Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars142
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2016
Starts off fairly slow but builds a good background story. Truly feel for the men that suffered in this tragedy. Through reading this you realise how truly amazing the human body can adapt to surviving at all costs
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
A beautifully written book that I couldn't put down. Interesting historical facts about Quakers, the whaling industry. and the lives of whalers. Compelling reading . I have bought a copy for a friend to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2000
The Heart of the Sea is an excellent read, with good historical content and very interesting details surrounding the time and environment. The story is gripping and keeps the readers attention throughout.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Brilliant book, well written and informative. Glad I chose this version of the story as it seems to be well recommended by critics too. Harrowing in parts but not too gruesome to still enjoy reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
True stories always seize our imagination, so it is with the story of the whale ship Essex. A beautifully told story of human misery and men stretched beyond the normal limits of human endurance.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
An incredible story. So detailed but the pace never lets up. Philbrick draws on other accounts of survival to illuminate this almost unbelievable event. Can't wait to read more from him.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
I don't usually read non fiction -this is based on true events after all- but this boom was amazing. Highly recommended, I passed it on to a few other friends and they loved it too
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
A must read. Thought provoking book
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2009
Couldn't agree more with the five-star reviews - its a riveting read. Superbly researched and written.
Read it and then go and read Moby Dick in a new light.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Gripping tale that takes you to the heart of early C19 America. Non-fiction for fiction lovers. We need more books to envelop the past like this one does.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.