Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Customer Service Excellence
With his book Raving fans, ken Blanchard astounds and shocks a British reader with the standards of customer service which can be provided and the effect which it can have on your customers. A must-read book for anyone who relies on income from customers, and is working in a competitive environment. I have moved my desk into reception, and look forward to greater...
Published on 29 May 2003 by B WELSH

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More or less standard one minute manager fare - with fewer caveats this time
The authors stick to the extremely successful (commercially) one minute manager franchise they have built up with this one - applied to customer service in this case. In short this means a storytelling approach to addressing the customer service, a short format that you can read easily in under 2 hours but also no real attempt to look at it contingently (there is one...
Published on 19 Jan. 2011 by AK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Customer Service Excellence, 29 May 2003
By 
B WELSH (Gateshead, Tyne And Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service (Paperback)
With his book Raving fans, ken Blanchard astounds and shocks a British reader with the standards of customer service which can be provided and the effect which it can have on your customers. A must-read book for anyone who relies on income from customers, and is working in a competitive environment. I have moved my desk into reception, and look forward to greater customer contact and accountability (on my part) and the chance to cater to my customer's needs more effectively, hopefully avoiding the customer who "votes with his feet"! Thanks Ken and Sheldon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Again..., 7 Dec. 2001
By 
H. Afify (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service (Paperback)
This is the fifth book I have for Ken Blanchard and I must say that the guy knows how to convince others. In his usual simple and interesting dialogue way of writing he, along with Sheldon Bowles, explain what every single person working in a service environment should know and how to practically achieve excellence in the area of customer service.
A book that I have been using for a while in my consultancy business to advise people on how to improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MODEL TO APPROACH PERFECTION THROUGH INNOVATION, 28 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service (Paperback)
In a world of almost no service, RAVING FANS takes the opposite perspective -- that virtually perfect service is worth pursuing. Those who are used to providing and suffering from having no service will find this book impossible to comprehend. I found it inspiring.
A major problem with most books on management processes is that that do too little to focus on how to make large amounts of progress beyond what is now done. RAVING FANS is a big success in providing you with simple instructions for making large strides toward achievable perfection in providing service.
Imagining perfection is a critical first step to improvement, yet most people have never thought about what that could mean. Then testing that perfection with customers (and potential customers) must be done to be sure that there is a valid opportunity, and to be able to understand customers' ideas about achievable perfection. Then attaching the idea of continuous improvement toward that vision is also valuable, and useful.
There are plenty of practical tips about how to do each part in RAVING FANS, which is key to making this book so valuable.
One of the reasons that I enjoy writing reviews about books on-line is that I can find a book like RAVING FANS that agrees so much with my own perspective and research. This book will quickly get you past your Psychology of Disbelief, Bureaucracy, Procrastination, Communiation, and Ugly Duckling stalls. Good for Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles . . . and good for you, too! Even better for your customers!
If you like this book, be sure to go on to read GUNG HO, the second book in the series, which deals with getting employees fired up to produce great service for Raving Fans. The third book in the series, BIG BUCKS!, just came out, and is a worthwhile successor to the first two. I suggest you read all three if you have a business or aspire to have one that provides well for employees, customers, and owners.
A good related book is THE CUSTOMER CENTERED COMPANY by Richard Whiteley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 14 Aug. 2001
This review is from: Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service (Paperback)
I have read this book around two years ago when I just entered customer service industry after graduation. This book is like a bible in the field of customer service. Iam not an avid reader as such, however, after going through this book, I understood the real meaning of customer service and its importance in the world market today.
The three golden rule mentioned in this book have been adopted by various companies in India which is emerging as one of the main centres for outsourcing customer service throughout the world.
This book has been written like a story. This book is specially for those who have just joined the customer service industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one business book read this one, 25 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service (Paperback)
Too many business books are hard work- not this one. Covers the vital topic every business needs to address - that of customer service. Ken maintains that most customers stay with you through apathy and are all dying to leave you if only they had the chance. He warns that all businesses face the same problem- they only survive because the guy down the road gives as bad custonmer service. In a really light hearted fictional based way Ken puts the message over as a story about an area manager getting a fairy godmother ( well godfather actually) who leads him through examples of how previous pupils have learnt the 3 golden rules of creating "Raving Fans". I am not an avid book reader and yet from the moment I picked this book up it took me less than 4 hours to raed it from cover to cover- says it all really. What is so great about this book is the fact that due to its very light style it can be enjoyed by everyone not just serious academics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, readable, inspirational and practical. A must have., 14 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service (Paperback)
This book is great. It's inspirational and leaves you feeling good about customer service as well as having some good concrete ideas. That's possibly because one of the authors has actually sucessfully implemented the advice given. It's always good news when a business book is written by someone who can "walk the talk".
The style you'll love or hate: The book is written as a parable, much like the One Minute Manager which was a bestseller. While I didn't really get on with the style of The One Minute Manager I find that it actually works in this book and helps get the message across. In fact I like this book so much I got additional copies for customer service staff in my department.
Short, simple, cheap, full of good ideas and highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot get enough, 18 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service (Paperback)
I would only like to add to the comments already here that I think these idea behind these books is just superb: cloak some of the more difficult management topics in the guise of a totally engaging story (isn't that what the world is all about, anyway?) "Gung Ho", another Blanchard parable book, is just as good, and a new one called "Beans" is another example of how powerful these stories can be. I give them to my department now and again and it appears that they are being read and appreciated. "Beans" even has some group discussion questions at the end of the book, which we will be using in an upcoming staff meeting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raving Fans, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service (Paperback)
`raving fans!' by Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles

Viewed from the perspective of a new Area Manager in a (fictitious) company, and written in the form of a short story the Area Manager is visited by Charlie, his Fairy Godmother, who takes him on a journey from providing `customer service' to gaining `raving fans!'

There are three main points to learn on the route to gaining `raving fans':

1. Decide what you want - have a vision of how your business looks/works and then impose that vision over the company so that you can see what it actually looks/works like, include the good and bad bits;
2. Discover what the customer wants - does your vision for your company match your customers' expectations and priorities? Ask them - you won't know otherwise;
3. Deliver plus one - once you know what you and your customer wants, deliver the service plus 1%. Improve the service slowly so that you are always consistent in what you provide and how you do it - nothing is guaranteed to lose customers by being inconsistent or being unable to deliver at the standard and in the time quoted.

`raving fans!' is a MUST READ for any business that has its customers' needs and wants in mind, and who want these customers to return time and again to buy services or goods. It is an easy read with plenty of tips on how to improve your company's customer service so that it will be constantly referred to potential new customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convincing read about satisfying customers, 1 July 2007
By 
Vidar Halvorsen "vrvlvnd" (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service (Paperback)
I read this book after having read Gung Ho! by the same authors. While not being as good as that book, this is an excellent read about how you make and keep your customers not only satisfied but happy supporters of the services you provide. Like Gung Ho! the book is structured as a story where you follow the protagonist on an enlightening trip around businesses that have one thing in common: they all not only have satisfied customers, they have raving fans of their businesses. You'd better like the storytelling aspect of the book or you might not become a raving fan of the authors... Good, enlightening and entertaining read done in one lazy evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Model for Approaching Perfection through Innovation, 2 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Raving Fans (Hardcover)
A major problem with most books on management processes is that that do too little to focus on how to make large amounts of progress beyond what is now done. Raving Fans is a big success in providing you with simple instructions for making large strides toward achievable perfection.
Imagining perfection is a critical first step to improvement, yet most people have never thought about what that could mean. Then testing that perfection with customers (and potential customers) must be done to be sure that there is a valid opportunity, and to be able to understand customers' ideas about achievable perfection. Then attaching the idea of continuous improvement toward that vision is also valuable, and useful. There are plenty of practical tips about how to do each part, which is key to making this book so valuable.
One of the reasons that I enjoy writing reviews about books on-line is that I can find a Raving Fans that agrees so much with my own perspective and research. This book will quickly get you past your Psychology of Disbelief, Bureaucracy, Procrastination, Communiation, and Ugly Duckling stalls.
Good for Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles . . . and good for you, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service
Raving Fans : A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service by Sheldon Bowles (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews