Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can be read as a stand alone
Eventhough this book is the second in a series (of which the Dice Man was the first), you can easily read it if you haven't read the Dice Man before.

The story starts with Larry, the son of Luke Rhinehart (indeed, the author who also starred in Dice Man) who is successful in life and who appears to be happy...on the surface. Set on the track by an ongoing FBI...
Published on 7 Dec 2004 by E. v. Hoof

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Disappointing
Having been a great fan of 'The Dice Man' I was expecting great things from this book, but unfortunately it didn't quite live up to my expectations. It's still a good book, but I didn't find myself laughing out loud or challenged by the book's content, as I did with it's predecessor. Still glad I read it, but if you haven't read The Dice Man before, definately start out...
Published on 16 Sep 2009 by Jamie Ray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Disappointing, 16 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Search for the Dice Man (Paperback)
Having been a great fan of 'The Dice Man' I was expecting great things from this book, but unfortunately it didn't quite live up to my expectations. It's still a good book, but I didn't find myself laughing out loud or challenged by the book's content, as I did with it's predecessor. Still glad I read it, but if you haven't read The Dice Man before, definately start out with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellently written but not quite as good as its predecessor, 12 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Search for the Dice Man (Paperback)
Larry Rhinehart gets in on the act as he searches for father Luke. The book is intriguing as Larry joins his father's cult in order to overcome it, and funny as he struggles with the strange world of diceliving and the even stranger people that undertake it! This is a good follow-up to the first book and is wonderfully written by both Luke and Larry. A must for lovers of the first book but impossible to read as a single novel. The usual helping of sex is supplied, but overall a book not quite as good as the first one suggested it could be. Worth a read, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 21 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the original dice man and found it really funny and a real page turner. This follow up was boring, trite, with the usual prescriptive so called sexy bits. The kindle version I read had loads of printing errors/spelling mistakes. It was a real waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can be read as a stand alone, 7 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: The Search for the Dice Man (Paperback)
Eventhough this book is the second in a series (of which the Dice Man was the first), you can easily read it if you haven't read the Dice Man before.

The story starts with Larry, the son of Luke Rhinehart (indeed, the author who also starred in Dice Man) who is successful in life and who appears to be happy...on the surface. Set on the track by an ongoing FBI investigation, he wants to find his father, who is presumed death. First to help the FBI and get even with his death who left him and his mother behind, then the actually find him. He decides that in order to find him he should live the life his father has...the life of living through the casting of dice. But this means ending his life as it was, and starting a new one...

The idea is that the character gives each roll of the dice a specific meaning, i.e. if he rolls 6 he should go out and drink three pints. Then by casting dice he determines what he should do, and if he rolls 6 he goes out and drinks three pints regardless of consquences.

This book is both moving and very funny, thought-provoking and balant and can be read as a novel of a young man searching his way through life.

If you liked the Dice Man, this is a must, if you haven't you can also try this one first and be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Badly converted version - full of errors, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book itself is fairly enjoyable and a good read.

However, this product shouldn't be available in its current state. There are missing and incorrect words throughout. Many are obvious character recognition errors. Other times a sentence will just end without the final word(s). It is fairly obvious they used text recognition to scan the book and then did not proof read it. Very shoddy product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good book, terrible eBook, 10 Oct 2013
By 
S. Ellis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has obviously been scanned and OCR'd, but not proofread. It is littered with errors, such as a "cl" or "ri" in the original text being replaced with a "d" or "n". There are also at least a dozen sentences which just stop, mid sentence. This makes it incredibly frustrating to read, and the worst eBook I've ever purchased.

These problems don't exist in the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only a shadow of the original, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly it must be said that this edition had an unacceptable number of spelling errors in it and in some cases even missing words at the end of sentences. This had a somewhat negative effect on the read. Secondly, for fans of The Dice Man, for me this was nowhere near in the same league. An interesting read...but I think it's a bit of a Marmite one to be honest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Search for the Dice Man (Paperback)
I have to say, I picked up 'The Dice Man' and couldn't put it down. This book I can dip in and out of. It's still a good book but wasn't as addictive as I had first hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny and smart - a great novel, 15 Jan 2013
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Search for the Dice Man (Paperback)
I was really looking forward to this book as The Dice Man is one of my favourite novels of all time. This sequel, which could also be read as a standalone, focuses on the search of a Wall Street investment banker for his father, Luke Reinhart, who developed and lived the concept of dice living - letting dice decide courses of action both large and small. As a result of a dice decision Luke, the father, had left his family when his children were young, but now, in this book, his son is determined to find him.

The book is often laugh out loud funny, sometimes a penetrating commentary on life at the upper ends of United States society, and always great reading. I thoroughly enjoyed it and was sorry when it was finished. Definitely one of the best books i have read in the last year, but although this could be read without reading the Dice Man, I think you will enjoy this more if you have read that first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fun sequel to The Dice Man, but leave your expectations at the door., 17 Oct 2012
By 
Michael Cunningham (Melbourne, Victoria (AUS)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Search for the Dice Man (Paperback)
The Search for the Dice Man (1993) is the sequel to the groundbreaking novel The Dice Man (1971) by Luke Rhinehart. When I first read The Dice Man I knew I had just finished a book that would be very hard to top, and I made it no secret in my review that it was (and still is) the best book I have ever read. So it was with great excitement that I started reading the sequel... Dear readers, it saddens me to say that great excitement has a way of leading to great disappointment. That is not to say The Search for the Dice Man is a disappointment - I really enjoyed it - it is just overshadowed by it's giant of a predecessor. Nothing can touch the original novel, and this sequel is certainly no exception.

The story takes place 20 years after the original Dice Man left off, with Luke being on the run after his crazy dice rampage, however this time the reader is not placed in Luke's shoes, but rather into the shoes of his whiney son Larry Rhinehart, who has grown up to be the total opposite of his father - a hotshot futures trader in Wall Street who reached the top by leaving nothing to chance. Larry seemingly has it all: a high paying job, a yacht, a beautiful woman, a high paying job, a yacht etc.. All is well for Larry until he hears news of his missing father's reappearance in a newspaper article, and predictably enough his world of order and routine is injected with a syringe full of chaos. If Microsoft Word ever made plot templates, I'm sure this would be one of them. Plot cliques continue as Larry, who is clearly sick of therapy, goes on a quest to find his estranged father and tell him off for abandoning him all those years ago, all the while FBI agents follow his footsteps in the hope of catching the infamous Luke Rhinehart for themselves.

The plot sounds lame so far, but as Luke Rhinehart is a master storyteller it ends up becoming very entertaining. Larry eventually finds a lead on his father's last known location: a lawless town called Lukedom, which his father helped create. All of the inhabitants of this town follow the dice and see Luke as some sort of a Godlike figure. Lukedom is a crazy evolution of the dice centers that were introduced in the first novel and it is where most of the sequel takes place, luckily for the readers. Old characters Arlene and Jake Ecstein make a reappearance as Larry tries desperately to find structure in a world that is sinking in quick sand. In order to find his father, he realises he has to give up his sense of self and explore the dice, as Luke will not be found by anything but chance.

As is to be expected with this author the book has a whole slew of interesting characters, but sadly they just aren't as interesting as the ones found in the original, and that is where The Search for the Dice Man falls short. Jake Ecstein ('Luke, baby!') plays a much smaller role, as does Arlene, and Larry's to-be-wife Honoria (sounds like an STD) isn't nearly as good a character as Luke's wife Lil. Larry himself is very conflicted and leads a far less interesting life than Luke, and his best friend Jeff is missing a few ingredients to his personality. That said there are some classic characters, such as the rich Japanese businessmen Mr Akito and Mr Namamuri, the comical FBI agents Lt Putt and agent Macavoy, pretty much all of the residents of Lukedom, and of course the beautiful yet chaotic jigsaw-puzzle Kim, who joins Larry on his quest. Larry himself develops as a character throughout the book and this is the redeeming factor of the novel that couldn't quite match up to it's bigger brother.

While the Search for the Dice Man lacks the electric spark that made the original so powerful, it makes up for it by continuing the story in such a way as to allow its readers a second glimpse into a fictional world where anarchy prevails over order, where the throw of a dice determines every move, and where laughs are in abundance. The book lacks the sex, violence, and sheer unpredictability of the first, but it does contain a worthwhile story that will engage you from start to finish. The psychological spin is missing, and therefore this book won't make you think as much, but as the 'dice philosophy' is supposed to make one take life less seriously, it is with good reason that the sequel dropped the analysis of human nature in favour for a more traditional adventure story. The books many chapters are sporadically bridged by an excerpt from Luke's journal, and it is within these brief entries that the wisdom of the first book shines benevolently. All in all a quick paced and entertaining read, that may better serve as a prequel to The Dice Man than a sequel, as reading it after the first will only lead to a slight longing for the magic contained in the cult classic 1970s book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5bd3ee8)

This product

The Search for the Dice Man
The Search for the Dice Man by Luke Rhinehart (Paperback - 6 Dec 1999)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews