching the Tree

If someone want to know about China then he/she must read this.

After starting the reading, I don't feel to put it down, really good one, it feels that Author is seating on the next chair and telling the story to you. This book shows us the culture of china, I am very impressed by the defination of various words from Chinese and their script.
The introduction of various Chinese classical like I Ching, Tao Te Ching, Art of the War, etc is amazing with their practical example from private life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good book., 3 Mar 2001
In the beginning it goes a bit slow but if you can get past this you would find the book great. I was reading it in a moment when I needed some peace and the book helped me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It changed my understanding of chinese thinking, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
"The only thing that doesn't change is that everything changes" is the motto of the book, and Adeline Yen Mah describes the eastern thinking so well that it makes you understand it better. She succeeds remarkably well in her goal to promote a better understanding between western and eastern thinking, and thereby changed at least my thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Adeline's other books., 16 Dec 2001
By 
Ms. Helen Regent "winnie_the_pooh_tigger" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watching the Tree: A Chinese Daughter Reflects on Happiness, Spiritual Beliefs and Universal Wisdom (Paperback)
When I first started reading this book it was hard to get into, but once I understood the way Adeline wrote it it becomes very educational and teaches you about Chinese folklore and culture. Chinese Cinderella is more about her life, whereas Watching the Tree is a mixture of her stories relating to the ways of the Chinese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews