Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars51
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 June 2011
For a long time people had expounded the brilliance of the flashman and the books are damn fine to read, i don't think it needs me or anyone else to write a review saying about the high quality of the writing and characters... but for me the real brilliance comes to the fore when the book is read by the likes of Rupert Penry-Jones / Toby Stephens / Jonathan Keeble or Timothy west.
I love to listen to the Flashman books on audio format when im on holiday, the only issue i have is to make sure i dont start talking like a Victorian cad whilst going to the bar to get a drink.

If you love the books and have not tried the audio format yet do so, i promise you its a whole new way to experience the world of Flashman, and if you are new to the Man...go on..you will love him.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2000
I am nearly halfway through the collection and this one based on the great battles for northern India continually matches the detailed content and fast paced humour that has become a trademark for our Great British hero Flashman and of course George MacDonald Fraser. Start with the original Flashman novel and work through them to this, you will be most amused!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
Having enjoyed the previous Flashman novels, I was expecting the usual treat, an exciting and humorous adventure story.

Yet I was sadly disappointed with this book, it felt stale and terse and was certainly not of the previous high standard set by earlier books.

This is definitely one Flashman that could be dropped from the series which would not be missed.

The historical content and accuracy are second to none as usual, but it is the character relationships and plot that felt `stodgy' thus affecting and interrupting the flow of the story.

I shall continue with the Flashman series as I'm sure the previous excellent reading standard will return with the next book.

Read this book if you are a fan of Flashman but don't expect the usual brilliance.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 October 2007
Flashman has no time to recover from his exploits in Madagascar (Flashman's Lady) and he has to say goodbye to his wife Elspeth for now.

With the British Empire at its zenith in the 1840's the geographical scope for adventures as part of the British Army are worldwide. Here Flashman is whisked off to India, and somehow volunteers for a secret service mission in the court of the beautiful nyphomaniac Maharani. Our lovable rogue, Flashman, is jumping out of one bed and into another, and out of one frying pan and into another. Will he never learn!

Pick this book up now. The fast paced action, wanton women, colourful charactors, military jingoism, and more wanton women, will ensure that you keep the pages turning. So read on and discover whether Flashman can secure the India border of the British Empire and live to fight another day, and seduce another lady.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Here, in an early Flashman, we have him involved in the first “Anglo-Sikh” war, where the East India Company took up against the Sikh Empire and gave Britain a significant foothold in India.
This is my least favourite of the Flashman books, much slower than usual and this has taken me months to read as it just did not engage me. The first half is all about Flashman skulking about as a spy (obviously bed-hopping) but in the second half the pace ups as we get into the actual conflict.
Two stars for a Flashman? Yep, sorry. One of the slowest of the books I have read and a bit of a struggle to get through that dull first half. Read the other books in the series and don’t rush at this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
As well as covering the above subjects, George Macdonald Fraser provides relentless humour along with a thoroughly good insight into the upheavals that took place in India at the time. That a country which provided the world with wonderful spiritual teachings should have to endure the hateful, yet in some ways delightful, Flashman is awful in the extreme. The reader is made to intensley feel the fears and hopes of the central character who always seems to end up by having his selfish and despicable dreams destroyed (though not completey). Flashman is a lesson to humanity.
Murder and Enlightenment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Great read: My second time around for this series and much more convenient on the Kindle than on the paperbacks. The many explanations of events and words in the text are easy to access using the cursor keys and OK button, returning to the text by pressing the Back button. Much better than some Kindle editions I have bought in the past. A Ripping series of yarns with a good historical background. Easy to become absorbed and delightfully racy throughout. The language that George MacDonald Fraser put into Flashman's mouth and thoughts seems understandable and yet typical of the era it is set in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Maintains Macdonald Fraser's usual impeccable standard. A great read plus the storyline covers a period of Indian history less than well covered in the West.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
A historical novel that has you laughing out loud and learning about an intriguing period of history, with astonishing characters that one wouldn't dare make up in a pure fiction novel. As ever with Flashman you learn that these historical events are not so black and white as you may think. This particular Flashman has a lot more detail about the tactics and manoeuvres of the battles than in other Flashmans, but it keeps you engaged throughout. You even get a sense that Flashman himself is interested!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2000
all the flashman series are great, but this one about the legendary koh-i-Noor diamond ( which is apparently cursing the royal family as we speak!) is the best, buy it
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.